We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany - to your Saves list
Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -
Strada di Ponzano, 8, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Lausanne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed there a couple of nights with a friend last August and loved everything about it. We were warmly welcomed by Sonny and Alba. The place looks fantastic on top of a hill surrounded by olive trees, overlooking the tuscan countryside. The room was good (with a great view) and we enjoyed the pool a lot as it was really hot at the time. We also got great recommendations for dinner places etc. Location is perfect, right between Florence and Sienna. Would definitely go back there on my next trip to Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hello, so nice of you to have taken some time to write such a good review on Torre di ponzano.
We are glad to know that, although you had a short stay with us, you enjoyed it and you might be coming back. You are not living so very far from us and we sincerely hope to be on your vacation list in a not so far away future.
Thank you for your comment, our sincere apologies for the late answer and our best wishes for a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year
Alba & Sonny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
87
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at Torre di Ponzano for 3 nights during our honeymoon in July 2012. It was one of the highlights of our trip, Sonny and Alba were so friendly, helpful and welcoming, giving us great trips on where to go, what to see and where to eat. Sonny even drew us his own maps to help us find things! Our room was very spacious and the rest of the building and surrounding countryside were very beautiful. Really enjoyed swimming in the pool which is set into the hillside and has amazing views of the surrounding countryside. Highly recommend and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear both,
It is always nice to read a good, positive review on Torre di Ponzano, but it is even nicer if this is related to a special stay of our guests, and a honeymoon ranks surely among the very special ones.
We had a very busy time till October and the harvest of the olives during November kept us on our toes but, there are no excuses for such a late answer so, our apologies come along with our best and sincere wishes for a very Happy Christmas and a Marvelous 2013.
Alba & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg, Västra Götaland, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

It was pure chance that we ended up in this place. We were looking for a B&B for the night while being on the road exploring Tuscany on our honeymoon, and we saw the Ponzano B&B sign. We stopped our car by their road sign and made a quick tripadvisor app check for nearby places, and this place happened to turn up on top with a 5/5 rating. So we thought it was worth a drop-in visit. We were not disappointed.

Only the villa was vacant, but again, we were not disappointed. It felt huge for two people, but hey, we felt right at home wishing we had a place like that! Very good central location to explore the region (highway only a few minutes away), really helpful hosts and a refreshing pool in the heat. So we decided to spend two nights instead of one.

I feel a bit sad that we had to leave. We have to go back at some point!

The only (small) thing to complain about was the lack of AC in the heat so the air was a bit humid and warm during the night, but multiple fans are available to resolve that issue. Cooling 220 m² is not really AC friendly. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hello and thank you for writing such a nice review on 'Il Fienile' in Torre di Ponzano. We remember you and your wife very well, and the two nights you spent with us, very hot indeed, especially for you coming from the north! Even if, I must say, you had a brilliant idea, using multiple fans in the master bedroom did make a difference.
Actually, after the heath of last summer, we are at present considering the idea of putting A/C in the rooms of 'Il Fienile' ...
Wishing you both all the best for your life together we hope to see you again in Ponzano in a not so faraway future.
Alba & Sonny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Alba and Sonny were the perfect hosts and the location could not be better for soaking up Tuscany. My family spent 6 magical days and nights in the "farmhouse," a charming, comfortable fully equiped property next to the guest house. When we were not visiting Siena, Florence or a picturesque village or eating incredible local specialties - we were sitting by the pool or on the hillside watching shooting stars. I hope to be back to visit Tuscany and this lovely couple again and again,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Owner at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for such a nice comment, it was a pleasure to have you among our guest and it will be a pleasure to have you in Ponzano again whenever you decide to come over. You can count on us to help you out with all your holiday planning!
After a very long and warm summer, for the first time, the wind has brought a touch of Autumn, this is a nice week-end with a wine festival taking place in Panzano in Chianti .... the red wine is going to be even nicer with this weather!

Thanking you again we wish you and your family all the best
Alba & Sonny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

There are no words that can describe the peace and tranquility of Torre di Ponzano.This place must be visited at least once in the lifetime. After this experience, even most luxurious hotel seems somehow not good enough. You will not find there the material luxuries, but thanks to Alba and Sonny you'll find everything else, everything that matters.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Manager at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear both, thank you-thank you-thank you for your nice words! We missed you in the garden!!! Have you already booked your flight for September? We hope you can make it back and, in the meantime, I send you something I found today in the web while looking for a famous phrase written by my favourite scientist, Albert, in 1959.

A human being is part of the whole called by us universe, a part limited in time and space.
We experience ourselves, our thoughts and feelings as something separate from the rest.
A kind of optical delusion of consciousness.
This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us.
Our task must be to free ourselves from the prison ...
The true value of a human being is determined by the measure and the sense in which they have obtained liberation from the self.
We shall require a substantially new manner of thinking if humanity is to survive.

