We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Hotel Arona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Hotel Arona to your Saves list
Atlantic Hotel Arona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso della Repubblica 124, 28041 Arona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Arona
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I was lodged at Atlantic Hotel in the first week of Septenmber 2011 with my wife for a week's vacation close to Lago Maggiore. The hotel service was excellent - clean laundry every day, clean towels, good breakfast ( perhaps too much cakes and souffles around!), and good dinner. The hotel location is quiet and very close to a panoramic view of the lake. The place is safe so we used to go for a walk after dinner next to the lake and we enjoyed every mi nute of it. If you care for an ice cream or a drink after dinner there is also a whole choice of places just 5 minute walk away from the hotel. I would recommend the hotel and the city of Arona to explore the places around the lake. The only negative comment we have was a power cut and the hotel does not have a stand by generator.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floor 1: during our stay there was a power cut and people had to carry up their lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    27
    22
    15
    14
See reviews for
8
24
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

If you are going for a holiday or travelling to Lago Maggiore, I suggest that you book at the Atlantic Hotel in Arona, Italy. It is a very centrally located hotel, close to all everyday needs, like restaurants, mini markets, bars, bus and train station and even an open market on Tuesdays. Besides, it is very close to Milan, Lugano, Bellinzona, Locarno, Lago di Como and many other interesting places.
Well, this hotel which I recommend has that touch which others do not have. The staff like waiters, receptionists, maids and everyone who works there are very friendly, smart and well educated. The food was great, although that we did not have to much of a choice, as we were in a group.
The rooms are very well kept.
I think that this hotel needs to be a little modernized but over and above you will delightfull to see how you are friendly welcomed.

Room Tip: You have a nice view if you book a room looking on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Very well positioned for walking and Bus/Train travel up and down Lake Maggiore and very handy for Milan Malpensa airport which is only a half hour transfer. The possible downside to the hotel is the very dated decor and furniture,it is a bit 1930's. However the rooms and bathroom are very clean and spacious. A really good point of this hotel is the quality of the food,really good. All the dishes, including the delicious sweets, are made by the hotel cooks and there is plenty of variety to choose from. A bit of a makeover would work wonders at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

The Atlantic hotel is at the Maggiore lake and has plenty of rooms with great view.
it was a second time in this hotel during last few months, so I can write couple of things.
For sure rooms need renovation, aspecially bathrooms which are not really 4* for european standards, but the beds are comfortable, rooms very spatious and the staff and service really good.
When we arrived in the afternoon the room was not ready but they offered us a glass of wine at the bar, which was very nice.
I would recommend it rather for short stays for work or weekend break, as I did, but not really for longer holiday.
Overall I think it's a good place to stay in Arona, I would be back though I think they should make some works to keep good standards.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Although the first glance is not impressive (small lobby, old decorated) the experience i had in this hotel it was really nice. I lived there for more than a month! and i have to admit that i came across to the BEST staff i have ever met in a hotel. All of them (receptionists, bartenders, waiters etc) where very friendly, very experienced and ready to serve you. The rooms, although old, they were very clean, while the OWNER (yes the owner) was there to serve you in any problems you had in this small town. The view of my room was fantastic (3rd floor, accross the lake). The only problem were that the main road is a bit noisy.
Also the breakfast was OK for Italian hotel.

Generally is a really good hotel for business purposes but i am not so sure if it is that good for holidays.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

After reading the reviews, I was a little concerned. We had moved the venue due to trade show in Milan. We were all pleasantly surprised. Right across from the train station in a beautiful little town. The amenities turned out to be better than we expected - this coming from colleagues from the US, Portugal, Italy and Switzerland. Our small conference room was just right. Our bedrooms - large. Seems they upgraded us to suites - perhaps due to low season but much appreciated. Free internet access in the rooms. Service amazing and helpful. Very good breakfast and the food overall for breaks and lunch perfect - especially since we never ran on time. Only annoyance? - our room was always hot when we got in... so we opened windows - pretty small complaint. We even blew a fuse and they came up right away to repair.

Arona is a wonderful little town worth visiting and the people are wonderful. This hotel fit with our overall experience. Can't comment about in season but we got our value's worth.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I was invited to Arona on Business, the hotel was pre booked for us
It’s 2.5 to 3 star hotel even thought it stated its 4 star.
Rooms are very old (70’s)
Decoration I think it was never renovated since it was build
Shower area is very small.
One advantage it had Sky TV network so there were some programs in English

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Hotel Arona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel Arona

Address: Corso della Repubblica 124, 28041 Arona, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Arona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Arona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Hotel Arona 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Atlantic Hotel Arona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Hotel Arona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.