We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Battigia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Battigia to your Saves list
Hotel La Battigia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungomare La Battigia | Alcamo Marina, 91011 Alcamo, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alcamo
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Italian heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This Hotel was pure heaven. The rooms are clean, the large double beds particularly comfortable and the staff friendly. The close proximity of the beach and lovely clean pool makes it very special. My only criticism would be the showers in the rooms which didn't seem to have any water pressure but a small price to pay for an otherwise perfect stay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best as more airy if you prefer no air con and brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    92
    41
    19
    12
See reviews for
67
118
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I booked a two room adjoining suite with double beds because I was traveling with friends. We are all adults who fully expected two regular adjoining hotel rooms. What we got was ONE room with an adjoining door to a room which led to the bathroom in which they had placed a single bed. So the unfortunate person (me) who got the single bed had no privacy and interrupted sleep due to the other people in the party going to the bathroom during the night. There were no outlets so I had to use the bathroom outlet to charge my iPad and laptop and no lighting except for the sconce on the wall near the entrance to the room. I went to reception and told them this was unacceptable and that I would not pay for the room until this was resolved. The next day I was given a separate room (for 2 nights and was told on the 3rd night I would have to go back to the original room). I informed the hotel that I would be checking out the third night, which I did. Other reviewers have said the rooms are clean but I did not find that to be the case. There was old mold in the grouting in the shower and sand on the floor from previous guests. The sand wasn't from me because I didn't go to the beach. The second night in the new room I spotted (to my horror) what was either a big cockroach or beetle crawling across my pillow, there was plaster coming off the wall in the hall and the food in the restaurant is over seasoned and practically inedible. This hotel rates itself as a 4* hotel ... it is 3* at best. I booked this hotel based on reviews on TripAdvisor and I noticed a TripAdvisor plaque on the window. After this experience I wonder just how discriminating TripAdvisor is in awarding these plaques and I wonder about the reliability of the other reviews.

Room Tip: If you want a good room don't stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labattigia, Direttore at Hotel La Battigia, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Mrs CBeach,
We always read all reviews of our guests and we always try to do all possible to make more agreeable than we can their stay here. For this reason since the first time you wrote to us we’ve explained to you exactly how the room is composed and we’ve informed you also about the surface of it. On our website there’s the photogallery of our Hotel and a virtual tour by that people can enter in our rooms.
When you came in, you were disappointed about the room so we proposed to you a solution that you agreed.
In your first room you had two outlets in the area where you slept. It was not necessary to charge your laptop or Ipad in the bathroom.
It is strange that you didn’t say to us anything about “a big cockroach or beetle crawling across your pillow” … or “not yours” sand on the ground of your room. You were so precise during your stay telling us what you weren’t enjoying in our Hotel. Just to precise, we have no problem with plaster coming out from the wall of our hall. Another thing so strange that we would ask you is: you say that our food in the restaurant is "over seasoned and practically inedible. If so, why did you eat here every night “à la carte”?
Usually we receive good feedbacks for our restaurant and cleaning service as you can see in other reviews published on Tripadvisor and other opinion websites.
We know also that it is impossible to satisfy all people. Nothing and noone is perfect.
We respect all reviews and we are very sorry to receive bad feedback by our guests over all when it is tendentious and detrimental for our image and our job taht we make with attention and devotion.
Thanking you for your feedback,
Regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Looking for a place to stay near Palermo ?. Then you are right here in Hotel La Battigia. The Hotel is nice, clean and has a wonderful pool and beach area. I you can choose a room, so take one overlooking on the seaside. The ones on the "street side" may be a bit loud.
The staff is just gorgeous! Always friendly and very helpful with anything you need. The food tastes fantastic and I can't wait to go back next year to this lovely place.
Thanks’ to the whole team that you made our stay so memorable!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay outside of Palermo and found this hotel because it had free parking.
We stayed there 3 nights on April 2013.
The hotel is very nice, very clean, bright a large room with a bakcony over looking the beach and the see.

The stuff is very welcoming and eager to help you with what ever you need and also advices for trips around.
the breakfast is OK, regular , nothing much to say.
it's perfect hotel for a vacation near the beach but if you want to tour around like we did, then I would choose a better location, closer to Palermo.
There is nothing near the hotel, no restaurants or shops

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caspar, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The staff greeted us like lost family, showed us a beautiful room, and we felt great. Dinner was good -- not great -- but we didn't have to leave the hotel. Walking on the endless beach was lovely. I imagine in season -- we were there in October, 2011 (but TripAdvisor won't let me review so long ago) and had the beach to ourselves. Very easy access to the airport from here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Clean rooms, nice pool and restaurant. You need a car as there isn't much around here. We stayed for one night on our way back to the airport. The beach here is attractive and large - you can walk a long way in either direction and it was quite quiet at the end of September. A small hotel with good service.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the sea. The road-side rooms are darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Staying at La Battigia was a wonderful experience,although arriving at the end of January to plummiting temperatures, high north winds and very rough seas our welcome to the hotel was as warm as a summer's day.Great staff, a great room (sea view at extra cost but worth it) and excellent food.In the restaurant Francesco and Salvatore went out of their way to be helpful.
Location wise, it is close to many pretty places and towns ( a hire car is necessary) .Maybe a trip should be planned in warmer weather, but we felt that the part of the island we managed to see,was an exclusive for us,as very few visitors were around.

Room Tip: There is no lift,but only one flight of stairs.The sea view rooms are at an added cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Battigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Battigia

Address: Lungomare La Battigia | Alcamo Marina, 91011 Alcamo, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Alcamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alcamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Battigia 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Battigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Battigia Alcamo, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Battigia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.