We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chianti Holidays

Chianti Holidays
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chianti Holidays
Save
You added Chianti Holidays to your Saves list
Via Vittorio Veneto 27, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
“Great holiday in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Charming villa in a small town in Tuscany. Fully furnished, with a great atmosphere. Very clean. The rooms full of family memorabilia. You can feel like a part of Italian family. Unique view from the window, very comfortable conditions and nice people around - it's a perfect mix for the holidays. I recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in II Torrino with my mother, son and baby. The house was lovely, it felt like I was staying in someone's home with lots of lovely memories. We were on the last leg if our holiday so were relaxing before the long flight home the following week. We also had a hire car which I think is necessary for the area. It is a little town and lots to explore in sorrounding areas.

Unfortunately we came in July and it was very hot and dearly wished for a pool and airconditioning and did not do much exploring, just eating icecream. The owner brought 2 fans which just made it bareable. I slept in the main bedroom which was fine. My mother slept in the kids room with two small beds and found it uncomfortable. If you want a base to explore its a lovely place, just don't go when it's too hot! This is a family home not a hotel so expect it to be homely not a 5 star resort.
There are a few public pools in the area and at 6-10€ per person quite expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My daughter and her two children and I stayed at the apartment Ill Torino, a former family home in the lovely medieval town of Barberino, for 6 days at the end of a six week stay in France and Italy. We were hoping for a chance to relax in the countryside before our return to Australia.

The house was nice, although needed a proper clean and tidy as it smelled musty and many of the family belongings and mementos were still in the house and clearly not for use.
The main issues that negatively impacted on our stay were, the lack of air conditioning and cooling- although the owner did eventually provide us with two pedestal fans which wasn't adequate, as it was 32 degrees and up most days and very hot at night. There were three of us my daughter, her 10 month old baby and 14 year old son.
Furniture wise there were problems -there was a double bed in the main room up steep stairs with a bidet toilet off it, a second room with two very old and narrow, uncomfortable single beds, a small attic room with a single bed up precarious steps from the main room - which was far too hot to sleep in; and a double bed settee downstairs. There were no screens on the windows and at night we were bitten by mosquitoes. The town Church bells which were within 100 metres of the apartment rang constantly and loudly day and night.
We had no idea how to use an 'Italian clothes line' which hung high up and out of reach from the upstairs bathroom,so after washing clothes we resorted to hanging them on chairs near the windows to dry.
This was a disappointing stay, also the lack of facilities in this small town like wifi made our trip troublesome.


'

Room Tip: After our experience in this accommodation I would suggest that if you are holidaying in Italy in Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We recently stayed for 2nights in La Piazzetta, during our 10day Tuscan holiday. We had intended the trip to have a relaxed, last-minute approach, to enable us to be as flexible as possible, and that's exactly how our booking with Chianti Holidays went. We emailed them via the website at 4pm on the Friday, had a reply within an hour and luckily an apartment was available, we checked in on Saturday afternoon at a time which was convenient to us and our travel plans.

The village is quiet and unspoilt, with beautiful old buildings and amazing views over the hills - surprising how few tourists know about this place. Driving into the village through the entrance gate and through the narrow one-way streets is a little daunting, finding the apartment is trouble-free, but only locals can park in the village, tourists park in the nearby car parks for free (less than 5min walk). La Piazzetta is a perfect little apartment on a quiet piazza, it has lovely views and is next to the church (great to be woken on a sunday morning by the church bells!). There are adequate facilities for self-catering (a hob & microwave, no oven but why use that on holiday?!), and we enjoyed dining on the terrace each evening with a glass of local Chianti. (If self-catering, we found the most useful place to stock up was the Pam supermarket in Poggibonsi). There was a friendly restaurant/bar 30seconds walk away (on the main street near the main piazza) where we enjoyed more local vino and used the free WiFi.

All in all, this was a great resting point for us between Florence & Siena, and an excellent base from which we were able to explore beautiful Tuscany. I have already recommended it to friends & family!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chianti_holidays_ch, Proprietario at Chianti Holidays, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review.
La Piazzetta is just one of the four historical apartments my family has owned since 1880s.
We look forward to have you and your friends again in the future. It will be a pleasure to guide you discovering the authentic and unknown Tuscany!!
Take care
Franca Maria Capone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a wonderful two weeks stay in Barberino. We were upgraded when we arrived and stayed in a big house with a big kitchen room, living room, three bedrooms and two bathrooms.
The view from the house of the valley was stunning. We travelled without a car but got around
when we wanted by bus and train and one restaurant owner even picked us up and took us back to the house when we had dinner in his restaurant. Barberino itself has a few nice rstaurants,
two butchers and two small supermarkets, The newspaper store had an amazing selection of
daily international papers. The lady host is very friendly and helpfull. We could not have a better
memory of Tuscany.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A confortable apartament in the centre of Barberino and the toscana with all facilities arround.
A small apartment perfect for two people, a big kitchen, a garden, a big double room and a nice bathroom.
It is situated in the historic main street of Barberino with a very quiet ambience.
It is possible to park freely the car near the house
Marivi and Juan

Room Tip: A very good option for visiting the Toscana in a paceful beautiful old historic village in the midd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chianti Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chianti Holidays

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 27, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Chianti Holidays Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chianti Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.