We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i will defenitly reserve this hotel in my next trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Semifonte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Semifonte to your Saves list
Hotel Semifonte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pisana, 1, Loc Poggibonsi Nord, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“i will defenitly reserve this hotel in my next trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

we stayed at the hotel for two nights.
the hotel was very clean and so the rooms. we had a car so the hotel was sitauated in a very good place.
the staff is wonderful. they are all more than polite gentle and helpful. we felt there like at home.
the price is very good.
i recommend this hotel and i myself will return there in my next trip/

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaccardi, Direttore at Hotel Semifonte, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear Guests from Tel Aviv, many thanks indeed for your kindest words and I am happy to share all this with all my Colleagues. we hope continuation of your trips has also been pleasant and to welcome soon your return to Hotel Semifonte and Tuscany.
A presto ! cordially yours, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    93
    35
    13
    5
See reviews for
33
93
2
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010 via mobile

Spent three nights here a few days ago. Was astonished at how great the service was from the minute we walked through the door. We wished that more hotels would be as welcoming and friendly during our trip but if you check my other reviews, this is not the case. Rooms were spacious and clean with a minibar. Only bad thing was they had two beds put together for a double. Not great for couples! There is a pool and small fitness room to burn off some of that wine and cheese that fills your day. The restaurant was a little pricey, but the food was well worth it. Highly recommend the wild boar if you go! Only issue was it opens late(1945), however, they let us eat early when we came in without knowing. Breakfast was the best of our trip, fresh coffee/espresso/tea, juice, cereals, fresh pastries, yogurts, fresh farm eggs to boil, meat, cheese, and bread. Far better than expected. You can not find better for the value! There is a food store across the roundabout and it is perfectly situated to tour Tuscany. Save money by buying wine from the shop, it is cheaper for the same that is marked up in all the little towns. It is tough to find the road to get there initially. From Florence, go south towards Sienna and take exit with signs to San Gimignano. You will see the sign for the hotel and when you come to roundabout with the hotel across the way, turn in to driveway just past the San G exit on roundabout. For sight seeing suggestions be sure to ask the staff, they are wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaccardi, Direttore at Hotel Semifonte, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Dear Guests, it is a true pleasure to read your gentle and generous words and please accept sincere gratitude from everyone in our Team and myself.
I am personally very pleased we could give a bit of contribution to your vacation in our wonderful region of Tuscany. Hope to see you again soon !
cordially yours, Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff Wales
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

Have just spent two nights at this hotel during a tour around Tuscany.
The hotel is modern and sited on the outskirts of Poggibonsi. Some have commented about its location being near an industrial estate but it is quiet at night and very handy for road access to the main tourist areas. If you don't want to eat in the hotel you will need to drive into the town. (Try the leisure centre Pizza Restaurant ).
From the minute we arrived early in the day the staff were very welcoming and friendly. This extended right through our stay.
The room was very comfortable and the breakfast very good. The hotel has a outdoor pool but to cold in Sept.

Just a note about driving the Italian roads in this area are not very good and the drivers are worse. A few lucky escapes.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and nice room
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurants near the hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

We spent only one night in this hotel prior to our stay in a villa near Ambra for a week with friends. There were 10 of us staying all together and we found the hotel excellent value for money. The staff were very friendly and the hotel itself was stylish and clean.

We didn't eat in a restaurant, but merely popped over the road to the supermarket and bought picnic food, which we ate by the pool. Getting over the main road wasn't a problem for the younger ones in our party as there was no crossing or pavement, but the older ones in our party may have struggled.

I don't know if I would spend more than a night or two here, but would definitely stay on a short term basis, as it was only half an hour from our final destination.

  • Liked — Close to final destination, suitable for our elderly relatives, but also for our younger relatives
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

Just come back from a stay at the Semifonte. Cant fault a thing, the hotel was clean and tidy, staff were great, always willing to help. :-)

  • Liked — It was all good
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

This hotel is comfortable enough, very small bathroom, tight shower. The major problem I have with this place is that it is so far from anything that it is not a good idea for people who think they will be close to any town. It is in the middle of nowhere. If you are going on business then it's just an ok stay. The room is small but clean. The transfers are expensive so have your own car. It is a solid 2 1/2 star but no more.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Meath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

We visited the Barberino area in early August 2007 as we're getting married there later this year. The drive from the Fi-Pi-Li motorway to the hotel really gets you into the holiday mood, lots of quiet little towns, some with stop-go systems as the streets are too narrow for two-way traffic. Scenery pales in comparison to the nearby Chianti region but we weren't to know that on the first day!

We booked and paid for two nights on the airline website and hadn't expected much from the Semifonte; the reviews here suggest the hotel is in an industrial estate! But having stayed two nights, we were very happy with the place.

Firstly, the location is very good. Ok, Poggibonsi (the town it's next to) ain't the prettiest. We only passed through it and were glad we steered clear. The Semifonte is at a roundabout and has a huge supermarket across from it and some mobile phone shops or something next to it (it's like a small retail park. If you're looking for a picturesque little Italian hideway with breathtaking views from your room, keep looking. But if you're renting a car and would rather have a holiday than stew in luxury, you're just a 10-15 minute drive from glorious San Gimignano and you don't have to pay that town's accommodation rates! The Semifonte is on the very edge of the Barberino "commune" i.e. turn left out of the hotel and you're in the San Gimignano commune. The actual town of Barberino is beautiful, a small, walled village with immaculate streets. There's a (rather ugly) viewing area offering breathtaking views across the region; it's well-worth visiting but keep an eye out for the signs - I think they're trying to hide it!

The hotel itself is very clean and well-run. Our room (105) had a very tall ceiling and spacious bathroom (shower only). It was spotless, everywhere in the hotel, which is just a 3 star after all, was clean enough to eat off! The curtains sealed out daylight well and allowed us to catch up on sleep while the nearby roads (and very convenient "Pam" hypermarket) didn't keep us awake.

The breakfast buffet is typically Italian; pastries, tarts, coffee, some cereal; but despite being a buffet, there were two staff on hand at all times to help with special requests and bring out more food when needed.

We have pretty much nothing bad to say about the place; I was a little disappointed to be disturbed by a cleaner who knocked despite the Do Not Disturb tag. The hotel wi-fi worked well for hours the first day but got tempermental the second day (thankfully, reception let me use their PC to print off a map). Parking is plentiful, the staff were always pleasant and we got a bag of biscotti at check-out time which was lovely.

Perhaps because I only expected a Ryanair-standard hotel from the Ryanair website and got a proper gem of a place, I might sound a bit gushing in my praise. But we were very impressed by the Semifonte and wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who'd like to explore the area for themselves!

  • Liked — The high standards they strive for (and achieve) despite being a 3-star
  • Disliked — Uninspiring location (but we knew that before we got there!)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Semifonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Semifonte

Address: Via Pisana, 1, Loc Poggibonsi Nord, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Semifonte 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Semifonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Semifonte Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Semifonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.