We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Contea

La Contea
Via Grimaldi, 15, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 144 Restaurants in Modica
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredible Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Dinner at La Contea the night before Easter was a great experience. Full of locals, families and a few tourists we had some of the best pizza ever. Incredible dough and a huge selection of fresh toppings. An attentive waiter who spoke English was definetly an asset. To be recommended!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    123
    33
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An excellent Pizza in the old city of Modica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is a place where some tourists will mix with many local sicilians. The Pizza is prepared by a friendly team.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“a great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We dined at this restaurant on our last night in Modica. We wish we had found it sooner.

The menu was very reasonably priced & the meals on offer were just lovely.

The service offered by the waiter was first class. He was very nice & genuinely interested in making our meal a pleasant experience providing top notch service.

This restaurant has great casual atmosphere and is located in a small outdoor lane way so it could be easily missed, we are so glad that we found it :)

5 stars

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Delicious pizza and fabulous service. A very warm, festive, relaxed atmosphere. We also had a delicious salad and lovely bottles of wine. And the prices were very reasonable. We had such a good time, we returned the next night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Duns
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“As Good as Pizza Gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Arrived in Catania at 18.40, drove to Modica and went for dinner at 10pm. It was wonderful, the service just first rate and the pizza with sausage, ricotta and truffle oil was unbelievable; plus a salad and all washed down with a lovely bottle of Grillo. And very inexpensive. Do not miss it if you visit Modica.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Contea also viewed

Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
Modica, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to La Contea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Contea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.