We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -

Save Saved
You added Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany - to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -
Strada di Ponzano, 8, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
New York, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a charming place to stay! We have spent4 night at Torre di Ponzano last July and will remember this experience forever. Wonderful old farm house situated in a beautiful area. Very romantic. We have been taking day trips to wineries and small cities around. Owners are warm and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are always happy to know that guests enjoy their stay and it is nice to hear that you found our place romantic and memorable.
Thank you so much for writing an excellent review on Torre di Ponzano.

This year we started a bit late to answer to you all, and we apologize for that as it is indeed very much appreciated that you take some of your valuable time to write about us.

Thanking you once again we wish you a nice summer season and hope to see you again if you come back to Tuscany.

Best regards
Alba & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
82
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As the title says a long overdue review. My girlfriend heard about this place from a one of her friends which was extremely lucky for us. The other reviews are spot on and the accommodations were truly the best. Sunny and Alba are wonderful people that manage that artful balance between being the helpful and knowledgeable owners of a beautiful B and B and a really nice couple who have invited you into their home for a stay. The farm house was the perfect location to see the region and we used it as the hub for our trip. My favorite part of each day was coming home and having a glass of wine on the patio. Sunny...I haven't forgotten the political posters I promised...G

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear both, your comment is the perfect description of what we endeavor to do. Reading it written down by a guest give us the satisfaction of seeing that we some times reach our aim.
Our answer is long overdue but during the springtime we had so many nice people that we really enjoyed spending time with them and time flew so fast!
Thank you so much to have spent some time to leave such a nice comment on Trip Advisor. I remember the 'posters' you said you will send to me but don't worry do it whenever it's convenient for you or, even better, bring it over when you will come to Tuscany in a future that we hope is not remote.
Our best wishes
Alba & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Some friends recommended Torre di Ponzano and they were right. We stayed with Sonny and Alba for six nights in September 2012 and it was definitely a highlight of our month in Italy. The location is peaceful, quiet, and beautiful, and it was easy to make day trips to any part of Tuscany. The property is wonderful; we loved the large deluxe room above the entry area. Sonny and Alba were a delight and very helpful. Be aware that it is a self-catering property, i.e. if you want to have food at the farm you'll need to use the mini-kitchen in your room to make your own coffee, etc. At that point in our trip we needed to just relax a bit, so we spent our first day just lounging in and by the pool, enjoying the view. If you're comfortable driving in Tuscany, this is a great base camp.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear both, so nice to hear from you!

Thank you so much for such a nice review and our apologies for the late answer.

We indeed remember your need of peace & relaxation during the last part of your holidays in Italy (after your party/tour down south) - we love when guests come to Ponzano to relax! It was nice to have a chat with you in the garden during the warm evenings in front of a glass of wine and we hope you might visit again some time in the future.
After the summer season, which has been indeed very good, we have been looking after the country side and done the harvest of the olives - the extravirgin olive oil has come out excellent !!! - Now is time for us to prepare and look forward to next season. This will probably be the last answer of the year 2012, so let us take the opportunity to thank you all to have chosen our place, to have made our job pleasant and light with your positive attitude, to have appreciated our hospitality and understood our aim.
Wishing you both and all our guests our best wishes for a very Merry Christmas and a New Year in peace, health, happiness and prosperity we hope for you all the best that 2013 can bring.

