We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and breakfast Terrazzo di Venere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bed and breakfast Terrazzo di Venere to your Saves list
Bed and breakfast Terrazzo di Venere
Via Sirio, 91022 Marinella di Selinunte, Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
alkmaar,holland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The best B&B in Marinella di Selinunte. We had a nice room with a view to the temples. A very nice breakfast at the roof-top terrace(also with good views) and Giovanni is a very warm host.
He gave us a wonderfull dining suggestion(Boomerang) and the meal was the best we have ever had. All fresh fish and so very well prepared.....you "must" eat there!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
91
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Giovanni could not have been more helpful. A welcoming tea and coffee, a friendly cat to greet you, and a breakfast to feed a small army. Fresh pastries, juice, yoghurt, chees and salami all served with a smile.Only a couple of minutes from the entrance to the archeological park, and an easy walk to a number of good eating places. The room decor is a bit of fun for some, but spotlessly clean and good size. Good parking in street out front and free wi-fi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It is difficult to imagine a more friendly and generous welcome than that offered by Giovanni, proprietor of Terrazzo di Venere. We were taken straight to his delightful rooftop terrace and asked what we would prefer to drink, before settling down on one of the comfortable loungers and being encouraged to "relax"! Relaxing is what a stay here is all about-the rooms are large and very well appointed-it was the largest shower cubicle of all for hotels we stayed at in Sicily-and Giovanni has chosen his decor with considerable taste. We slept well; the house is in a typical small village residential area, very quiet at night, with only the occasional dog's barking to trouble you. Parking is easy on the street outside the house. Breakfast is taken on the rooftop. There is a good choice of fresh fruit, juices, bread, pastries and coffee made to order. The view from the terrace is fabulous, with the sea close at hand and the ruins of Selinunte almost next door. We enjoyed leaving the house at 9.30 am and wandering over to the entrance to Selinunte (only five minutes away by foot) and taking in the atmosphere of this magnificent place before the crowds arrived in their coaches.
Marinella in April was quiet, but restaurants and bars were open. We ate some superb seafood and enjoyed lovely local wines at very reasonable prices.
We plan to return to Marinella and make Terrazzo di Venere our base once more.
Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived unannounced and found Giovanni very accommodating and friendly. The room was very spacious and comfortable with a large well equiped bathroom. We stayed two nights because we found it a very comfortable stay. The view from the roof terrace as the sun set behind the acropolis was breathtaking! Breakfast on the terrace was lovely where we enjoyed the local specialities and the fresh morning air. Giovanni was a very good host and we would recommend Terrazzo di Venere for everyone. Cash is king in this area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We arrived at the town without 'having done our homework' and were appalled by the standards (especially in relation to cost) of the hotels we tried. Then we saw a sign pointing to this B&B and were overjoyed when we spotted the 5-star Tripadvisor certificate on the door. The room certainly lived up to the expectations and when the owner took us up to the roof terrace our mind was made up. The terrace is used for breakfast - you can also just come up and read your book here - and there are fabulous views towards the archeological site, which is only a short walk away. Breakfast was a minor feast with a choice of coffees/teas, yoghurt, bread, sausage, cheese, honey, etc. - and a huge assortment of sweet local pastries and other delicacies. The location is very quiet and the owner and his family/friends are charming to say the least. There is ample (street) parking available and there are several restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Giovanni and his pal Rudi(the handsome cat) stayed up quite late to welcome us. We had a very nice room with a very good bathroom. The breakfast is served on the deck that looks into the acropolis. The breakfast also had Mommas touch. Careful not to put on too many pounds. The area has some interesting sites and beaches. As well there are a couple of incredible restaurants that Giovanni will recommend. The neighbourhood gives you an opportunity to observe Italians in their daily roles. All in all we had a great visit and would recommend this place.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
485 helpful votes 485 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for a night to visit the ruins. The B&B was 5 minutes walk from the car park at the ruins.We parked there-it's free parking- whilst we went to find the B&B. Giovanni was very friendly- we had espresso, almond biscuits and cake on the roof terrace on arrival. The views of the ruins are great from the terrace and his cat Rudy is also a frequent occupant on the terrace.

The room was clean and modern with a nice bathroom and good aircon. Giovanni has new wifi- it works well but it was not turned on all the time.

Breakfast was good- ricotta filled doughnuts and the local cheese were particular favourites and the macchiatos were good too.

Giovanni was very friendly, bubbly and helpful.He booked Boomerang for us which was good as it was turning people away as there was no space.

We woul not hesitate in returning if we were in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and breakfast Terrazzo di Venere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and breakfast Terrazzo di Venere

Address: Via Sirio, 91022 Marinella di Selinunte, Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castelvetrano > Marinella di Selinunte
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Marinella di Selinunte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Selinunte, structure, dedicated to Venus principally associated with love, beauty and fertility. The bed and breakfast is on 3 floors with 4 rooms and one suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed and breakfast Terrazzo di Venere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast Terrazzo Di Venere Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and breakfast Terrazzo di Venere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.