We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Modican Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Case dello Zodiaco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Case dello Zodiaco to your Saves list
Le Case dello Zodiaco
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Corso Santa Teresa, 89, 97015 Modica, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Modica
Certificate of Excellence 2014
MALTA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Modican Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just returned back from Modica following a short family break at Le Case Dello Zodiaco. If you are visiting Modica to experience its narrow allies, the Sicilian way of life and most importantly the Baroque architecture then Le Case dello Zodiaco is the place to be. Our "home" was Ariete No 13 offering two double bedrooms in the first floor, and a fully equipped kitchenette, and cosy living and dining area on the ground floor. The property also offers two bathrooms.

From the time of booking to our actual departure, our hosts Veronica and Manuela, took great care and assisted us all the way. They arranged for us the taxi transfers from Pozzallo and also gave us dining hints. The welcome drink on the first day at the Ara' Concept store reflects the level of hospitality you will experience during your stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    27
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at Le Case Dello Zodiaco after arriving from Malta on the ferry on April 3, 2013. We chose it based on the reviews of Tripadvisor and because we were able to book a two bedroom appartment, with one room for our daughter and husband, and one for ourselves. We had a rather rough start on arriving in Modica. The Case della Zodiaco is in the very old (also quaint and charming) part of town on the side of a steep hill. The streets are very narrow and seemed very busy with traffic. As I normally drive a car with automatic transmission and the rental was manual, I found the driving a challenge. Our GPS was not helping the situation, as it wanted us to turn off the road down a series of steps.
However once we temporarily abandoned the car and located Claudia (or more like she located us, as one of her neighbours told her we had arrived), everything was fine. She helped us find a parking spot down the street from the appartment and provided us with a wealth of information on the surrounding area.
We rented the Aries appartment which was perfect for our needs. There were two bedrooms upstairs and a kitchen and living room downstairs. By the time we had settled in, the local restaurants had closed, so we were able able to enjoy the kitchen/sitting area with some pizza we purchased down the street and some local excellent Sicilian wine. The beds were probably the most comfortable of any we found in Italy. We found the beds to be typically quite hard in Italy, but the ones at Case dello Zodiaco are great. The next morning we had a very tasty continental breakfast arranged by Claudia at a local coffee shop.
The appartments are beautifully furnished and each one is unique. They are in separate buildings within a few blocks of each other and Claudia's home base.
Claudia is an excellent ambassador for the area and for Sicily. She seems to genuinely enjoy telling her guests about the town and the area. Her advice was very helpful. She also took us on a short walking tour of this part of the old town, with some stops at her other rooms. She has really done a fine job of developing these properties and several more are in the process of being converted to torist accomodations.
Another nice touch is the Modica chocolate she gave to each of us the flavour of which was based on our Zodiac sign.
We would highly recommend this place especially if you are prepared for a little adventurous driving.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We discovered Modica by chance - or maybe it was destiny. Travelling in Sicily for two weeks, our stop after Catania was supposed to be Ragusa. We arrived in Ragusa, on a Sunday afternoon, only to be informed by our taxi driver that the accommodation that we had booked was in Modica, in the Province of Ragusa (not the town of Ragusa!) about thirty minutes away!

Travel weary and disappointed that I could make such a mistake (when I am a seasoned traveller) when we arrived, our hostess Claudia was amazing, immediately reassuring me that we would enjoy Modica, as it is a town more beautiful than Ragusa! Claudia welcomed us into her home with Riccardo, for a refreshing glass of latte di mandorla, a drink that I will not forget, recommended local restaurants and accompanied us to the doctor's surgery when Toby was unwell. A one night stay turned into three nights.

A highlight of my stay in Sicily was a day I spent with Claudia - touring two of the most beautiful churches in Modica, the panoramic views of the city (including the two main roads were paved as a result of the tsunami that passed through the town in 1905!) and an artisan chocolate and biscuit company where I learned about traditional biscuit baking (and sampled them with a delightful coffee of course!)