Alba & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed there a couple of nights with a friend last August and loved everything about it. We were warmly welcomed by Sonny and Alba. The place looks fantastic on top of a hill surrounded by olive trees, overlooking the tuscan countryside. The room was good (with a great view) and we enjoyed the pool a lot as it was really hot at the time. We also got great recommendations for dinner places etc. Location is perfect, right between Florence and Sienna. Would definitely go back there on my next trip to Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hello, so nice of you to have taken some time to write such a good review on Torre di ponzano.
We are glad to know that, although you had a short stay with us, you enjoyed it and you might be coming back. You are not living so very far from us and we sincerely hope to be on your vacation list in a not so far away future.
Thank you for your comment, our sincere apologies for the late answer and our best wishes for a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year
Alba & Sonny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at Torre di Ponzano for 3 nights during our honeymoon in July 2012. It was one of the highlights of our trip, Sonny and Alba were so friendly, helpful and welcoming, giving us great trips on where to go, what to see and where to eat. Sonny even drew us his own maps to help us find things! Our room was very spacious and the rest of the building and surrounding countryside were very beautiful. Really enjoyed swimming in the pool which is set into the hillside and has amazing views of the surrounding countryside. Highly recommend and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear both,
It is always nice to read a good, positive review on Torre di Ponzano, but it is even nicer if this is related to a special stay of our guests, and a honeymoon ranks surely among the very special ones.
We had a very busy time till October and the harvest of the olives during November kept us on our toes but, there are no excuses for such a late answer so, our apologies come along with our best and sincere wishes for a very Happy Christmas and a Marvelous 2013.
Alba & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It was pure chance that we ended up in this place. We were looking for a B&B for the night while being on the road exploring Tuscany on our honeymoon, and we saw the Ponzano B&B sign. We stopped our car by their road sign and made a quick tripadvisor app check for nearby places, and this place happened to turn up on top with a 5/5 rating. So we thought it was worth a drop-in visit. We were not disappointed.

Only the villa was vacant, but again, we were not disappointed. It felt huge for two people, but hey, we felt right at home wishing we had a place like that! Very good central location to explore the region (highway only a few minutes away), really helpful hosts and a refreshing pool in the heat. So we decided to spend two nights instead of one.

I feel a bit sad that we had to leave. We have to go back at some point!

The only (small) thing to complain about was the lack of AC in the heat so the air was a bit humid and warm during the night, but multiple fans are available to resolve that issue. Cooling 220 m² is not really AC friendly. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hello and thank you for writing such a nice review on 'Il Fienile' in Torre di Ponzano. We remember you and your wife very well, and the two nights you spent with us, very hot indeed, especially for you coming from the north! Even if, I must say, you had a brilliant idea, using multiple fans in the master bedroom did make a difference.
Actually, after the heath of last summer, we are at present considering the idea of putting A/C in the rooms of 'Il Fienile' ...
Wishing you both all the best for your life together we hope to see you again in Ponzano in a not so faraway future.
Alba & Sonny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Alba and Sonny were the perfect hosts and the location could not be better for soaking up Tuscany. My family spent 6 magical days and nights in the "farmhouse," a charming, comfortable fully equiped property next to the guest house. When we were not visiting Siena, Florence or a picturesque village or eating incredible local specialties - we were sitting by the pool or on the hillside watching shooting stars. I hope to be back to visit Tuscany and this lovely couple again and again,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for such a nice comment, it was a pleasure to have you among our guest and it will be a pleasure to have you in Ponzano again whenever you decide to come over. You can count on us to help you out with all your holiday planning!
After a very long and warm summer, for the first time, the wind has brought a touch of Autumn, this is a nice week-end with a wine festival taking place in Panzano in Chianti .... the red wine is going to be even nicer with this weather!

Thanking you again we wish you and your family all the best
Alba & Sonny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -

Address: Strada di Ponzano, 8, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone house built on top of a hill with a marvelous view over the Chianti hills. Easily reachable (only 4.5 Km from the exit Barberino on the main road connection between Florence and Siena). Many typical Tuscan Restaurants near by. We can arrange wine tasting and visit to the cellars of different farms. The central location of our property will allow you not only to visit Florence, Siena and San Gimignano (which are only 30 minute away by car) but also to visit Pisa and Lucca - on the north of Tuscany - and Montalcino, Pienza and Montepulciano - on the south of Tuscany - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany - reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Ponzano - Chianti Area - Tuscany - Hotel Barberino Val d`Elsa
Torre Di Ponzano - Chianti Area - Tuscany - Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.