We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Il Cavaliere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Il Cavaliere to your Saves list
Palazzo Il Cavaliere
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   c/so Umberto no 259, 97015 Modica, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 50 Modica B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“what a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

everything and more...booked online and was unsure as what to expect stayed in room 7 which is the converted vaulted cellars with a small terrace at the front.....plenty of room and excellent facility with towels changed daily and a comfortable bed!!! Chocolates on the pillow and the breakfast was great with local pastries, fresh coffee, and blood orange juice in luxuriant surroundings of a fantastic view and fantastic room....the hosts especially Sara were more that helpful and on our last day gave the use of a room as our flights were not until 8pm....a home from home!! and Modica has all the charm of Sicily with beautiful churches, palazzo winding streets noble winning poets!! who needs to go beyond! spent 3 days there and watched Italy go by

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    39
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
132
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The B&B is actually an old mansion, operated by the family of the same name -- as such it is wonderfully atmospheric, at once grand and intimate (you are literally in someone's home). The bathroom was modern and the room was large, with old furniture in superb condition: just the way we like it! To top it all, our room window had glorious views of the Duomo. Finally, I can't say enough about how helpful our hosts were, above and beyond the call of duty (when we were in a jam and needed to catch a bus to our next destination, we were even dropped to the bus stop in the family car). The location is also central, with many of the main sites and shopping areas within walking distance (the Duomo is itself is about a 20 minute "climb" through the heights of Modica's upper town). All in all, I would definitely recommend this B&B.

The only downside: The WiFi worked fine in our room, because it was near the router; but my understanding is that in general, WiFi reception is only available in the hotel's common areas.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our third stop on our trip to south-east Sicily was Modica but only after we had been to Ragusa. If you are around, you must visit Ragusa. Start your trip at Ragusa Alta then walk the road downwards to Ragusa Ibla. This for sure is a very scenic stroll to one of the most beautiful old villages of south-east Sicily. Make sure to spend at least half a day in this lovely village; it is definitely worth it. Spectacular views and a some very nice piazzas and of course not to forget the Duomo San Giorgio.

The Bed & Breakfast has been for ages within the family. The palazzo has a nice and big entrance and has been restored very well. The rooms are nicely furnished and kept in the original style as much as possible. The owners are very proud of their property and they really make their guests feel at ease.
The breakfast is very tasteful with lots of fresh products and some home baked pies. The breakfast room breathes history as you can tell from various pictures of old family members. The view from the breakfast room is really stunning. You see the Duomo San Giorgio in full glory. Apparently San Giorgio has been a real saint since one can find a church or Duomo named after him in a lot of towns in this part of Sicily. So remember going there after breakfast, it is definitely worth the climb.

Room Tip: Beautiful palazzo; you have to feel the atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The personal greeting was warm and welcoming. Recommended by Rough Guide and TripAdvisor. Central location and beautifully situated in the centre of Modica, a lovely little town. It had all the romance and atmosphere of a baroque town. The family was very charming and helpful. Not too far from Siracusa and Noto, but a preferable place to stay than either, because of it's intimacy, friendliness and easy access to great restaurants and bars. As vegetarians we were really happily surprised. Price was very reasonable too.

Couldn't recommend it more.

Room Tip: Rooms facing internal courtyard probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We discovered this lovely family run B&B which was a big surprise . Tired After a long day trip coming to this hotel is like coming home . Very welcoming hosts Sarah speaks English which makes it easy to relate . Centrally located has the best eating joints a few metres away . QuAint bars , historical churches , the famous chocolate shops are just round the corner . Coming to Sicily!! One can easily spend 2 days exploring this city and enjoy their stay at Pallazzo de Cavalliere

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

And indeed thé family are charming, but do not count on modern facilities. The showerhead in my room badly needed to be replaced; the room was very dark and had no eternal window. (Room 2.) The wifi did not work, although there is access to a computer. Afraid I'd not choose this palazzo again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Welcome to history. Our host family has lived in this building for at least three generations. Great hosts! Great location in lower Modica. I am so glad we stayed in lower instead of upper Modica. We had simply fantastic view from the master suite. See my photo and also the photo of the fresco style ceilings in our room. There are others throughout the building. Great value. Consider yourself lucky if you end up here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Il Cavaliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Il Cavaliere

Address: c/so Umberto no 259, 97015 Modica, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palazzo Il Cavaliere 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Palazzo Il Cavaliere is housed in a recently refurbished 18th-century building, located in the very centre of Modica, right in front of the Cathedral. It features elegant rooms, furnished with antique Sicilian furniture.The comfortable rooms offer free wired internet, air conditioning, and a private bathroom with shower. Some have views of the Cathedral.Breakfast is served daily in the elegant common living room which boasts frescoed ceilings, has free Wi-Fi, and overlooks Saint George’s Cathedral. Selected restaurants in town offer discounted rates to guests of Palazzo Il Cavaliere B&B De Charme.The bus to the airport and the surrounding cities stops 100 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Il Cavaliere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Il Cavaliere Modica, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Il Cavaliere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.