We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torre don Virgilio Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Torre don Virgilio Resort to your Saves list
Torre don Virgilio Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Provinciale Rocciola Scrofani, 97015 Modica, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Modica
Valletta, Malta
1 review
“A very relaxing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very well kept, welcoming , best option to get away from today's hectic life. Very well treated by staff. I recommend it for family holidays and friends and to all those who enjoy nature. Breakfast was delicious!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    18
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Malta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Overall a very nice experience staying at this hotel. One of the waiters was extremely helpful and friendly. Pool area is the best feature of this hotel. One big disappointment was that on the website services such wine tasting, cooking lessons etc are mentioned while nothing can be found once you are at the hotel. Hotel is far from everything and that helped to make this holiday very relaxing but renting car or having the best taxi driver in sicily will definitely make the stay better.

Rizza Viaggi were key for us to enjoy this holiday. Waited for us whenever needed and always on time, not to mention the good prices we were charged compared to all the negative feedback you find on taxis and transport in Sicily. We can all recommend this driver. 3337975622 or rizza.viaggi@tiscali.it

Room Tip: Get some essentials with you because hotel is very far from everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We were treated very well by the lovelieest people in Sicily

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Large farmhouse style ground floor rooms that open up to your own area overlooking the pool. We were treated very well by all the staff and enjoyed Signora Carmela's dinners.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

The website does not reflect at all this place.
There was some hairs on the floor and bed of our room, which does not look at all like what you see on the website.
Also, the service is very poor, with one person taking care of all the hotel.
The breakfast is simply disgusting, with melted butter that has been put back on the fridge for days... Nothing is home made.
There is an old bar around the swimming pool where nobody has ever served anyrhing during our stay.
All the furniture is old and badly taken care of.

110 euros per night is way too expensive.
Beware of what you see on the website, it really does not look like it!

Quelle deception!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We came away having stayed 14 days at the Torre don Virgilio Resort slightly disappointed. It promised so much but it badly let itself down.

But let me tell you about the good points first. The hotel is set in the wonderful Sicilian countryside just a few kilometres outside Modica. Our room and the hotel as a whole were spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. The swimming pool had the softest water I have ever known. It made you just want to dive in and splash about. Mind you the blistering hot sun could have had something to do with it as well.

It’s a shame a 4 star hotel doesn’t have a proper lounge within the hotel for guests to sit comfortably and talk. In fact in the evening unless there were guests staying for dinner the courtyard and reception were closed and deserted by 9pm. With nothing else to do we often finished up having an early night.

A lot of reviewers have mentioned the level of food at breakfast. True they were no hot food and the choice of bread, jams and cakes were rather limited but we found the breakfast adequate. The stunning courtyard setting made up for lack of breakfast choice. Where we did have an issue was when had dinner at the hotel. The pasta my wife ordered as a first course was hard as rock. For an Italian chef not able to cook good pasta is a cardinal sin. If his mama reads this review she would beat him from one end of Sicily to the other and rightly so. The main course we ordered supposed to be spinach wrapped in chicken. What we got was a finely sliced piece of processed meat the type you can buy at Iceland or Asda for £1. It was completely inedible and we refused to eat at the hotel again. There were much better restaurants in nearby Modica.

As I said at the start of this review the Torre don Virgilio Resort offered so much but badly let themselves down. If they aspire to be a proper 4* hotel they will need to improve the quality of their food, and get a chef that can actually cook. A bar where you can have a beer, class of wine or even a cup of coffee would go a long way to enhance this hotel. As it stands now I would say it is just OK. Not good and not bad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal, Québec
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

After driving around in circles for about an hour (the road signs in Italy are not always clear), we finally found this beautiful agriturismo. We had reserved based on TripAdvisor reviews and the Website, and we were not disappointed.

The property is large, the garden is beautiful, the pool seemed very clean (but it was a little cool to swim). Our room was very large, with stone walls and very high ceilings. The bathroom was clean, with plenty of space to store our amenities. We had a small terrace with a table and chairs where we could have a drink before dinner.

On the first night, not wanting to risk getting lost again, we decided to eat in the resort's restaurant. Dinner is served in a beautiful vaulted room. Unfortunately, we were the only couple there that night, but the meal was excellent. Being so far from the nearest town, we feared that the prices would be very high, but we were pleasantly surprised. Even the wine was very affordable (only 3 choices, at 12 euros each). We finally decided to eat there for the 3 nights we were at the resort. On the last night, they finally managed to light the wood oven (the weather had not been very good on the first 2 days) and we had the best pizza we ate on the whole trip.

Breakfast was good, but not memorable.

On the first morning, the manager (owner?) introduced himself and took us to visit the resort's private chapel and "book bar". He made suggestions of sights to see in the area and provided clear directions.

The only thing missing for a perfect 10 is maybe a safe in the room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Torre don Virgilio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre don Virgilio Resort

Address: Strada Provinciale Rocciola Scrofani, 97015 Modica, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Modica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Modica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre don Virgilio Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in wonderful countryside of Modica, Torre don Virgilio is a beautifully renovated and atmospheric resort. The building was a residence period of 1600, began as a fortified farm in harmony campaigns modicane. A winning combination of history and nature for a traveler who loves living in a refined, who loves elegance, good taste and attention to every individual - however small - detail. The interior of the hotel is well equipped with mirrors and other period furniture and artifacts. The 18 rooms and suites equipped with every comfort enhanced by large flowered terraces reflect the enchanting atmosphere of the place and is available with a simple yet elegant at all obvious, embellished with exclusive details such as embroidered sheets, furniture niche and impeccable service. Torre don Virgilio offers a vast array of services, including a bar, a restaurant, a smimming pool as well as a meeting room. The book bar (120 m2), is the ideal place for relaxing, reading a book, listening to music or surfing the net (the Wi-Fi connection is free of charge). The resort is located conveniently just 7 km away from the baroque city of Modica and many more turist centers and historical attractions are reachable by car. The Catania Fontanarossa airport (CTA) is 108 km far from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Torre don Virgilio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Don Virgilio Resort Modica, Sicily

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre don Virgilio Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.