We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Ai Portici

Ristorante Ai Portici
Piazza Maria Immacolata 6, 74015 Martina Franca, Italy
080 3215801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 159 Restaurants in Martina Franca
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top notch...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I had lunch here during a visit to the gorgeous town of Martina Franca. Our chef and host looked after us personally and provided only the freshest, most beautifully balanced plates of food. A good tip - go vegetarian here as you won't regret it. Makes for a really light lunch which will be extraordinarily full of flavour. Everything here is home made - down to the biscuits served with coffees. Even these were perfectly crumbly! Ai Portici was part of a brilliant day of sight-seeing and good eating, oh, and the price was below average for some very far above average fare.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    41
    13
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“worth more than one visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had a fantastic evening meal at Ai Portici early on in our holiday and returned to it for a long outdoor lunch later on, having been momentarily seduced away from it by a more glamorous looking neighbour which couldn't compete with the outstanding service and attention, let alone the excellent food.The chef went out of his way to give us very personal treatment and his enthusiasm and energy were very infectious. The Chef's selection of antipasti was particularly wonderful - varied, local, freshly made, tasty and well presented. Sitting outside under the arches in such a lovely piazza enhanced the whole experience - lovely!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch: Chef's choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

A cold, windy March day and we headed to Ai Portici based on it being reported by Fred Plotkin as a good place to try local cuisine. We left the meal and wine choices to the chef who put together David "Chef's antipasto" comprising some eight small plates, all based on seasonal vegetables, local salume & local cheeses - timbal of eggplant and of chicory, burrata and peppers, fava puree with chicory, crepes with mozzarela & prosciuto, salami, etc etc. The house red wine was a good complement. The antipasti alone would have sufficed but a primi of grano with a light, simple tomato sauce, a sprinkling of poppy seeds & a light grating of parmagiano followed and was an excellent way to end the meal...almost. Coffee with a couple of small pastries was brought. One of the best meals so far in Puglia and by far one of the least expensive. We highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidding in the basement, but lots of quality around ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Wandering in Martina France on a rainy tuesday afternoon we stubbled on to this little, but beautiful square. Looking around for some lunch one of the other restaurants, who was cleaning for their winter close, checked out through the back-door ?? SONNO APERTO??.
Going down into the dungeons you will find yourself in a relative small, but nicely decorated restaurant. At first only the cook was around already taking care of 2-3 tables, when eventually Marco (the owner + pizza backer) turns up.

Okay, deep down in south Italy you have to improvise to get across the boundery of language, but eventually there will be food and drinks coming to your table.
And what type of food .... nicely presented starters, refined pasta's and well cooked meat supported by a fine selection of local Puglia wines at really good value.

In fact the "gnocchi al gorgonzola" forced me to come back three days lateron.
Marco had run this restaurant before (6 years ago) and now had returned to his place
in order to bring it back to its local "status", as some of the locals also confirmed my choice for this particular restaurant

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“New owners new menu excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were happy to see that the restaurant was re-open. The new owners were friendly and the food was excellent. We went with the family, one member being a vegetarian and no one was dissapointed. We are looking forward to returning there when we visit next spring.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Ai Portici also viewed

Martina Franca, Province of Taranto
Martina Franca, Province of Taranto
 
Martina Franca, Province of Taranto
Martina Franca, Province of Taranto
 

Been to Ristorante Ai Portici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Ai Portici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.