We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous design, wonderful views, but lack of hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Talia

Save Saved
You added Casa Talia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Talia
Via Exaudinos, 1/9, 97015 Modica, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 44 Modica B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Gorgeous design, wonderful views, but lack of hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Finding Casa Talia is the first challenge. Most Sat Navs will send you to the wrong place and Marco (the owner) needs to find you somewhere in Modica. It is hard to understand why directions are so vague on the website.

Once this first challenge was mastered, we were shown our beautiful room (Mediterraneo) with ensuite bathroom. The architecture and design of Casa Talia is extraordinarily beautiful. Modern, but also traditional. It is no surprise that Marco and his wife are architects and have an excellent eye for the restoration of these old houses. In addition to the beautiful rooms that are each different and have all some outside space, the view from Casa Talia over Modica is truly spectacular. The rooms are comfortable with a minibar, but be prepared for a very hard mattress. We really loved our room though.

Breakfast is in the garden of the owner's house. Opening times are strict and whilst the breakfast is beautifully served, it is at times less than generous. Overall, we felt not very welcome by the hosts and their staff. And herein lies the problem-we felt that the owners don't really enjoy interacting with the guest. There are no recommendations for day trips, beaches, restaurants etc. in the room. Marco is helpful when asked, but never offers more than the answer to a specific question. This is unfortunate, as Casa Talia could otherwise be truly spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    16
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
58
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Londo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Heavenly! Couples only retreat, where the view from your balcony is of the graying rooftops of sweet Modica. Breakfasts in the garden, followed by a short walk downhill to corso umberto, and we instantly relaxed into daily Sicilian life. The only sadness is seeing so many of Modicas beautiful palazzos and homes bordered up. But, it is a heavenly city and well worth two or three nights at least. Make sure you try the amazing food at Torre d'orientale before you leave.

Room Tip: Honeymooners yes, families no
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We simply loved Casa Talia. Its perched position with sweeping views of surrounding Modica and its beautiful design ensure it is a very special place indeed. Our room backed onto a shared, prettily tiled terrace bathed in sun from morning to late afternoon. There's also a shaded communal garden to retreat to when the sun gets a little too hot. Parking was not a problem at all (ok a little walk but easy enough) and Casa Talia is clearly signposted. Marco's English is also very good!

I found the place thoughtfully designed yet homely, a wonderful mix of old and new design. We loved the exposed beams, colourful yellow and green tiled floor, spacious shower and stone walls. The design and care taken with Casa Talia mean it is quite unlike the other places we stayed in Sicily-this makes sense when you learn that Marco the owner and his wife are both architects, originally from Milan. There are rows of design magazines which Casa Talia has featured in and it's not difficult to see why.

We only stayed for one night but my lasting memory will be of a pistacchio muffin enjoyed outside surrounded by stunning views and the sweet smell of honeysuckle.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

First we had to ring Marco as we got completely lost in Modica. As we found it, we came across him looking for us. He and his wife are very welcoming and friendly. The B & B is lovely. We had the most amazing view from our room and a private terrace. The breakfasts were good and served in a lovely garden.
It is worth the effort to find it and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Wonderful B&B in a wonderful location overlooking Modica.

Pros
Location
Views
Breakfast
Walking distance to town via lots of steps
Ambience
Green gardens chairs and general air of relaxation

Cons
Only really the difficulty finding it. Do not believe your GPS...it tries to send you down narrow alley ways with steps! It would be helpful if Marco gave clearer instructions or perhaps directed you to a neighboring street. Other than this minor hair raising experience everything else was wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Marco welcomed us and combines cool and congenial. The rooms are all different and are basic in a charming way - ours was effectively a converted cave and was well furnished and a unique place to sleep (in a good way). Breakfasts were superb and so were Marco's recommendations on restaurants, beaches and everything else. An unusual place to stay in a great town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Casa Talia is probably one of the most beautiful B&Bs in Sicily and probably Italy. With an unparalleled view over town of Modica and a sublime interior design of the rooms, gardens and communal spaces.
Meanwhile there are a couple of things I'd like to see improved. While I don't really care too much about warm welcome I must notice the attitude of the stuff is pretty reserved (it is good to know almost no one speaks English at all and you can hardly see anyone except breakfast time). The biggest problem for us was the way to arrive by car. I do understand B&B is not accessible by car but we received very little help from the hosts when we got lost in the small streets not more then 50 meters away from the B&B. The owner gave us direction in poor english on the phone instead of picking us up in like 2 minutes. We did get an room upgrade but it's those small things that make the difference. The parking is approximately 5 minutes away from B&B but on your way back it is quite a few steps uphill. Unfortunately they didn't offer us to help us with the luggage so we had to drag it all the way back (and again got lost). It just didn't match with the quality of the space itself.
Again the location is sublime and just insist to have a proper checkin/checkout tretament

Room Tip: We were in Scirocco room which is amazing, but I see some people complained about sound proof rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Talia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Talia

Address: Via Exaudinos, 1/9, 97015 Modica, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Casa Talia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Talia Hotel Modica
Casa Talia Modica, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Talia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.