We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food so far!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria il Papavero

Osteria il Papavero
Loc. Barbischio, 15, 53013 Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
+39 0577 749063
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: This year to l'OSTERIA IL PAPAVERO you can find our tipical tuscan light lunch!! In the afternoon 2:30pm-6:00pm we wait for you!!!
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best food so far!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have been here based on the tripadvisor comments and it is really worth it. Restaurant is on a hill overlooking the valley with a very nice scene. I definetely recommend rabbit if you want to go there. Also best romantic dinner I had with my wife in Tuscany.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    111
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food and wine. Friendly staff and town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Everything my husband and I tasted here was absolutely delicious. Staff is very friendly and helpful too (we arrived one day when they were closed, but they are so kind that they even recommended another restaurant for us to try). It's worth your while walking around the street -- especially if you are a cat lover. Everyone we met in the street greeted us, and we saw about 5 cats (and they were friendly too!). Love this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Words can't describe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a wonderful evening at Osteria il papavero, We enjoyed exceptional service, great food and amazing atmosphere.
I recommend you eat outside in order to extreme your experience at the restaurant - Stunning views of Tuscany at its best will be revealed to your eyes.

Don't miss it!
(And allow yourself to eat more than 1 dessert :) )

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A little jewel not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Set in a delightful location, a little jewel of a place ( booking is recommended and a bit in advance as they have very few tables), the food is Tuscan dishes at their best. Try the classic crostini for a starter and the pici pasta... For main, since I went twice, I personally recommend the wild boar with apples and the rabbit with almonds. Deliciously cooked.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely food in a relaxed environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very friendly staff despite our rudimentary Italian. Lovely food, antipasto and puddings were a highlight for us. Good wine list, all reasonably priced. Went in evening so missed the views, location on hilltop must be lovely!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria il Papavero also viewed

Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria il Papavero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria il Papavero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.