We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, clean, perfect location, good value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Semifonte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Semifonte to your Saves list
Hotel Semifonte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pisana, 1 - Loc. Poggibonsi Nord, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Sundbyberg, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent service, clean, perfect location, good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Rooms were a little bit small for 2adults and 2 Teens, but it was manageable, considering the perfect location between Pisa, Siena and Florence. Staff was more than helpful with directions, train tickets, winery tours and more. The minibar didnt work, but reception offered to replace it right away. Nice room, clean, good standard, air conditioning worked […] perfectly. Dog friendly with some areas for walking the dog nearby. Other reviews say it's located in an industrial area which is partly true, but if it is a spectacular view you are after, choose an agritorismo up on the hills instead. Semifonte lies close to a big supermarket, Pam, and a big shoe store and some other stores. Train station and the village of poggibonsi is just a mile away. Good food and service at the hotel restaurant. Really good value, would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    114
    47
    13
    6
See reviews for
39
120
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here one night in May, but only for the location. It's a nice place, but has faults. The desk staff are really weak - rare in Tuscany. Wrong room (wanted smoking), wrong info about shopping in this very urban area, and wrong directions to local sites. When I finally settled in for the night, the TV just didn't work and the only place I could plug in my laptop was the bathroom. The only reason I'm giving a three is for the nice pool and good breakfast and free parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed the at Hotel Semifonte for 10 nights recently. We were delighted by the welcome we received and impressed at how clean and inviting it was. We were shown to the bar first for a cold, fresh beer by Daniele who was extemely helpful and answered all our questions about Italy. The room was clean and functional, in fact spotless, and the beds were very comfortable. We were treated wonderfully for the duration of our stay, our room was cleaned daily, fresh sheets and towels every day. The restaurant, although basic, was neat and tidy. The food was lovely with a good choice on the menu for all. Breakfast was good, with staff constantly refreshing everything. The wine was great, we favoured prosecco by the pool!! The pool was a welcome relief considering the heat (between 30-40 degrees most days).
The only thing we would say is the location is not very pretty, very industrial and on a main road. However it was easy enough to hire taxis, (with the help of reception) and get buses and trains to our chosen destinations, and there are plenty of tours to choose from too. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and felt very looked after and comfortable at all times. The local town (Poggibonsi) is only a 15 minute walk and is very historical when you explore it properly. So a HUGE thank you to all the staff, especially Daniele, Firiane and Paulo for making our first stay in Italy a very pleasant one. We will certainly return one day!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

After reading all the reviews my fiancee and I were very excited to stay but the room is nowhere as nice as the pictures displayed, the service was terrible and the hotel is located in what feels like the middle of nowhere. Upon arrival, the man at reception told us that he did not have our confirmation which was placed with hotels.com. Only after searching around and lots of waiting did he find it. Secondly, we dined in the hotel's dining room where we were treated with some disdain. Finally, upon checking out, we inquired about an item on our bill just to be treated again with some disdain. Certainly not the service that seems to be reflected in these reviews.
On the flip side, perhaps we just got served by people who were having a bad day and so be it. Nonetheless, definitely not worth the US$100 we paid. We have stayed at many hotels throughout Italy at less than this with much better service and higher quality. I would say it would be a good deal at around US$60.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Matteo Rosa at the reception on May 19, 2012 was most helpful !
Our NEW iPhone fell in the hotel lobby just when a large Italian group of tourists entered the lobby. Thank you Matteo for all your help with locating the new iPhone couple of hours later, which was with one of the tourists.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Hotel Semifonte is a super hotel as a base for a motoring tour of Tuscany. A friendly, helpful English speaking staff, very reasonable accomnodation and a much more attractive price than in the major cities - free parking too! Highly recommended...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We chose Semifonte as base hotel to explore Valle del Chianti. The best choose we could ever do. The Concierge is magnificent! Everybody is incredibly kind and helpful. I had the flu and they brought me the breakfast to the Room!
Very Very Recommendable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Semifonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Semifonte

Address: Via Pisana, 1 - Loc. Poggibonsi Nord, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Semifonte 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Semifonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Semifonte Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Semifonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.