We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Modicarte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Modicarte to your Saves list
Modicarte
1.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Via Consorziale Creta Violicci 20, 97015 Modica, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 49 Modica B&B and Inns
South London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were at Modicarte with Tricia H, so all I have to do is endorse her complimentary review. Maurizio was friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were delicious with home made bread and cakes, and the room was warm and comfortable - pity about the weather, but we ate well, thanks to Maurizio's birthday dinner and his recommended restaurants in Modica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We received a warm welcome from Maurizio when we found the B&B, having bumped into one of his friends who kindly drove ahead of us to show us the way. The rooms were very good and so were the breakfasts. Maurizio made dinner for us one evening so we could celebrate my partner's birthday and he made a birthday cake with an everlasting candle! He provided the wine and also his father's homemade lemon liqueur which was delicious. We were there in cold windy weather for 3 nights but the rooms were perfectly warm enough even in March. Our only slight complaint was that the rooms could have been cleaner. Maurizio gave us advice about the places to visit and good recommendations about where to eat the other evenings in Modica. His sister sold us some of her pottery that she makes on site and she even gave us a small pot as a present.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I did the half day cooking course with Maurizio in September 2012. We are so happy we went. Maurizio and his family were lovely, very welcoming. The cooking class is located in Maurizio's home, which has great views over the countryside. The kitchen is a professional one, with good quality equipment.

Maurizio and his family walk you through the ways of cooking different typical Sicilian dishes. We got our hands dirty rolling bread, making seafood ravioli, beautiful arancini balls, baked octopus and delicious pastries.

The value is excellent, 60 euros each for the lessons, the food, and wine.

Just one thing about the location, our GPS could not locate the road where Maurizio's house is located. However, google maps has the business listed.

Overall, an excellent experience. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband and I had an amazing stay at Modicarte where everything and everyone was beyond our expectations. We have been in many beautiful locations and taken many cooking classes in the world but none surpass the experience we had with Maurizio and his parents! You cannot go to Sicily without staying at Modicarte!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had lovely stay in Modicarte. The room was very clean and view from terrace was just beautiful. Maurizio and Mum Maria both are wonderful cook. Their Sicilian cooking lesson was the best cooking lesson I have ever had in my life. It was great fun and of course very tasty. Strongly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had read reviews about modicarte on Tripadvisor and was tempted to learn more about Sicilian cuisine. The reviews can be relied on. I contacted Maurizio who, from then on was extremely helpful and charming.
The course takes place in the kitchen of the hotel, in a rural and gorgeous part of Modica. All the family was involved and we felt really welcome. Maurizio speaks perfect English, French, and Spanish. His parents don't, but it didn't stop us communicating.
The dishes were delicious and we picked up quite a few skills as well. The key to Italian cooking is the freshness of the ingredients. We therefore had to wait for Maurizio's dad to come back from the market to know what we would cook. The whole experience was very exciting and we will remember it!
I recommend Modicarte cooking course to anyone travelling in the area.

Room Tip: Do ask Maurizio for directions as most GPS won't find the location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our stay at Modicarte was our favourite during our trip to Sicily. The thing that made it special was the family who run the property - everyone is very friendly and welcoming and very professional at the same time - and the fact that Modicarte choose to use only organic and home-grown products in their cooking. We had some pretty terrific meals in Sicily but our favourite was the one prepared by Maurizio which we ate on the terrace while looking out on Modica by night. We also fell in love with Rocco! We are talking about coming back and maybe exploring further the Southern part of Sicily around Modica when it is less hot. Hopefully, Modicarte will have space for us!

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Modicarte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Modicarte

Address: Via Consorziale Creta Violicci 20, 97015 Modica, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Modicarte 1*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Modicarte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modicarte Modica, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Modicarte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.