We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven is the next step” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romitorio di Serelle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Romitorio di Serelle
Save
You added Romitorio di Serelle to your Saves list
Loc. Serelle,1, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jodoigne
1 review
“Heaven is the next step”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

When we arrived at the Romitorio, Marco had already prepared the specials we had asked for. The service of all employees (inlcuding cleaning ladies) was impeccable throughout our stay. The domain is just wonderful, all on top of a hill, with nothing at all around it save wineyards, olive trees, and forest.
The next habitation is at an estimated 500 - 800 meters. The Romitorio is ideally located in the heart of Tuscany, making it a excellent spot for those who take the Romitorio as a home base for visiting Radda, Greve, San Gimignano, Siena, Firenze, Pisa, there are a dozen of wonderful towns in a cirlcle of 50 kms)
The thick walls (renovated ancient farmhouse) keep the inside temperatures pleasantly cool (provided the windows are closed during the day).
The appartments have all one needs, gas for cooking, sink, fridge (with freezer compartment), television, bathroom with shower and alarm rope (should you fall and not be able to stand up independently) the rooms are very nicely finished and arranged with style, every room has a firedetector in the ceiling. Towels for bathroom and kitchen are provided, as well as all other house linen.
When standing up in the morning and watching from the room's window the view is very impressive, wineyards, wineyards and even more wineyards, in a landscape of hills which look like heavy waves at sea, suddenly frozen.
The garden is well maintained and has several olive trees and bushes of lavender, oleanders and others all with nice scents but their main advantage resides in the fact they are arranged in such a way as to offer privacy for every appartements' residents (without being boring rectilinear divisions). These plants and bushes are also a place in which bees and butterflies are continuously looking for nectar. Wonderful to see so much life around...
And then there's the dot on the i or the cream in the coffee if you prefer :
The wonderful food that's served at evenings.
Marinella is the name of the cook, she's very humble and truly has gold in her hands.
We've stayed at the Romitorio for two weeks and not once did we have the same menus (always four courses, totalling at 26 €. Hard to find a better price in Italy and most and for all in Tuscany for four courses menus.
Day after day (Wednesday through Sunday) we received very fine dishes, discovered new tastes, all based on original Tuscan recipes.
At all times one can limit the number of courses to just one, till all four, The bill will only be for what you ate. Moreover, they offer other dishes in case the kids don't like the menu's (by simple request in the course of the day).

The service of Lorella, Marco and Roberto was, as I had already said, impeccable.
Always ready with pieces of advice and deeds, always in a good mood and very well organised (impression one already receives before travelling, when writing them emails).
100 % perfection does not exist, but the Romitorio experience comes very close to it.
Thank you Lorella, Marco, Roberto and Marinella for making this journey the very best ever.
Anne, Henri-Pierre and Morgane

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

The estate of Romitorio is reached by a dirt road through the vinyards of Ruffino Santedame . Arriving trhough the gate you immediately experience the magic of this pearl in the heart of Tuscany. Roberto and Marco welcome you like friends, and everything is even better than you expect it to be. We stayed in the 2 bedroom appartment Il Forno with our 2 young children of 1,5 and 3,5 y. The spacious rooms are comfortably furnished, but since you spend most of your time outside this is just an extra. The view of the Tuscan hills with the most beautifull sunset we have ever seen takes your breath away. The large swimmimg pool was favorite with the whole family every afternoon to cool down from one of our roundtrips through the Chianti area. The food in the restaurant prepared by Marinella was delicious, she even made pizza for the kids on request! We have enjoyed our holiday so much here we are already thinking of returning next year!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

Romitorio was a perfect choice for our stay in Tuscany. We were very pleased with the panoramic views and comfortable, roomy lodgings. Marco and Roberto could not have been more helpful in suggesting day trips and providing directions. Roberto recommended visiting the Castelo di Brolioi. We had a guided tour of the castle. It was one of the highlights of our trip to Tuscany.
It was wonderful to return each day to a relaxing and beautiful environment. We spent many evenings sitting at our outdoor dining table enjoying the spectacular sunsets and views of the vineyards. I would highly recommend the Romitorio di Serelle.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa (Il Moro) with another couple in the beautiful Chianti region of Tuscany for a week and could not have asked for anything better. Our breath was taken away as we approached the complex set in the midst of rolling hills covered in vineyards, olive groves and woods. Our accommodations, the scenery, the wine and food and all the nearby villages had us wishing we could stay for more. We felt we received great value for our Euro and were often torn between enjoying the sights and sounds and food at our villa versus touring the many small hill towns within a short drive.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no dislikes
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We just returned from a wonderful weekend at Romitori Di Serelle and can't say enough about it! We traveled with our 2 young children (1 and 3 years old) and it was a perfect fit for our family- though there was a wide variety of people staying at the farmhouse (couples, groups of friends, other families with children of various ages). The facility is beautiful and the setting is breathtaking. We stayed in the "La Vigna" apartment which was great for our family. It has an open kitchen/living room area with a loft that has a queen bed and 1/2 bathroom. Then there was a separate bedroom with a queen bed and another loft with a single bed. Our kids slept in the bedroom/loft area and we were in the living room loft area and it worked out great!
We ate dinner at the farmhouse twice and it was a great meal- nothing super fancy or pretentious, just a delicious tuscan home-cooked meal like you'd have at a friend's home. There is an extensive wine list to accompany dinner as well. Our apartment was literally 12 steps above the dining room so we were able to put our little ones to bed, take the baby monitor downstairs with us, and enjoy a wonderful meal together- that alone was worth it's weight in gold!
Even though the place isn't huge, and was fully booked while we were there, you neve felt "on top" of anyone else. In fact there was plenty of privacy and plenty of room to roam the beautiful grounds and surrounding vineyards.
We took trips to San Gimignano (our favorite!!), Castellina in Chianti, Siena, and Greve in Chianti and the location for all of these was perfect- the furthest was Siena and it was just about an hour's drive. Florence is very close but we decided to save it for it's own visit (we live in Italy so we know we'll be back in the area again soon!).
Can't recommend Romtorio di Serelle enough!
Thank you Roberto and Marco for a wonderful weekend!

  • Liked — Setting, Food!
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK CITY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2008

As my first trip to Italy, I could not have selected a more-perfect place. The villa itself is amazing. It has been incredibly restored, with vineyard views on all 4 sides. The rooms are all different and very charming. Mine was 'Torre' which was adorable. It had its own private 'balcony/terrace' which was once an outdoor bread oven. The rooms are perfect, not too fancy or too simple. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. I felt as if I were part of their family for the week that I was there. The villa is perfectly situated within a 45 minute drive to Florence, Siena or San Gimigniano. One highlight was a wine tasting that the staff booked for me at an area 'castle'. I was traveling alone, and everyone made me feel very welcome and comfortable. The dinners at the villa are prepared by the owners family and are Incredible. Truly Italian home cooking! The staff helped introduce me to other guests, and I never had a meal alone. I would highly recommend "Romitorio di Serelle" and would return again. One note: if you are a timid driver, please be warned that the main road that the villa is situated off of, is extremely winding and curvy. I drive in NYC, and even I was quite taken back by this road! However, it is a small price to pay to stay at 'heaven-in-a-vineyard'! I

  • Liked — beautiful property, accomodations, location, staff
  • Disliked — absolutely no complaints
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, FL
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2007

This place was EXACTLY what I pictured in my mind of a quaint little farmhouse I'd like to stay in while visiting Tuscany. I realize there are many others just like this one, but I just loved this place! It was so charming, from the moment we pulled up the drive, seeing the rolling vineyards on each side and the farmhouse perched at the top of the hill. Of course, as we pulled into the farmhouse, it was early evening and the sun was just going down and setting magnificiently over the tuscan hills...it took my breath away. The grounds are covered with fruit trees, walnut trees and exotic flower bushes. The grounds were very well manicured and everything very clean. I can't say enough about the Manager Roberto! He was absolutely wonderful, welcoming, friendly and very helpful in getting us pointed in the right direction each day as we set out to explore Tuscany and the various vineyards. The rooms were very nice and had ample room. We did choose to have dinner on the site our first night, which you will need to advise them of if you plan on doing that, and it was quite tasty and very cozy. I would definitely return and encourage you to do the same.
One drawback: they do not clean the rooms or change the towels/linens daily - but will for an extra charge.

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds and great staff
  • Disliked — Did not change the towels/linens daily
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Romitorio di Serelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romitorio di Serelle

Address: Loc. Serelle,1, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romitorio di Serelle has been completely restored, preserving the original characteristics and using traditional materials of Chianti rural architecture. The hospitality is offered in apartments of different types, exclusive and comfortable flats, independent from each other, furnished according to the rural tradition, but offering high quality standards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Romitorio Di Serelle Hotel Barberino Val d`Elsa
Romitorio Di Serelle Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romitorio di Serelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.