We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little jewel not to be missed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria il papavero

Osteria il papavero
Barbischio, 15, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
0577749063
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A little jewel not to be missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Set in a delightful location, a little jewel of a place ( booking is recommended and a bit in advance as they have very few tables), the food is Tuscan dishes at their best. Try the classic crostini for a starter and the pici pasta... For main, since I went twice, I personally recommend the wild boar with apples and the rabbit with almonds. Deliciously cooked.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    312
    89
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely food in a relaxed environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very friendly staff despite our rudimentary Italian. Lovely food, antipasto and puddings were a highlight for us. Good wine list, all reasonably priced. Went in evening so missed the views, location on hilltop must be lovely!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The food was excellent...desserts to die for and the service was very good. We look forward to returning there on our next trip to Tuscany.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“IL PAPAVERO...GREAT TUSCAN FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Il Papavero has become a must for us when we visit Gaiole in Chianti every year. During our stay, we always manage to eat there at least once a week. Under the wonderful management of chef/owner Ricardo and his lovely wife, Francesca, they make you feel welcome and then treat you to dishes that are traditional and, most importantly, delicious.
Just 5 minutes outside of Gaiole in Chianti, nestled in the tiny village of Barbischio, you will truly have a "Tuscan" experience.
Jim & Viv Tidd
Park City, Utah

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great food/small space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

From primi (fresh pasta ravioli) to dessert (divine fruits of the forest in chantilly cream), each dish was perfect and the service was efficient and professional. We had rabbit and lamb for our mains - even better that Taverna di San Giuseppe in Siena! Of course, the wild boar dishes in San Giuseppe can not be better.The only areas of improvement here would be more space and less mosquitoes! I would have given them 5 stars, but the flying pests were annoying.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria il papavero also viewed

Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
Gaiole in Chianti, Province of Siena
 

Been to Osteria il papavero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria il papavero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.