We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan Cooking Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Castello della Paneretta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Agriturismo Castello della Paneretta to your Saves list
Agriturismo Castello della Paneretta
Via Paneretta, 19, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tuscan Cooking Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I just spent 4 fantastic hours in the kitchen with Patrizia and Massimo making ravioli / pesto / biscotti to name just a few items. Massimo who makes his own pancetta and capicola started us out by preparing a slow braise of beef for us to enjoy with lunch. We not only hands on participated in making everything we also learned about the culture. We wrapped our day by sitting down at their table and ate all we prepared along with some fine wine also made by them. This was a terrific authentic experience in the tranquility of the Tuscan Hills

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    21
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
75
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Can we only give 5 stars? - TripAdvisor needs a new EXCEPTIONAL CATEGORY..!!
(First posted October 2012 as a restaurant-cooking class review - we still miss them)

We were NOT looking for the concierge, swimming pool and big screen TV for our recent Tuscany vacation but wanted the true Agriturismo Experience and Agriturismo Castello Della Paneretta with Patrizia and Massimo was the REAL DEAL..!!!

We had a beautiful, modern 1 bedroom apartment that looked down into valleys of olive groves and vineyards on all sides (see the picture attached out our bathroom window).

And the food, OH the food, amazing freshly prepared and shared with great love and attention (even accommodating personal dietary needs). Every dinner was a great adventure and breakfasts were plentiful with fresh preserves, breads, cereals etc.

We can't say enough about taking their Tuscan cooking class as well. Making your own homemade ravioli with fresh spinach and ricotta with a walnut cream sauce ( the eggs came in fresh from the back door) as well as our own almond biscotti... Together with a little wine and lots of laughter.!! Actually to call it a cooking class doesn't explain it fully, it was also as much about ltalian family, culture and lifestyle as well..!!

After our 8 days, we hated to say goodbye, even to carry on to the amazing Amalfi Coast. We knew that we would have trouble finding meals to rival Patrizia and Massimo's...!!!

Patrizia and Massimo do not rent rooms, you become their family, share stories over wine and some of the most extraordinary meals you will ever have, and you try to take away a little bit of that home to share with others in your own home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Wonderful and Beautiful place to stay, loved sitting on the patio sipping wine looking out over the vineyards. The hosts Massimo and Patrizia are AMAZING and go out of their way to ensure you have a great stay. The food is superb and the apartment is lovely and beautifully decorated and just feels really good...Very clean. This is a place you can really connect with nature and immerse in the Italian-Tuscany culture. The food from Massimo's kitchen was as good as my Italian mothers cooking...even better because the ingredients are so pure and organic. We learned so much about Italy and history that it was a great educational experience also, Patrizia was able to teach us/answer any questions we had and she really knows her history. Would HIGHLY recommend to let your spirit soar. The hosts are unique and really special something you will recognize immediately so welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This one of my best experience in all my travels. Massimo and Patrizia were wonderful. Loved the food we cooked, learned so much about how our enviroment influences when and how we should eat. It was a not just a cooking lesson but full of life lessons! It has changed the way we will eat forever! Loved the rustic farmhouse experience. We will be back for sure!!! Thank you for giving us such a wonderful experience that we will never forget!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I choose to stay at Paneretta because of the location amidst the vineyards, close to Florence, and the cooking classes offered. It turned out to be the right place for us to stay! We were welcomed by the owners Patrizia and Massimo and really felt relaxed right away. The cooking class was terrific; we not only learned how to cook traditional Tuscany food but also got to know the background of Italian style cooking. A real must! And only fresh organic products are being used, a great experience.
We rented an apartment which was located about 300 m from the main house. The views were amazing from every room - even from the bathroom! As other reviewers mentioned, the accommodation is quite old and the kitchen could use some new utensils. However, for us that was not a big issue since it was all part of the experience. After all, it is a real traditional farmhouse. Our place was clean and we didn't see much dust or anything. When we arrived, we did open the windows for a while since it smelled a bit musty. We really enjoyed waking up with the sound of birds and beautiful view. There is no wifi, tv or radio so we were 'forced' to "unplug ourselves" and go back to basic. I would love to stay there again and unwind!

The location is quite easy to find, although our navigation system could not recognise exact the address. The map on the website might seem confusing but it actually helped us getting there. Right before arriving at the agriturismo you'll pass another place called Castello della Paneretta. This however is NOT an agriturismo but only a vineyard offering wine tastings. Continue on the same road for about 1 km and you'll find it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The terrific reviews that you read about Patrizia and Massimo's cooking lessons at Castello Della Paneretta are so true but the experience itself has to be lived to be believed. We drove to this rustic farmhouse from our villa in San Quirico with high expectations and we were not disappointed. Our hosts immediately engaged with our 10 year old daughter as well as ourselves and Wade and Christine who were also visiting that day from Washington DC. Patrizia spent a few moments explaining her philosophy of cooking as the centre of family life in the home, using local produce that was in season at the time. It wasn't long before we all hit the kitchen and were up to our elbows in flour, eggs, potato and, of course, wine! The experience was so educational and fun and the quality of the food itself was spectacular. For a family on holiday, I would also add that it was really good value. We would highly recommend it and can see ourselves returning to Castello Della Paneretta. A big thank you to Patrizia and Massimo! Mark, Sue and Georgia from Sydney, Australia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent 4 nights at agriturismo castello della paneretta and it was the highlight of our 3 wk trip to Italy! Patrizia, Massimo and Franscesca welcomed us into their home for a wonderful cooking class one night as well as several other nights for dinner - we kept coming back because we liked it so much! If you want fresh local food and company this was a fantastic experience. Especially the cooking course - we made pesto, gnocchi, bruschetta, rabbit and yummy tiramisu! Patrizia also emphasised the importance of fresh ingredients and eating what is available in your environment and according to season. We'd go back again tomorrow if we could and have already recommended it to others coming to Italy!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Castello della Paneretta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Castello della Paneretta

Address: Via Paneretta, 19, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The holiday farm is a part of old time Tuscany still unspoilt and rich in tradition, which is known as the Chianti Classico region. It is immersed among vineyards and olive-trees, medieval towns and art cities like Florence, Siena, San Gimignano. In the evening you can dine at a hospitable typical Tuscan restaurant, where you can taste the produce of the farm sitting at a long table in an atmosphere of friendly conviviality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Castello Della Paneretta Hotel Barberino Val d`Elsa
Agriturismo Castello Della Paneretta Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Castello della Paneretta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.