We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The setting was lovely, the meal was average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Il Paese dei Campanelli

Il Paese dei Campanelli
Localita Sovestro | Borgo di Petrognano, 50021 Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
+39 055 8075318
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The setting was lovely, the meal was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is my second time eating here. The last time, in 2011, we had a wonderful meal and a fabulous dessert. I was really looking forward to returning there again. The salad (which cost 9 euros) was just greens, pine nuts and some small pieces of pear and they put the oil and vinegar on the table. It was unremarkable and the rest of the meal was average.
The setting is lovely and we liked the dog and the cat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    33
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had dinner at this place last summer while staying at the wonderful Borgo di Petrognano which is at the other side of the road. Wonderful setting next to vineyards, great seating and lovely wines and good food. The Fiorentina steak was absolutely tasteful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Benefit of the doubts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were there by invitation and the expectations were high. Location is superb but unfortunately that evening not everything went well. Forgot to serve the site dishes, the icecream was more like a milkshake without the ordered cream. And we are still waiting for the coffee. But the most anoying thing is that the cats walking in the eating area, not my cup of tea!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“I call this, "My favorite restaurant in the world" so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

While spending some time in Italy, the Tuscany region to be exact. I was introduce to this fabulous restaurant, literally in the middle of nowhere. Located in the countryside, owned by a husband and wife, and their children who help with the tables. A beautiful Tuscan home with unbelievable views, as one of those movies you see o TV. As you enter, don't be surprised if you are greeted by this giant dog that usually sleeps in the entrance, but don't be afraid, even the dog is friendly there.
I can make you a long list of all the dishes that are good there but I will remain with 2 that will make me return there today just to taste them. Their special appetizer platter that has a combination of tiny bites from traditional dishes from the area. The second will definitely be their Bisteca a la Fiorentina, one of the most tender piece of steak you can ever taste, it even made my vegetarian friend taste it, and he loved it too.
So, next time you are in Tuscany, get a map or a personal driver, and tell them to take you to this place, I rest assure your trip to Italy will be more than paid for on this visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“My best meal in Tuscany so far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We loved this place. Not only the restaurant itself is a special place, but the food was fantastic, the service was professional but friendly and the value for money is good (compared to other place in the region).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Paese dei Campanelli also viewed

Barberino Val d'Elsa, Province of Florence
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Province of Florence
 
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Province of Florence
Barberino Val d'Elsa, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Paese dei Campanelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Paese dei Campanelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.