We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Canonica di Cortine

Save Saved
You added La Canonica di Cortine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Canonica di Cortine
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Localita Cortine 20, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Place to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed there for a night back in April/May 2011. It was very easy drive from the hotel to all major cities in Tuscany. Nearby towns got good restaurants to dine in the evening. The place was just lovely and a place where you can relax, chill out and the hotel people were very nice!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Good afternoon from the heart of Chianti Classico!
Thank you for your nice review and for the time spent with us.
We will be waiting for your next visit!
Warmest greetings
Lucia Fusi & Cortine Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    26
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
64
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Echuca, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I only had a one night stay here but would have gladly stayed longer. The staff were wonderful and very helpful, Stefano collected me from San Donato and also took me to catch the bus the next day. The room was clean, huge bed, and the grounds were beyond immaculate. A real oasis. The pool area and conveniently located seating areas throughout the grounds were so inviting. The breakfast room was lovely and the food delicious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Good afternoon from Cortine!
Thank you very very much for your nice review : we are happy to read your nice words about the room, the pool, our breakfast and the gardens! All our staff does a really good work to maintain the property the way you have enjoyed it!
Awaiting to welcoming you again, we send you our warmest greetings!
Stefano, Lucia & all Cortine staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have stayed here in the apartment villa (4 adults). The place is spacious, on the lover floor is a living room and big table to dine at. Outside is small private patio which is very nice. The kitchen is little bit tool old and the dish washer has been there for a long time I guess. Also bit more glasses and spoons, etc...would help. However there is a full fridge which was great for us. On the top floor there were 2 bedroom and large bathroom. The plumbing must be very old as you could hear some strange noise coming out of the sink when downstairs there was running water. But again the house is really couple hundred years old so that is reason.

Locations as such was great, close to nice San Donatto village as well as to couple of vineries such as excellent Casa Sola in walking distance. There is a lot of trees, and flowers just around, so the whole resort is really green. However beware that ideal time to go is when it is really hot outside, as in May we have been a bit cold inside and the heating did not worked.

I have never been to similar accommodations, however was surprised to hear that when we have ran out of the toilet paper we were told to buy our own (strange...). On the other hand the stuff was very help full in advising what to see around how to get there, where to park etc..

I suggest to well look on the map before you get there as it was bit hard to find it without a good map or GPS. How ever the people in San Donatto where very helpfull.

In my opinion you need to have car here, but that is most likely obvious. Over all we had a good time here, however next time I want to check something else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Good afternoon from La Canonica di Cortine, and thank you for the time you spent with us last spring and for leaving your feedback.
We are sorry to read you did not completely enjoy your stay with us and we will take into great consideration your suggestions in order to improve our services.

We hope to welcoming you in the near future again and remain with best regards
Lucia Fusi, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is one of the charismatic places we love so much. A set of villas with some history, distinctive Tuscan interiors, lush gardens and beautiful views. Very tranquil and comfortable base for exploring Tuscany - most of interesting places are just a short drive (and if you drive the country roads, you will enjoy the spectacular views).

Room Tip: We particulary loved the Villa rooms and halls; however, this is a difficult catch because it is usu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your stay with us and your feedback. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and really hope to welcoming you once again in Cortine in the future.
Best wishes and regards

