We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Canonica di Cortine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Canonica di Cortine to your Saves list
La Canonica di Cortine
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Localita Cortine 20, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We've been there in October this year - 2 adults and 2 kids. The place is gorgeous, with very nice individual apartments, wonderful place for breakfast, beautiful garden, very friendly hosts. The location is perfect for visiting Chianti zone. We can't wait to go back sometimes, hopefully, soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Guests,
good afternoon from the Chianti hills!
Thank you very much for your nice words! We are very pleased to learn you have appreciated your stay with us; Cortine has the ideal position in the heart of Chianti Classico which permits our guests to easily visit all the beautiful surroundings.
Waiting to see you again in Cortine, our warmest greetings!
Lucia, Stefano and all Cortine staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I don't want to sound like a grumpy unsatisfied American - but although this property is gorgeous- the beds were dreadfully uncomfortable and old. The washer was so old and mildewy that we decided to wash everything by hand. The kitchen did not have enough dishes or utensils and the family room was not properly furnished for a comfortable stay in there -- Thus in the evenings we were either in our rooms or uncomfortable in the family room which had a very old sofa and two chairs. When we approached the staff, we were told that the washer was in perfect condition for Italian standards (which I find extremely hard to believe). And they blew off our complaints about the beds. If you have any issues with your backs or any part of your body --be prepared for it to get worse after a week at the property. Make sure to bring mosquito repellant. We were eaten alive! Also, the pool closes too early. I think it closed at 6:00 p.m. every evening which made no sense.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RRHosseini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you for your time and feedback about your stay at La Canonica di Cortine.
We are sorry to read you did not enjoyed your stay with us and we will take into consideration your suggestions to improve our services and property.
Hoping to welcoming you again in the future, we remain with best regards

Lucia Fusi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I spent five days here with two members of my family in October. It was truly beautiful, set on a hill with vineyards and olive trees all around. The walkways were surrounded by large rosemary bushes. We had an apartment with a large sitting room, an adequate kitchen (with old appliances and mismatched dishes), two small bedrooms with a bathroom in between. There was a nice patio as well although the table and chairs were metal which in the hot Tuscan sun were too hot use, certainly far too hot to sit on. We enjoyed shopping for groceries after a day of sightseeing then relaxing with a nice bottle of wine as we prepared dinner. We found it to be an excellent place to use as a hub to visit San Donato and Pisa, Sienna was a little farther away. A car is essential.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank EdmTraveller38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Good morning from La Canonica di Cortine and thank you very much for such a nice feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you soon in the Chianti and send you our warmest regards.

Lucia Fusi owner and La Canonica di Cortine staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We absolutely LOVED the Bed and Breakfast at La Canonica di Cortine in Barberino di Val D'elsa. We just couldn’t get over the beauty of the area and the attention to detail in our well appointed room. Breakfast each morning in the covered sunroom/patio felt like an indulgence. Our thanks again to the management and staff for making us feel so welcome and comfortable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Dennis,
thank you so much for your nice words, it has been a pleasure meeting in Cortine last October! The Cortine staff and I look very much forward to welcoming you back in Cortine in the next future.
In the meantitme, we send our warmest greetings
Lucia Fusi & Cortine Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a nice village and nice rooms. The rooms aren't very big (we had a reservation for a normal room). The rooms have an Italian look. It wasn't a very luxurious one. The breakfast was really simpel but good. It is a nice place to stay, when you want to tour in Toscane.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bezoekster8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Good afternoon from Tuscany!
Thank you for your time and nice feedback. We are happy to read you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcoming you soon in Cortine!
Warmest regards
Lucia Fusi and all Cortine Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

An excellent, centrally located point to hub and spoke visits to Florence, Greve, Sienna and more. It is a romantic getaway that is everything you imagined a Tuscan Villa to be, situated on a hilltop adorned on all sides with vineyards and olive groves. The rooms are well appointed, the staff friendly and informative, as well as an excellent breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous. You will definitely need a car to stay stay at La Canonica di Cortine. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny_James82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear John,

thanks so much for being our guest and for your nice words. We really hope to welcoming you again and a big hug to both of you.

Lucia Fusi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed there for a night back in April/May 2011. It was very easy drive from the hotel to all major cities in Tuscany. Nearby towns got good restaurants to dine in the evening. The place was just lovely and a place where you can relax, chill out and the hotel people were very nice!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Good afternoon from the heart of Chianti Classico!
Thank you for your nice review and for the time spent with us.
We will be waiting for your next visit!
Warmest greetings
Lucia Fusi & Cortine Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
2.8 mi away
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Boutique Hotel...
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 433 reviews
4.4 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
5.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
Hotel Borgo Di Cortefreda Relais
#2 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 16 in Radda in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
11.0 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Canonica di Cortine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Canonica di Cortine

Address: Localita Cortine 20, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — La Canonica di Cortine 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Canonica di Cortine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Canonica Di Cortine Hotel Barberino Val d`Elsa
La Canonica Di Cortine Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing