We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Semifonte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Semifonte to your Saves list
Hotel Semifonte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pisana, 1, Loc Poggibonsi Nord, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Surprisingly great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

I say surprisingly as we were not originally booked into this hotel. Our original hotel "lost" our reservation and we had hours to find a new hotel before the flight out to Italy.
Call it fate but but it actually worked out better. The only drawback was that the Semifonte did not have a family or connecting room available for us. Understandable given the short notice of our booking. As a family of 4 we had two king rooms next to each other, perfectly acceptable.
The rooms were clean, cool and well maintained.
The buffet breakfast was amazing. Great for kids and adults.
The service in all areas was excellent, especially Luigi the manager who made us feel personally very welcome and comfortable. The reception staff were very helpful and had good suggestions for where to eat locally and help arrange taxis (in the evenings I wanted to try the chianti and didn't want to drive).
The dinner in the restaurant was high quality, we ended up eating their twice because the kids insisted. Other times we out locally.
The hotel has an underground car park which meant the car was cool and not burning in the sunshine.
The location is not in the rolling Tuscan hills and has no views or scenery, but is ideally placed for driving and exploring the Chanti region. It is close to the main roads and highways. We were able to easily drive to Florence, Pisa, Siena and many of the wonderful towns in between.
In summary, what could have been a disastrous family holiday was made exceptional thanks to the staff and location of the Semifonte Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaccardi, Direttore at Hotel Semifonte, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Sir, the kindest regards from Toscana ! and my personal sincere gratitude for your kindness and for taking time in writing a review. Please allow me to share your comments with my Team. It has been a true pleasure serving you and your family during your vacation in our region and we really feel a bit of pride for showing you the feelings of tuscan hospitality and services. My respectful regards to yourself and Madame; and a friendly "CIAO" to your charming children. very cordially, Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    93
    35
    13
    5
See reviews for
33
93
2
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We traveled with two teenage (14 and 16) boys in Tuscany for ten days. We stayed at six different hotels and at Semifonte for three nights. We were more than pleased.
The staff is incredible! They have a pleasant and subtle way to make you feel almost at home. Their warmth and hospitality is very rare in todays hotel business. I can make the comparison since I myself have spent approximately 400 nights at hotels in a last decade.
I believe the Semifonte spirit starts with the Manager himself. He leads the way in hospitality and the amazing staff follows him.
Hotel is very clean and despite the traffic nearby we never heard a sound.
Breakfast is excellent and for dinner our boys just loved the pasta with rabbit in it (sorry bunnies). None of the foods we had were disappointments. They were all great. Be sure to taste the home-made cookies.
Location was excellent for our purposes. Pisa, Florence, San Gimignano, Montereggiano etc. were all just a small trip away by rental car.
We loved it that It was never too late in the night to take a dip in the pool.
This year it was sheer luck that we stayed at Semifonte. Next trip we will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaccardi, Direttore at Hotel Semifonte, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Family from beautiful Finland, my personal kindest gratitude for your decision to stay at Semifonte for your tuscan vacation ! and so many thanks for the kindness in writing this review, which I am delighted to share with our Owners and our Team.
I hope you keep good memories of Tuscany and its people and wish you will be back here soon,. Kindly extend the best regards to your children, with a very special "CIAO" to them.
cordially yours, Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

My daughter and I were driving through Tuscany and were just looking for decent Hotel to stay for the night, well we were in for a big surprise by the Management and Staff. From the local cuisine offered at Restaurant (which had big groups of locals reserving for special occasions) a sign of a quality Restaurant. One of the things on our itinerary was to visit a local Winery, but being off-season is more of a challenge, by the next morning Management had arranged a private Taste and Tour at a local Winery, complete with printed directions.
The Hotel is very classy Executive Style with down to earth Management and Staff.
We Loved our stay, wish we would of had more time to explore.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaccardi, Direttore at Hotel Semifonte, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
Dear Guests from beautiful Canada, please accept from everyone in our Team and myself our true sincere gratitude for your words and comments. We hope your whole vacation in Italy and Tuscany met completely your expectations and you are by now planning to come back !
very, very cordially and friendly yours, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

we stayed at the hotel for two nights.
the hotel was very clean and so the rooms. we had a car so the hotel was sitauated in a very good place.
the staff is wonderful. they are all more than polite gentle and helpful. we felt there like at home.
the price is very good.
i recommend this hotel and i myself will return there in my next trip/

