We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Podere Marciano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antico Podere Marciano to your Saves list
Antico Podere Marciano
Loc. Marciano, 1 | Barberino val d'Elsa, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melksham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Words cannot come close to describing this place. We stayed at Antico Podere Marciano from the 30th August 2011 to the 4th September 2011. During this time the villa provided us with the most amazing venue for our wedding reception. Maurizio and Federica were fabulous hosts to us, and our family that were there with us. They made us feel welcome, comfortable and very much at home. Our wedding day was spectacular - with such an amazing location it could not be described as anything other than that. Again Federica and Maurizio allowed us to put our own touches to the villa to make our wedding extra special and personal. We danced the night away and were so pleased when they joined in with us and the party finished around 4am!

Our family were so pleased to have been hosted at such a lovely place, all the rooms are beautifully and tastefully decorated, with fabulous bathrooms. No one felt like they had a less superior room.

The pool is also out of this world and we spent a lot of time sunbathing, swimming, relaxing and laughing around it. It is definitely the second highlight of the villa, after the view!
We would highly recommend this venue- for a large party of people or for a romantic break. It caters for everyone. Peaceful, scenic and idyllic. We can’t wait to go back and have already booked our first anniversary visit!

Room Tip: Superior rooms offer fridges and either a balcony or terrace with amazing views, however even the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This was our umpteenth trip to Marciano and it's not going to be the last. This time we felt that it was probably the best time we'd had there so far. The weather outdid itself and this time we chose to do less running around and more sitting by the pool, reading, chatting and just relaxing, it was superb.

Although Frederica and Maurizio are getting used to seeing us by now, the service was, as usual, excellent. There's usually more food than you know what to do with at breakfast and on the occasions they provide an evening meal, not only is it the path of least resistance to stay and enjoy it but it's also one of the better choices you can make. The food is easily on a par with the very best restaurants in the area and represents excellent value. It is typical of what you come to expect of Tuscan cuisine, seemingly effortless, simple and superb. On top of that, the host knows his wines as well and can recommend and talk about what the region is best known for with an authority you would expect from a trained and qualified somel..sommle...wine waiter!

Marciano is a place that gives you the opportunity to make your holiday there, what you will. It's ideally situated to get out and explore the area and also allows you to do much less if you want. Stick by the pool or take a walk in the hills. Much is made of the fact that the road to the villa is a challenge. It's never that bad, it's just different, but it gives the place a sense of isolation you might want from a 'get away from it all' holiday, without being that isolated at all. The nearest town, with the best ice cream is about 10 -15 minutes away, Siena/Florence 45 minutes, the choice is yours. If you're looking for an Italian experience, I don't know of anywhere better to get one.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed in a superior room for 5 nights and 2 nights in a standard room - we were disappointed that the standard room didn't have a small fridge/mini bar. Both rooms were very nicely decorated and the cleanliness in the rooms was excellent. Having read so many reviews saying the breakfasts were really great we didn't find that - often brown bread would run out - no hot eggs available (boiled/scrabbled or fried) only warm very hard boiled. They were also very prompt in closing the breakfast at 10:30.

The owners were fairly friendly although their availability was limited. Our last evening when we returned from having a meal no one was around to offer us a drink from the bar.

Regarding the meals - we felt that they were extremely over priced. At 40€ for a three course meal where the main meal was pasta we thought it was highly priced. Our last meal there was 35€ which contained no meat only pasta and the sweet was a glass of sweet wine and a biscuit. It too easy to stay for the meals and I think that is how they are able to charge such a high price.

