We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of la bottega italian gourmet

la bottega italian gourmet
via castello 1, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 134 Restaurants in Modica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: panineria aperitivi
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

excellent antipasta and pannini....sat outside and enjoyed the location and food...service was excellent...tried to go back in the evening but was jammed full of locals....and unfortunately tried again and was closed until 6pm there around 4pm ducking in for a sneaky vino de casa and another pannini

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Excellent burger and steak, mushroom & smoked mozzarella panini washed down with a couple of beers - perfect. Friendly service. Please open in Basel!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited on the strength of the trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. A huge menu with pretty much every panini and filling you can think off, catering for vegetarians and carnivores alike. The menu has English translations for non italian speakers, so it's easy to get exactly what you want
The quality of the paninis is excellent, my wife had a vegetarian option, I stuck to meat - both were superb and very filling!
The value is very good, with both paninis and a drink each coming to 13 euros
We will definitely return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible value sandwich”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Over priced small sandwich. Better off going to the deli nearby. I live in Sicily and this is the worst panini I've had. Might be ok for NYC but we can do better than that here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The real flavours of Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

The most delicious panini I've ever had the pleasure of eating. We went for lunch and plan on going again before we leave. Try the panini with chicken, mozzarella, hot peppers, spicy red mayo and sun dried tomatoes. Life will not be the same again. It was incredible and you'll wonder how you're going to be able to live without it when you return back home. It was actually the best food we've had in Modica and even Sicily. A must.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la bottega italian gourmet also viewed

Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to la bottega italian gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage la bottega italian gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.