We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Canonica di Cortine

Save Saved
You added La Canonica di Cortine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Canonica di Cortine
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Localita Cortine 20, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I spent five days here with two members of my family in October. It was truly beautiful, set on a hill with vineyards and olive trees all around. The walkways were surrounded by large rosemary bushes. We had an apartment with a large sitting room, an adequate kitchen (with old appliances and mismatched dishes), two small bedrooms with a bathroom in between. There was a nice patio as well although the table and chairs were metal which in the hot Tuscan sun were too hot use, certainly far too hot to sit on. We enjoyed shopping for groceries after a day of sightseeing then relaxing with a nice bottle of wine as we prepared dinner. We found it to be an excellent place to use as a hub to visit San Donato and Pisa, Sienna was a little farther away. A car is essential.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Good morning from La Canonica di Cortine and thank you very much for such a nice feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you soon in the Chianti and send you our warmest regards.

Lucia Fusi owner and La Canonica di Cortine staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    26
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
63
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We absolutely LOVED the Bed and Breakfast at La Canonica di Cortine in Barberino di Val D'elsa. We just couldn’t get over the beauty of the area and the attention to detail in our well appointed room. Breakfast each morning in the covered sunroom/patio felt like an indulgence. Our thanks again to the management and staff for making us feel so welcome and comfortable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Dennis,
thank you so much for your nice words, it has been a pleasure meeting in Cortine last October! The Cortine staff and I look very much forward to welcoming you back in Cortine in the next future.
In the meantitme, we send our warmest greetings
Lucia Fusi & Cortine Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a nice village and nice rooms. The rooms aren't very big (we had a reservation for a normal room). The rooms have an Italian look. It wasn't a very luxurious one. The breakfast was really simpel but good. It is a nice place to stay, when you want to tour in Toscane.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Good afternoon from Tuscany!
Thank you for your time and nice feedback. We are happy to read you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcoming you soon in Cortine!
Warmest regards
Lucia Fusi and all Cortine Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

An excellent, centrally located point to hub and spoke visits to Florence, Greve, Sienna and more. It is a romantic getaway that is everything you imagined a Tuscan Villa to be, situated on a hilltop adorned on all sides with vineyards and olive groves. The rooms are well appointed, the staff friendly and informative, as well as an excellent breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous. You will definitely need a car to stay stay at La Canonica di Cortine. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear John,

thanks so much for being our guest and for your nice words. We really hope to welcoming you again and a big hug to both of you.

Lucia Fusi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed there for a night back in April/May 2011. It was very easy drive from the hotel to all major cities in Tuscany. Nearby towns got good restaurants to dine in the evening. The place was just lovely and a place where you can relax, chill out and the hotel people were very nice!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Good afternoon from the heart of Chianti Classico!
Thank you for your nice review and for the time spent with us.
We will be waiting for your next visit!
Warmest greetings
Lucia Fusi & Cortine Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I only had a one night stay here but would have gladly stayed longer. The staff were wonderful and very helpful, Stefano collected me from San Donato and also took me to catch the bus the next day. The room was clean, huge bed, and the grounds were beyond immaculate. A real oasis. The pool area and conveniently located seating areas throughout the grounds were so inviting. The breakfast room was lovely and the food delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Good afternoon from Cortine!
Thank you very very much for your nice review : we are happy to read your nice words about the room, the pool, our breakfast and the gardens! All our staff does a really good work to maintain the property the way you have enjoyed it!
Awaiting to welcoming you again, we send you our warmest greetings!
Stefano, Lucia & all Cortine staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have stayed here in the apartment villa (4 adults). The place is spacious, on the lover floor is a living room and big table to dine at. Outside is small private patio which is very nice. The kitchen is little bit tool old and the dish washer has been there for a long time I guess. Also bit more glasses and spoons, etc...would help. However there is a full fridge which was great for us. On the top floor there were 2 bedroom and large bathroom. The plumbing must be very old as you could hear some strange noise coming out of the sink when downstairs there was running water. But again the house is really couple hundred years old so that is reason.

Locations as such was great, close to nice San Donatto village as well as to couple of vineries such as excellent Casa Sola in walking distance. There is a lot of trees, and flowers just around, so the whole resort is really green. However beware that ideal time to go is when it is really hot outside, as in May we have been a bit cold inside and the heating did not worked.

I have never been to similar accommodations, however was surprised to hear that when we have ran out of the toilet paper we were told to buy our own (strange...). On the other hand the stuff was very help full in advising what to see around how to get there, where to park etc..

I suggest to well look on the map before you get there as it was bit hard to find it without a good map or GPS. How ever the people in San Donatto where very helpfull.

In my opinion you need to have car here, but that is most likely obvious. Over all we had a good time here, however next time I want to check something else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Good afternoon from La Canonica di Cortine, and thank you for the time you spent with us last spring and for leaving your feedback.
We are sorry to read you did not completely enjoy your stay with us and we will take into great consideration your suggestions in order to improve our services.

We hope to welcoming you in the near future again and remain with best regards
Lucia Fusi, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Canonica di Cortine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Canonica di Cortine

Address: Localita Cortine 20, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Canonica di Cortine 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your La Canonica di Cortine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Canonica Di Cortine Hotel Barberino Val d`Elsa
La Canonica Di Cortine Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Canonica di Cortine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.