The location was superb as was the position of the swimming pool overlooking the vineyards.
We wouldn't return for a second time as there were other establishments we discovered during our stay which would prove better for us - however we loved the area very much.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay there do take a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Located on top of a hill in middle of forests and wine gardens overlooking the vally - a truley special spot. It is not that easy to find as GPS doesn't show the route, but it is worth looking hard. The owners are very friendly, the entire house is beautiful, the rooms have a charming decor. It is worth spending the extra money on the superior rooms though as they are offering nice views from private balconies. Breakfast and dinner is served on a cosy terrasse, really nice atmosphere. Breakfast is excellent, great choice of local products, fresh fruit, nice cheese. Dinners are depending on the day either simple 3 course (excellent) or the more sophisticated 4 or 5 course (sorry, can't remember) but that we found too much and too pricy. So worth visiting small villages closeby for dinners at lovley little restaurants. The pool is great, with confortable beds, sunshades a help-yourself-poolbar and most amazing: the views from the water. Enjoy the beauty of Toscany while swimming! I can truely recommend to anyone who is looking for a peaceful and romantic hotel in the heart of the Toscany!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

recommended to me by an Italian colleague, this gorgeous restored farmhouse B&B exceeded our expectations. Excellent service and food, spectacular views and sunsets, nestled off the beaten path in the Tuscan countryside. Even my teenage daughters loved it, with a beautiful infinity pool. Centrally located.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We, too, found this place on TripAdvisor, and it's almost too good of a secret to share! A bit off the beaten track, it was well worth the slight challenge to find. It was extremely serene and peaceful, tucked away in the Tuscan hills. Surrounded by gently rolling vineyards, woods, and a lovely maintained lawn, garden, and patio (as well as an infinity pool), the lodging was situated in a stone farmhouse typical to the region. Classic and elegant, while simply and traditionally decorated, our "room" was essentially a suite, with a large and airy bedroom/sitting area, storage hallway, toilet, and separate bathroom (complete with clawfoot tub and his-and-hers sinks), and a large patio-balcony with a glorious view---perfect for watching an evening lightning storm on the horizon.
Hosts Frederica and Maurizio were warm and welcoming, eager to share recommendations, chat, and provide local, flavorful, tasty, and thoughtfully-prepared breakfasts and dinners (the best two dinners during our two weeks in Italy!). They encouraged a warm, homey, and luxuriously relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

My husband booked Antico for the "Tuscan leg" of our honeymoon, just from reading the other reviews on tripadvisor. Thank goodness he did! When we pulled up to this beautiful villa, we were blown away by the views first and foremost, then quickly by the peace and quiet of the property. We knew we were in for 4 days of relaxation and wine drinking. Frederica greeted us with her 2 dogs Lapo and Leila and we immediately fell in love (with the dogs too!). Our room was exactly what you look for in a Tuscan villa with a great terrace, with more gorgeous views. The infinity pool overlooking the rolling hills with the cyprus trees, seemed to be the epitome of Tuscany. We were lucky enough to have stayed with a few other lovely couples who all agreed to having dinner together on the property our second night there. Frederica and her husband Maurizio prepared an authentic Tuscan meal for the 6 of us on their romantic terrace. The first course was meat, cheese, and olives, followed by a to-die-for wild boar lasagna, a pork tenderloin with fantastic herbs, and of course homemade gelato for dessert! It was one of our favorite meals of our entire trip to Italy (we visited Rome, Positano, Capri, Florence and Tuscany). We also loved their breakfast every morning, more home cooking!
We loved visiting the town of Castellina in Chianti- the enotecas and restaurants there were fabulous and we're pretty sure we may have found the greatest Gelato place in all of Italy--- Le Volte--- an enoteca with a gelato shop attached- does it get any better?? I also recommend visiting the nearby town of San Donato and eating at one of the restaurants recommended by Frederica, Trattoria La Toppa- mama’s pastas and meats were out of this world!
If you are looking for a serene, peaceful, BEAUTIFUL Tuscan experience, Antico Podere Marciano is the place for you! Their hospitality was unmatched, the views were stunning, and the rooms charming and comfortable. We will definitely be visiting again!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antico Podere Marciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Podere Marciano

Address: Loc. Marciano, 1 | Barberino val d'Elsa, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Antico Podere Marciano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Podere Marciano Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Podere Marciano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.