We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economy class - you pay for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Admeto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Admeto to your Saves list
Hotel Admeto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Palinuro 3, 91022 Marinella di Selinunte, Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Haderslev
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Economy class - you pay for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I was with the group that detracted from the previous reviewer's experience of this hotel. Sorry! We were not a noisy bunch in general - some 170 orienteerers on Sicily for 5 races throughout last week. We got what we paid for, but nothing to be enthusiastic about. The hotel staff were friendly, the rooms tidy (but with little closet space). Breakfast and supper (we were on half board) were less than sensational. The breakfast buffet suffered from a lack of fresh bread and quality cereal. Guest had to stand in line for several minutes to get a cup of coffee from a dispenser, and the line blocked the way to the other drinks and the cereal. Plenty of cakes, but who wants cakes in the morning? All the same, we enjoyed the top-floor view of the sea and the ancient ruins. Supper: standard fodder for a large group when there is no chef that takes his work seriously in the kitchen. The waiters seemed not quite up to the challenge of dealing with so many guests, but then this was also the butt end of the season. Luckily, there was an inexpensive and unassuming but good restaurant around the corner. There is a really good sandy beach just 5 minutes from the hotel, and a waterfront with cosy cafés and bars. Marinella is not a crowded place at this time of year and a good place to stay in the autumn. The hotel advertises 4-star standard. Those stars must be self-awarded.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    93
    41
    32
    18
See reviews for
33
136
10
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hotel modern and clean with view of sea and harbour from our room but because there was a
large group there unless you managed to get breakfast before them nothing was replaced and
you had what was left and in our case our table was cleared of our food while we were at the
buffet and we had to start again!
On our last night there was a special evening for the group and the outside music started a 8pm
and because it was so loud we asked when it would be quiet enough for us to sleep and were
told th1e music finished at midnight and because we were not with the group we had to put up with it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

First impressions of the hotel were fine, the receptionist dealt with us efficiently and gave us directions to the 3rd floor room. We were asked if we would be using the underground parking at the hotel and when we said "yes", were told this would be 5euros a day, which was not evident from their website.
We had a side room which had sea views but also the same side as the fairly noisy road which ran past the hotel; mopeds and scooters are popular modes of transport in this area.
The room was air conditioned and looked clean enough although not spotless; the shower cubicle had broken free of its slide rail and was somewhat mouldy around its bottom edge. Some of the furniture had several knocks and looked tired, the curtains and nets leading onto the balcony looked dirty. The bedding and towels were clean and changed regularly; the chambermaid cleaned the room on a daily basis.
We had booked the holiday through TravelZoo on a half board basis. The breakfast, of continental style, appeared to be plentiful but was not replenished when items ran out e.g. yoghurt and croissants eaten by the earlier guests were not refilled. There were far too many cakes and sweet items for our taste and we quickly tired of the selection available. The views from the breakfast terrace were very nice if you could ignore the new building going up in front of the hotel and the half built and abandoned buildings surrounding Hotel Admeto.
Dinner was served in the restaurant or patio outside accompanied by a large TV screen showing some of the UEFA football matches; fine if you like football. The four course meal of antipasti - which contained some nice dishes, the first course usually a pasta or risotto and the second course of fish, seafood or meat were mostly tasty, although became a little samey towards the end of the week. In fact we ate elsewhere for the last two nights of the holiday. The last course was large platters of fresh fruit - water melon, local peaches, apricots, cherries, oranges. If you wanted a different dessert this was an additional cost.
The waiting staff seemed pleasant enough and most had some English and with our smattering of Italian we all made ourselves understood. They were quite attentive until a large party, who were not hotel guests, were being catered for, and then the service was a little hit and miss and we and others had quite a long wait for some of our food. Overall the food was quite tasty but seemed to be produced as cheaply as possible.
The Bar stock was rather run down and when one evening I fancied a cocktail from their drinks menu, they could offer me nothing other than a gin and tonic. They had run out of rum, cointreau and vodka! Even the cans of cola and lemonade were depleted and they had run out of the "light" variety.
The hotel claims to be 4 star, I think 2 star is nearer the mark. The cost of the holiday was very reasonable and we feel the hotel and service reflects this.
We would recommend you hire a car - we visited Erice (magical with stunning views over Trapani), Sciacca, Portopalo, ruins at Selinunte and Segeste (ampitheatre and acropolis) are wonderful. The local town of Marinella has limited appeal, some nice beaches but other areas spoiled by rotting seaweed, litter and fly-tipping. Stray dogs also roam although they don't appear to bother anyone but caused a great deal of barking and howling from the local pet dogs when passing by their gardens. Take some ear plugs!
We would visit Sicily again, but would not return to Marinella or Hotel Admeto; we enjoyed our holiday but it was not perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Good hotel with a beautiful view .set on the top of a hill over looking the beach in selinunte.
The Greek temple ruins can also be seen from this hotel.
An air conditioned 4 star hotel with friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a view over looking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUTTON, SURREY, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We booked this holiday through Travelzoo and having seen previous reports and photo's.
We were unsure what to expect but we were delighted. We had a sea view room on the 3rd floor which is a must. The room, hotel was spotless.We don't speak Italian but we managed to be understood and understand the staff.We were there when the football was on not good for us when Italy won but everyone was friendly!!
No complaint about noise. Only complaint we had was the food was bland and just say warm but their is many restuarants nearby.
The weather was hot!! so much we couldn't sit out on the balcony in the afternoon until early evening.
We had a wonderful relaxing holiday but if you want to see more of Sicily you need a car.

Room Tip: Sea view room on the west side of the Hotel is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinnor
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We booked this week away thru TravelZoo at a bargain rate! We read all the reviews about this hotel beforehand and decided that it would still be value for money plus we just wanted a week in the Sun by The Sea! Put together all previous reviews about this hotel and have to say they are accurate so will not comment further other than to say, read the reviews and if you decide to holiday here, 'Go With The Flow' and be prepared to be 'Laid Back'.Comments Re food in evening, all true but The AntiPasta is EXCELLENT and all credit to The Chef for producing such an array of food....a wonderful Buffet with some expertly made up and inventive dishes!
Local Beach is small but good with an adjoining Beach Bar....again go with flow! Make sure you visit local archaeological site! 5 mins walk from hotel....very good visit!

Room Tip: A Recently built hotel, a few rooms may be sea facing but most not. All rooms Air Conditioned for fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Staff and room very good.
Food was not great though seemed to be improving at the end of week.
Very noisy in 3rd floor room of adjoining rooms plumbing and scraping of chairs and tables above in breakfast area 4th floor. Extremely hot in room. Open balcony door to cool down and Mosquitos zoom in and local bar singers are very loud.
Lots of coach parties lunchtimes and catering for evening parties with loud music.
Tried pizza place next to hotel not a good experience! Very offhand.
A week with Travelzoo too long without touring rest of Sicily but hiring car and driving needs a lot of nerve.
Air condition v noisy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Admeto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Admeto

Address: Via Palinuro 3, 91022 Marinella di Selinunte, Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castelvetrano > Marinella di Selinunte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marinella di Selinunte
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marinella di Selinunte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Admeto 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Admeto, an elegant, recently-built four star hotel in Marinella di Selinunte, equipped with the latest technology, overlooks the Mediterranean Sea from its panoramic location, with a magnificent, picturesque view of the coast that is quite unique.Located in a magical, warm and colourful environment, reminiscent of the fishermen's villages of former times, The Hotel Admeto will make your stay in Sicily truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Admeto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admeto Hotel Marinella Di Selinunte
Hotel Admeto Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Admeto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.