We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for exploring Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quercia al Poggio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Quercia al Poggio to your Saves list
Quercia al Poggio
Strada di Quercia al Poggio 4, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Perfect base for exploring Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I am tempted to criticize the Oct. 15 review, because it doesn't appear to describe the same property we visited just a week later, but people have different tastes. If your taste is toward a quiet farm experience, if you want to visit a working farm high on a hill overlooking Chianti, if you look forward to no TV, and if you enjoy cooking your own meals and eating them outdoors at a table overlooking the Val d'Elsa, you must go to Quercia al Poggio. Giordana is sweet as sugar. She made our visit unforgettable and was generous with espresso and advice. Get the welcome dinner. It included the best Tiramisu we had in Italy and lasted two days. GPS will help in finding the entrance; we had trouble finding it at night but not during the day. A gorgeous property, a nice apartment, and Giordana and the cats made our stay unforgettable.

Room Tip: There is one apartment close to the office and the wi-fi, and overlooking the valley; try to get it...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Do NOT consider staying at the hotel. It is misrepresented. It is in the middle of no where. Does not have basic ammendities. Does not have house keeping. Does not have TV. Is not clean. You are espceted to clean your own room and deliver the trash.
We had a reservation and when I saw the facilites I refused to stay. While I was in discussions with the receptionist my legs where being bitten up by bugs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Excellent self catering appartement. We were in the main building. Very spacious rooms, clean, amazing view from the large swimming pool onto the Chianti hills.
We took the welcome dinner and enjoyed two days from it (excellent quality + quantity).
Roberta & Giordana were very helpfull, not just wrt the accomodation, but also to help plan a next hotel on our way back home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giordanagozzini, Responsabile reception at Quercia al Poggio, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Bob,
we are really happy to have helped you in order to spend a nice holiday in our estate.
We hope see you again next time you'll come in Italy!
Greatings
Giordana and Roberta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rynholec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent a wonderful week in this place. We can only say words of praise to the accomodation (great for the family with small children), surroundings and the staff - thank you Roberta and Giordana, you made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giordanagozzini, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Quercia al Poggio, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Andrea,

what a nice review about Quercia al Poggio: thank you so much for sharing it here on Tripadvisor! It’s going to be very helpful to many other readers who are planning to visit our lovely Tuscany :-)

I look forward to welcoming you back here!

Roberta and Giordana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Spent five days at this amazing place, located in a beautiful place in Tuscany. While access is not that easy and a car is needed to move around, the setting is beautiful and it was a real pleasure to enjoy the view every morning. Service is outstanding, Roberta and Valeria are friendly and go out of their way to provide an outstanding service and take care of their guests' needs. Finally, a good breakfast is served every morning. Highly recommend the place, woUld love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giordanagozzini, Responsabile reception at Quercia al Poggio, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Marie ,

thank you so very much for this lovely . . . TALE: that’s what your words sound like, not a simply review, but a funny, passionate experience at Quercia al Poggio can be for all that people who is open minded enough to change its attitude!

We all look forward to welcoming you back in Italy next year!

Sincerely,
Giordana and Roberta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The apt.(capella 4) was very nice and comfortable.Great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giordanagozzini, Responsabile reception at Quercia al Poggio, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Meital,
thanks a lot for your review.
He hope see you again next time you'll come back in Italy!

Greatings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola FL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

It is most properly called a self catering luxury resort that is also a delightful agriturismo type farm.

17 of my artist friends and I enjoyed a stay in Sept of 2011. We were enchanted by the incredible scenery and the wonderful rooms. Our party was in the Pronetta quite a distance from the front office. We had our own private pool, and we had wonderful kitchens so that we could make meals and not have to go out to lunch or breakfast every day. We took trips to the local markets for all our cooking and other grocery- like items. The resort did not provide water or wine (or toilet paper (except enough to get you started until you had time to go shopping...) And I don't mention this as a criticism, but as a matter of info for anyone who is coming to stay here thinking it is like a hotel with instant service. They did provide pots and pans to cook with but if you wanted eat you have to go shopping first...a wholly delightful experience in San Donato and long as you don't go during siesta between 1 and 3 PM daily. If you want to wash your clothes in the washer you will have to go to the market and buy your own laundry detergent. It is amazing to me that one reviewer thought they provided onsite baby items like milk. They don't and I am sure you can see why. It was a real intriguing experience to try to find Quercia al Poggio with the maps they gave us. 101 is the name of the road from the autostrada. They don't mention in the brochures what is the mile marker to turn off 101 on. If you are coming from the autostrada and turn off to going east on 101 the road to the Quercia is on the right and is about marker 9.5. Past San Donato...At marker 9.5 turn right and go down that road and when you see a "Y" stay to the left. If you see the sign for Olena you went the wrong way...go back to the "Y" and go uphill. Then go a mile or two until you come to the second dumpster on the left and the sign for The Quercia al Poggio sign is on the right up high on a pole right at that dumpster. the turn is to the right (we managed to visit 1st big place on the left by mistake.)

I really loved the whole experience and we had a great time painting all the scenes we had time to do. I highly recommend this lovely place. I am sure it would be a great place for a honeymoon or a wedding or almost any family event. You will definitely need a car if you stay here.
Giordanna was wonderfully helpful when we needed to make reservations in Florence. This is a working farm with grapes and olives and a winery and a press where they make the wine and the olive oil they sell in limited quantities. The wine tour and tasting was very informative and luscious. We loved our stay probably mostly because they have a cook you can hire and she will cook all your evening meals so you don't have to worry about going out or cleaning up after. Her name is Lucia and she was incredible. You can inquire about her or her fees when you make reservations. WE shopped in Poggi Bonsi at the Pam store (a supermarket) and in San Donato at a much smaller little market. With an adventuresome spirit I am sure you will love this place. If you are expecting them to do everything for you then I doubt this will be a place you will like.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quercia al Poggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quercia al Poggio

Address: Strada di Quercia al Poggio 4, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quercia al Poggio offers to its guests the choice of eight apartments for two, four or six people. All the apartments have been renovated and include either a terrace or a private garden and the offer for a relaxing and pleasant holiday involves two panoramic swimming pools, a tennis court, ping pong, table soccer, children’s playground and a wide range of services and cultural, sporting, recreational, food and wine-related activities. The staff is always ready and available to provide all the information the guests might need for outings like maps, parking information and routes, scooter and bicycle rentals, advising on the best restaurants, supplying with train and bus timetables, booking museums, opera concerts and updating on the events, performances, fairs and festivals taking place in the area during the stay. Guests can freely access the 24-hour wireless internet connection available in the area around the reception.The stay at Quercia al Poggio always includes for free to the guests of the Agriturismo the guided tour of the wine cellars with tasting of products made at the estate.Quercia al Poggio is a especially romantic and picturesque location perfect for hosting events and for those wanting to make their special day, whether it be a wedding, birthday or graduation, unforgettable and unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Quercia al Poggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quercia Al Poggio Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quercia al Poggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.