We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On business 2 days 2 rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Semifonte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Semifonte to your Saves list
Hotel Semifonte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pisana, 1, Loc Poggibonsi Nord, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“On business 2 days 2 rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Found this hotel on line as it was close to the company we were visiting. Stayed 2 nights as we arrived around 7pm we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant.

The service, food and drink were good enough for us to eat at the restaurant the second night.

The rooms were very comfortable mini bar etc.

Breakfast which was included had a good selection continental. Great coffee.

All the staff were excellent.

November is off season the charges for the rooms, drinks, dinner, breakfast was very reasonable. Will definitely stay here again on my next visit.

The hotel had a pool and is central to the Chianti region so would make a good touring base.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    93
    35
    13
    5
See reviews for
33
93
2
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here for a stop over on route to our holiday accommodation. The staff were very friendly and helpful, check in was quick. Our room was very clean and big enough for a family of 4. I had a requested a cot it was all ready and waiting when got to the room. The food in the restaurant was of a good standard. I had the beef stew with chianti which I very much enjoyed. a wide selection for breakfast but a shame there was no fresh coffee.
The downside was that there was a light fitting hanging off the wall which was low enough for the children to get too. The pool was also very cloudy which was off putting so we didn't use it.
Overall, good for what we needed.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trencin, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very good hotel, modern architecture in quite place with nice room and good meal . The staff was very helpfool and pleasent
Excellent position for travelling around Toscana.

Beáta , guide from Slovakia

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

A nice place. A little bit far from the town.
The room was good beside the shower - which isn't that good at all.
Good parkin spot near the main road.
Not a very good Wifi connection though, but we almsot didn't need it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in the Semifonte for five nights as a base for exploring Tuscany. From the hotel you are central to Siena, Florence and San Gimignano. The hotel room and bathroom are spacious, well appointed and very clean. The air conditioning was a little warm for my taste, but was very quiet. WIFI is free, but the signal was so weak as to make it practically useless. The breakfast is very good with plenty of variety and nice cappucino. We ate at the hotel on three nights and enjoyed the meals, the food and drink prices are very reasonable. The hotel pool was much appreciated at the end of a hot days sightseeing, as was the ‘happy hour’ drinks and nibbles. The hotel is located to the north of Poggibonsi with little else nearby other than a large supermarket and is best suited to travellers with cars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We were a family of 4. Rooms is tight for 4 and sofa beds are used. The hotel is in a industrial area with good access to many sites but do not expect nice views around the hotel, which is a pity considering you are in a beautiful area of Tuscany. Breakfast is very good, hotel is clean and staff is nice but maintenance is very average. We had a inoperable sink that was not addressed due to lack of personal @ 6pm..we left the next day. I would only recommend for one night if you do not care about the area in which the hotel is located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riquewihr
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Just about to check out... This place tries sooooo hard for their guest's satisfaction. Excellent breakfast buffet with delicious cappuccino if you kindly ask the efficient staff. Bravo tutti at Semifonte. At this price impossible to beat !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Semifonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Semifonte

Address: Via Pisana, 1, Loc Poggibonsi Nord, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Semifonte 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Semifonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Semifonte Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Semifonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.