We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sicillian hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nacalino Agriturismo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Modica
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nacalino Agriturismo
Save
You added Nacalino Agriturismo to your Saves list
Contrada Nacalino, Modica, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 49 Modica B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Sicillian hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Naccalino early in April for 2 nights. It was our first experience with Agriturismo's in Italy and we definltely weren't disappointed! Our hostess, Tina prepared two amazing meals for us along with the other guests. The choice was amazing and the meal size VERY generous. She discussed animatedly with me about local foods, and was happy to give advice re things to do and see in the area.
Accommodation was fine, bathroom adequate.
The only downside was trying to find it. If you don't find the correct road it can be quite tricky. But don't let this put you off. Tina came to our rescue in the endby meeting us at a the closest Agip. GPS didn't work and we had no 3 G cover.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    24
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
55
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed only one night, and would have enjoyed staying much longer. We got lost finding it (at night), but our host came to rescue us and show us the way. The breakfast was the best we had in all of Sicily, with many local items and lots of selection. We very much enjoyed touring the farm in the morning and seeing the ongoing architectural restorations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed for a week at Valle dell'Acanto, complex located in a remote and extremely quite little valley in Modica's countryside, not far from the actual agriturismo where the owners live.
You need a car to reach it. It is not signposted and you need to take a dirt road for 200m, so you may want to agree with the owner for a rendezvous at their agriturismo or at the nearby petrol station. Anyway, in case you wonder, the correct GPS coordinates of the complex are:

+36° 48' 7.63", +14° 50' 9.84"

We took the smallest kitchen-equipped apartment since we were just in 2 people. Everything was new and extremely clean, with towels and all; the bed was comfortable. The pool is awesome and it is very clean too. The complex has been recently renewed but it truly retains the simple character of the original "borgo" (I think one building was even a little church!) and we really enjoyed when the darkness came, and all the surroundings became silent and totally silent. Atmosphere was really special at that time.

Even though the complex is in the middle of the countryside, it allows you to easily get to a lot of places. In 30 minutes you can reach any of the nice beaches between Sampieri and Santa Maria del Focallo, and in an hour you can reach the wonderful Vendicari reserve. All the baroque cities are nearby: Modica, Ispica, Scicli, Noto, Ragusa, Comiso. Syracuse makes for a good day trip. Good restaurants are easy to find in the area, but you should try dinner at the agriturismo: it's totally worth it.

There is a shopping mall nearby called "La Fortezza", on the way to Modica. It has a supermarket, but we were not impressed by the quality of bread, fruits and vegetables. Small shops in Modica are better for that.

The only drawbacks we found is that the kitchen was not extremely equipped: plenty of glasses, but only a couple of small pots. Still sufficient for cooking some simple dishes, but not for 2 course meals. Additionally, we counted some 15 apartments in the complex. At a certain point 5/6 were occupied and it seemed already stretched. What I mean is that if all 15 were occupied, the quite little valley wouldn't have been so quite anymore, and you might find yourselves fighting for the pool... even though these are only suppositions, I think we'll come back, but maybe not in August (the high season in Italy).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Valle Dell'Acanto which is a separate site to Nacalino Agriturismo. Valle Dell'Acanto is set in an incredibly peaceful setting and appeared to be entirely self-catering. However, it is two mins drive from the most enormous Cash and Carry and local Trattoria. This cottages and grounds of this property are extremely well maintained. The pool was superb. The accommodation is very clean, well appointed (lots of towels), comfortable beds, good size bathrooms and has air con. We visited the Nacalino Agriturismo site and bought sun dried tomatoes, olive oil and other home produce from the farm.
I don't speak much Italian - so it was a challenge to book direct with the owners. But Tina and Filippo couldn't have been more accommodating. Close to Noto, Siracusa (and unmissable Ortygia). Scicli also a gem.
Highly recommended - we definitely want to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We loved all aspects of being at Nacolina - the personable owners, the ambience, eating with the other guests etc. The only negative is that it is extremely difficult to find the place, and the signage is terrible - there are no indications when you are even getting close. While I loved being at Nacolina, I have to hesitate about recommending it unless the guest has an excellent map.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Nacalino Agriturismo and enjoyed every minute. The place is superbly run by Tina and Filippo. It is clean and friendly. Every night we had dinner at the place and enjoyed meeting a variety of guests. The food was homely and very good. We had yhe opportunity to a good number of interesting places. We recommend this place to anyone who wants a relaxed holiday.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Wonderful trip. We stayed for 4 nights in the self-catering apartment in Valle dell’Acanto. Tina and Filippo were very friendly and helpful. The accommodations were impeccably clean, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The atmosphere is very peaceful. It was perfect for our family with a small toddler. We had a lovely dinner one night at the main house, Tina's gastronomic creations were delicious. Modica is within easy reach, and so is the seaside. Amazing value for money. Excellent experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nacalino Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nacalino Agriturismo

Address: Contrada Nacalino, Modica, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the old stone walls and the carob trees that dominate the countryside of Modica, just a few kilometers from the sea and various Cava Ispica archaeological sites, lies the recently renovated Nacalino Agriturismo , a typical farm house from the 1800's. It is a destination for those who love peaceful surroundings and like to discover nature at its best. The bedroom are equipped with typical local furnishings, indivudal bathroom and heat and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nacalino Agriturismo Modica, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nacalino Agriturismo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.