Lucia Fusi and all Cortine staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My wife and I plus our 26 year old daughter and her significant other spent 5 nights in this wonderful setting. This was on our "bucket list" - to find a romantic place to stay in the Tuscan countryside and La Canonica di Cortine http://www.chianticortine.it/en/history.html was perfect. The ancien parsonage has been exquisitely re-built by the current owners Stefano and his wife Lucia, who along with the staff Most speak good English), made us all feel very welcome. Thanks to careful renovation, the mansion, the group of houses and the small church in front of them, exude the charm of a fne, hilltop aristocratic mansion. The location is perfect - almost exactly halfway between Florence and Siena and not far off the main road between the two. We visited both magnifient cities, world-famous nearby San Gimignano, multiple quaint towns in Chianti, and the lovely nearby medieval villages of San Donato and Castellina in Chianti. We went wine tasting at the beautiful 57 acre vineyard Castellare di Castellina 2 km from Castellina and had wonderful meals everywhere we went. If you want a special treat (and have some extra money) make sure that you eat at Osteria di Passignano in Loc. Badia a Passignano http://www.osteriadipassignano.com/ - about 10 minutes drive from La Canonica and a truly memorable experience.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom Solatio house, which was originally a barn of the Castle of Cortine. It had a pleasant dining room and a romantic fireplace with a compact kitchen that led directly onto a delightful outdoor patio. On the ground floor there was one bedroom and a bathroom with shower and an ancient stone staircase lead up to the other bedroom, with its en-suite bathroom. This arrangement is probably perfect for families but - being a little picky - not ideal for two couples since the upstairs bedroom is private (it is, after all, on the 2nd floor) but open to sounds from below. We made breakfast every morning and cooked most eventings. The only other drawback was that the cable TV arrangement was difficult to operate and there was only one channel (news) in English but that simply meant that we opened a bottle of wine and enjoyed each other's company instead! In sum, this was a magical place - we hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Good day from La Canonica di Cortine.

Thank you for your time and for your nice words. We are very happy to read you enjoyed your stay with. We hope to welcoming you soon and send you our warmest regards!

Lucia Fusi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My 2 girlfriends and I spent one week on Rome and one week in Tuscany. During the drive from Rome to the Villa we were robbed while in a rest stop. Upon our arrival we were quite stressed but very excited as soon as we saw La Canoncia di Cortine. Stella and Stefano were very warm and welcoming and had waited for our late arrival. The accomodations are picture perfect and the people in the surrounding area are warm and welcoming. It was the most romantic trip (Even if I was with friends) and La Canoncia di Cortine was enchanting beyond description. I plan on going back to La Canoncia in May 2012.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Janet,

thank you so much for all your nice words. It is a pleasure reading that you and your girlfriends enjoyed your time in Cortine.
We are all waiting your next visit next year.

Warmest regards
Lucia Fusi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This place is what we dreamed about to stay during our Tuscan holiday. Initially, we planned to stay for one night (booked using www.booking.com) but when we arrived at the place we were surprised by the beauty of this property and the surroundings. Bedroom is typical Tuscan country style, spacious bathroom There is wi-fi available in the lounge (outside the breakfast room) and the lounge was so comfortable we stayed hours reading books and surfing internet and chilled out at night. There was a fireplace but dormant, pity they didnt use it.

I highly recommend this place for romantic escapade or family holiday (they have villa for bigger party). We will definitely come back. Btw, the restaurant nearby "La Locanda di Pietracupa" is great and quiet (well maybe I went during their off season in winter time) and very private, serving modern Tuscan dishes. 5 minutes drive from the property.

My only negative is the location, we came to Tuscany to visit Siena, Pienza, Montalcino. It is quite a drive to these places, though it is a good base if your goal is to relax and explore the Chianti regions and taste their wines. Well, thats what we did anyway - we changed our itinerary to explore Chianti region, Panzano in Chianti, Volpaia, Radda in Chinati, Greve in Chianti - these are really beautiful villages. We had no regret. Drank lots of excellent Chianti wines.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCanonicaDiCortine, Proprietario at La Canonica di Cortine, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Good day from Canonica di Cortine, and thank you for having found the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are really happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcoming you again soon.
Warmest regards
Lucia Fusi and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Canonica di Cortine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Canonica di Cortine

Address: Localita Cortine 20, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Canonica di Cortine 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your La Canonica di Cortine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Canonica Di Cortine Hotel Barberino Val d`Elsa
La Canonica Di Cortine Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Canonica di Cortine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.