We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, comfortable room, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ristorante San Carlo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ristorante San Carlo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ristorante San Carlo
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Verbano, 4, 28041 Arona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Arona B&B and Inns
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, comfortable room, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel. The location is great for views of the lake - above the town on a hill. We had a room with a nice balcony and fabulous views. We parked in the little lot next to the hotel, which was extremely convenient. The wifi did not work well for us - we had to get separate codes as each code worked only for one device - and the connection was not great. The room was warm and the ac did not work for us. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the food and wine. There were two men serving all of the tables - they worked hard and I was impressed with how they kept all of the service flowing on what seemed like a fairly busy evening. We left too early in the morning (to catch a flight) to partake of breakfast. This is a good place to stay if you are flying out of Malpensa - it's an easy drive of about 35 minutes, and a relaxing and beautiful spot.

Room Tip: Spring for a lake view. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    5
    8
    2
See reviews for
9
44
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines IA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

When you plan a trip to a place you haven't been before, you do your research, read the reviews, look at the pictures, and then . . . hope for the best. Well, with our stay at Hotel Ristorante San Carlo, that is just what we got - the best! As we checked in with Lucca, he told us he was putting us in a room with a "bella vista." When we went to our room (#2) and opened the drape to our balcony, we were greeted with a breathtaking view of beautiful blue Lake Maggiore, picturesque Angera Castle, and mist-shrouded mountains in the background. The beautiful pictures did not do it justice. Our room, with a wall of windows, was spacious and stylishly decorated, and our balcony, while not large, comfortably fit three chairs with room to spare. The restaurant is large and attractive with an equally large open-air dining room. The hotel and the grounds are beautifully situated on a hillside overlooking the lake and the town of Arona.

We would start our day with a warm smile from Lucca's mama as she would prepare us a cappuccino. Then we were treated to a nice assortment of cheeses, meats, croissants, breads, yogurt, muesli, juices. The restaurant dining menu offered a nice variety of Piedmont cuisine paired with a large selection of wines.

Hotel Ristorante San Carlo and Arona are in a great location to explore local attractions and towns and the beautiful lake and mountains. The Lake Maggiore ferry from Arona to Locarno, Switzerland, followed by a return train ride through the 100 Valleys in Switzerland makes for a nice day trip. Arona itself has a amazing assortment of shops both on the main street and tucked along cobblestone alleys. Our trip took us to Amsterdam, Paris and Venice. Our four day stay at Hotel Ristorante San Carlo was the perfect relaxing break for us, made that much nicer by the family feeling we got from Lucca and the warm feeling (and hugs) we got from Mama! We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony overlooking Lake Maggiore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

It was a stopover overnight trip and didn't get to use the facilities or room much other than to change. but the room with the million dollar view was stunning!! and although alittle dated it was value for money with a little balcony to appreciate and breathe in the fresh air

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very nice room with an amazing view over the lake! Clean, spacy and very good value for money. Good Wifi. Breakfast simple but fresh and good food. Don't forget to try the Restaurant with delicious food!
Parking outside the hotel is a bit difficult due to many guests at the restaurant. However, there is a big parking approx. 200 m from the hotel. But this is a minor problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is a few miles outside the centre of Arona but the walk is well worth it. When you get there you are high above the southern part of the lake overlooking Angera. The hotel is well run and very clean. All rooms are superb and overlook the gardens and lake. Another pleasant surprise was the quality and value of the restaurant - far better value than most Hotels.

Room Tip: All rooms have superb views - try to get one on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fumel, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Absolutely everything was brilliant. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Especially the table waiter. Although I have no experience of the other rooms, having decided to pay a little extra for the balcony suites I know that they are definitely worth the extra. Restaurant is superb with good food and wines and expert advice to hand with prices that don't break the bank. Views over the lake are superb. Parking on site is free and easily accessible.
Nothing was too much trouble.
(To Alex K I would say - do give them another go - it is worth it!)

Room Tip: A balcony is a MUST as the view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We ate here as a family last night. First and foremost, what an amazing view from the terrace dining area, sitting high over Lake Maggiore: stunning! We had good service throughout from friendly staff, slow at times but this is the Italian way- why would anyone rush la cena? The food was to a very good standard with a mixed selection and prices were lower than I expected given the position/view of the restaurant. Note, however, that the vegetarian selection was all but non existent but they were happy to contrive options ad hoc for my daughter. As a final aside, the parking is very limited and first in will be blocked by the last to arrive; a better option is to park down the road at the car park by the entrance tot he San Carlo statue and walk the 200 metres along the road (unlit and no pavement- stay alert!). In all, this was a good, well priced venue and we'll definitely return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ristorante San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante San Carlo

Address: Via Verbano, 4, 28041 Arona, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Arona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Arona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante San Carlo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Ristorante San Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ristorante San Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.