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaccardi, Direttore at Hotel Semifonte, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
Dear Guests from Tel Aviv, many thanks indeed for your kindest words and I am happy to share all this with all my Colleagues. we hope continuation of your trips has also been pleasant and to welcome soon your return to Hotel Semifonte and Tuscany.
A presto ! cordially yours, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010 via mobile

Spent three nights here a few days ago. Was astonished at how great the service was from the minute we walked through the door. We wished that more hotels would be as welcoming and friendly during our trip but if you check my other reviews, this is not the case. Rooms were spacious and clean with a minibar. Only bad thing was they had two beds put together for a double. Not great for couples! There is a pool and small fitness room to burn off some of that wine and cheese that fills your day. The restaurant was a little pricey, but the food was well worth it. Highly recommend the wild boar if you go! Only issue was it opens late(1945), however, they let us eat early when we came in without knowing. Breakfast was the best of our trip, fresh coffee/espresso/tea, juice, cereals, fresh pastries, yogurts, fresh farm eggs to boil, meat, cheese, and bread. Far better than expected. You can not find better for the value! There is a food store across the roundabout and it is perfectly situated to tour Tuscany. Save money by buying wine from the shop, it is cheaper for the same that is marked up in all the little towns. It is tough to find the road to get there initially. From Florence, go south towards Sienna and take exit with signs to San Gimignano. You will see the sign for the hotel and when you come to roundabout with the hotel across the way, turn in to driveway just past the San G exit on roundabout. For sight seeing suggestions be sure to ask the staff, they are wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zaccardi, Direttore at Hotel Semifonte, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Dear Guests, it is a true pleasure to read your gentle and generous words and please accept sincere gratitude from everyone in our Team and myself.
I am personally very pleased we could give a bit of contribution to your vacation in our wonderful region of Tuscany. Hope to see you again soon !
cordially yours, Luigi Zaccardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff Wales
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

Have just spent two nights at this hotel during a tour around Tuscany.
The hotel is modern and sited on the outskirts of Poggibonsi. Some have commented about its location being near an industrial estate but it is quiet at night and very handy for road access to the main tourist areas. If you don't want to eat in the hotel you will need to drive into the town. (Try the leisure centre Pizza Restaurant ).
From the minute we arrived early in the day the staff were very welcoming and friendly. This extended right through our stay.
The room was very comfortable and the breakfast very good. The hotel has a outdoor pool but to cold in Sept.

Just a note about driving the Italian roads in this area are not very good and the drivers are worse. A few lucky escapes.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and nice room
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurants near the hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

We spent only one night in this hotel prior to our stay in a villa near Ambra for a week with friends. There were 10 of us staying all together and we found the hotel excellent value for money. The staff were very friendly and the hotel itself was stylish and clean.

We didn't eat in a restaurant, but merely popped over the road to the supermarket and bought picnic food, which we ate by the pool. Getting over the main road wasn't a problem for the younger ones in our party as there was no crossing or pavement, but the older ones in our party may have struggled.

I don't know if I would spend more than a night or two here, but would definitely stay on a short term basis, as it was only half an hour from our final destination.

  • Liked — Close to final destination, suitable for our elderly relatives, but also for our younger relatives
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Semifonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Semifonte

Address: Via Pisana, 1, Loc Poggibonsi Nord, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Semifonte 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Semifonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Semifonte Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Semifonte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.