The houses, each with a zodiac theme are charming and beautifully furnished, including a self contained kitchen, excellent air conditioning and Sicilian literature to read. You will learn the story about the Aztec origin of chocolate in Europe and taste chocolate designed by Claudia! Claudia speaks French, English and Italian. Thank you to Claudia and Riccardo for making our experience incredible!

I can't wait for the day that we return to Case dello Zodiaco in Modica!

Room Tip: Email Claudia and she will ensure that your stay is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a fabulous time in Modica with hostess Claudia's guidance. She, Riccardo, Rosa and Toto went out of their way to accommodate our at-times demanding needs, including taxi-ing us around the countryside and organising little extras for us. With our own town-house it was easy to come and go, and was in a lovely part of town making walking around and exploring easy. I would highly recommend these town-houses and taking Claudia up on her offer to visit the chocolate factory where she has her own chocolate line! Thank you Claudia for making our Modican experience so much more special!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I loved our stay at Le Case dello Zodiaco. The apartments were gorgeous and each one were so unique and tastefully designed. The location was perfect, so close to shops, cafes, good sicillian restaurants, beautiful stunning churches & views of Modica. Our hostess Claudia and her partner Riccardo, Rosa & Toto were so helpful, accommodating & knowledgeable. They treated us like family from cheerfully greeting us when we arrived in Modica very late at night (10.30pm) to helping us catch an early flight at the end of our vacation which required leaving at 4am (thanks Riccardo). This kindness is something that only family members and good friends would do.

During our stay Claudia went out of her way to make us feel welcomed and showed us all the best places to eat and see in Modica and surrounds. A very memorable day was when she took us to her fabulous chocolate laboratory and gave us an interactive tour of the process of making Modican chocolate (included lots of taste testing too)....The next day she suprised us at the apartment by hand delivering different flavoured Modican chocolates to us according to our zodiac signs. It twas such a sweet and lovely gesture.

The modican people were so friendly and nice. Although I only knew 2 words of italian when I arrived "ciao and buon giorno" , I had no troubles at all getting around as the italian speaking locals were so patient, lovely and helpful. After only one week of vacation in Modica I left being able to speak very simple italian sentences & knew probably 60 new words :) I left feeling that I really had a traditional sicilian experience. Modica was so rustic and not over-commericalized like some other parts of italy. We were really lucky to have had experience. We met other travellers who came back again to visit because they just loved the people, place and food...

The food here in Modica was so authentic, affordable and delicious +++ And the gelati was to die for... The girls and I ended up having 1-2 gelati each per day!!

I would gladly go back to stay at Le Case dello Zodiaco for my upcoming honey moon as it is not only great for families, trips with groups of friends but also such a romantic setting and great escape from the busy city life. Thank you Modican's, Claudia and team for making this vacation so truly memorable for my girlfriends and I during our stay.

Room Tip: Email Claudia. She knows everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbania, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The advises from the owners are really helpful and let us taste the great local meals.
The apartment has all the needed facilities to allow a pleasant stay without looking every night for restaurants
The central position makes it easy to visit the city without cars or public transportation

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great accommodation, excellent host, good location. The apartments are wonderful and the hostess, Claudia is fantastic and so accommodating. The location of the accommodation in the beautiful cobble stone streets of Modica was beautiful and we loved it! It was also a great base to explore the surrounding towns and close to some very good restaurants. A special place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Case dello Zodiaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Case dello Zodiaco

Address: Corso Santa Teresa, 89, 97015 Modica, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Case dello Zodiaco 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming houses dating back to the 18th century are serviced with all comforts(air conditioner, Lcd Tv in the bedroom and living room,free internet service, safe, showers with rain shower heads)and are comprised of 1 bedroom,1 bathroom, a living room with a sofa bed for 2 people, a well- equipped kitchen, a library with Sicilian classics in 4 languages.We also have a car park at a daily cost of €5,00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Le Case dello Zodiaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Case Dello Zodiaco Modica, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Case dello Zodiaco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.