See, we have so much more to talk about, you have to book that flight!
Our best regards
and .... Hi Galaxy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in "the tower" for 6 nights while we toured the Tuscan towns. It was perfect for a family of 4, as while both rooms share 1 bathroom, each room has doors that can be closed off. The kitchen & small sofa area were adequate for breakfast. The location is convenient for visiting Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, etc. We actually toured less than what I thought we would but at the end gave in to the Tuscan slower lifestyle and enjoyed it tremendously. One day we just spent by the pool! Sonny & Alba of course made the visit even better with their personalized attention and generous advice on where to go, where to park etc. We used a GPS and it was priceless for driving around. What was missing at La Torre was direct access to an outdoor area where we can have meals, drinks etc. but there's a great area around the back that's available and we did end up having a couple of meals out there with the setting sun. A good tip is to get take-away pizza from the restaurant close-by. They have great pizza at very reasonable prices - we ate there twice and had take-away once. We had a look at the Villa which would offer the private outdoor area but it is larger and pricier so it depends on the number of people and the type of holiday you wanted. Tuscany is a magical place in the summer and Torre di Ponzano is a special place to stay to enjoy it. Thanks, Alba & Sonny!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torre-di-Ponzano, Manager at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello! So nice of you to take some time to write about Torre di Ponzano.
Thanks a lot for posting such a nice/detailed review. It took a while to seat down and answer to you, my apologies, we indeed had a very busy summer, the warm weather seems everlasting this year! We hope you are all well, please thank your son again on my behalf for the suggestion he gave me on the antivirus. I am now a bit more confident using my mac ... although my knowledge is still very basic!!!
Thanking you all for staying with us, we wish you all the best for the future and hope to have you once again among our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The glowing reviews that I had read about owners Sonny and Alba don't begin to do them justice. Due to major travel delays, my husband, our adult son, his girlfriend, and I didn't arrive at Torre di Ponzano until after 10 p.m. When we finally got there, Alba had already called a wonderful local restaurant and asked the owners to stay open for us, which they did.

The next night was our best evening in Tuscany. We were sitting at a table on the beautiful lawn overlooking the rolling hills. We were drinking wine, and enjoying cheese, prosciutto, and olives, Then we saw Sonny and Alba and invited them to join us. We were so glad that they did. All of us talked and laughed into the early morning hours.

As other reviewers have noted, Sonny and Alba are, indeed, warm, friendly, and helpful. However, our experience indicates just how extraordinary they are: The air conditioner in the room shared by our son and his girlfriend broke (it was extremely hot while we were in Italy). Sonny and Alba moved them to another room. However, Torre di Ponzano was fully booked for the remainder of our stay, and the a/c company still hadn't scheduled an appointment to repair the unit.

So before we even came downstairs the next morning, Sonny and Alba had arranged to move all of us to a more costly nearby hotel--at their expense. To say the least, we would have preferred to stay at Torre di Ponzano.

For anyone looking for a beautiful and conveniently located place to stay while exploring the Tuscan region, look no further. Torre di Ponzano--and its wonderful owners--are truly exceptional.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower, which included a kitchen, a master bedroom, a second bedroom, and a shared b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hello J. and thanks a million for the marvellous review!
The problem with A/C is now solved but - although we missed chatting with you all in the garden in the evening - in those particular circumstances, the least we could do was to try to find a proper accommodation for you to have a nice holiday.
It would have been nice to have you here during those days and have a nice chat in the garden
but :
1) New York is not that far
2) The connection N.Y. - Firenze is just perfect
3) If you live in a big town you absolutely need a break to go
in the 'middle of nowhere' to re-charge!
4) We are in the 'middle of nowhere'
5) That middle of nowhere which is very close to everything in Tuscany

So we will wait for you to come over and visit again!
All the best to you all, thank you again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -

Address: Strada di Ponzano, 8, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone house built on top of a hill with a marvelous view over the Chianti hills. Easily reachable (only 4.5 Km from the exit Barberino on the main road connection between Florence and Siena). Many typical Tuscan Restaurants near by. We can arrange wine tasting and visit to the cellars of different farms. The central location of our property will allow you not only to visit Florence, Siena and San Gimignano (which are only 30 minute away by car) but also to visit Pisa and Lucca - on the north of Tuscany - and Montalcino, Pienza and Montepulciano - on the south of Tuscany - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany - reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Di Ponzano - Chianti Area - Tuscany - Hotel Barberino Val d`Elsa
Torre Di Ponzano - Chianti Area - Tuscany - Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre di Ponzano - Chianti area - Tuscany -, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.