We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ristorante San Carlo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ristorante San Carlo to your Saves list
Hotel Ristorante San Carlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Verbano, 4, 28041 Arona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Arona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

It was a stopover overnight trip and didn't get to use the facilities or room much other than to change. but the room with the million dollar view was stunning!! and although alittle dated it was value for money with a little balcony to appreciate and breathe in the fresh air

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    47
    6
    9
    2
See reviews for
14
49
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very nice room with an amazing view over the lake! Clean, spacy and very good value for money. Good Wifi. Breakfast simple but fresh and good food. Don't forget to try the Restaurant with delicious food!
Parking outside the hotel is a bit difficult due to many guests at the restaurant. However, there is a big parking approx. 200 m from the hotel. But this is a minor problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is a few miles outside the centre of Arona but the walk is well worth it. When you get there you are high above the southern part of the lake overlooking Angera. The hotel is well run and very clean. All rooms are superb and overlook the gardens and lake. Another pleasant surprise was the quality and value of the restaurant - far better value than most Hotels.

Room Tip: All rooms have superb views - try to get one on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fumel, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Absolutely everything was brilliant. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Especially the table waiter. Although I have no experience of the other rooms, having decided to pay a little extra for the balcony suites I know that they are definitely worth the extra. Restaurant is superb with good food and wines and expert advice to hand with prices that don't break the bank. Views over the lake are superb. Parking on site is free and easily accessible.
Nothing was too much trouble.
(To Alex K I would say - do give them another go - it is worth it!)

Room Tip: A balcony is a MUST as the view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We ate here as a family last night. First and foremost, what an amazing view from the terrace dining area, sitting high over Lake Maggiore: stunning! We had good service throughout from friendly staff, slow at times but this is the Italian way- why would anyone rush la cena? The food was to a very good standard with a mixed selection and prices were lower than I expected given the position/view of the restaurant. Note, however, that the vegetarian selection was all but non existent but they were happy to contrive options ad hoc for my daughter. As a final aside, the parking is very limited and first in will be blocked by the last to arrive; a better option is to park down the road at the car park by the entrance tot he San Carlo statue and walk the 200 metres along the road (unlit and no pavement- stay alert!). In all, this was a good, well priced venue and we'll definitely return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The hotel is amazing. Get a room with a view to Maggiore Lake, it worths each cent...We had diner in the hotel's restaurant all night looking at the lake and having amazing food and drinks.

Room Tip: Get a room with view to the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We arrived at 9pm thanks to the Italian train system letting us down. At the end of a long day backpacking through Switzerland the last thing we wanted was a problem with the hotel.

We tried to ring them at 7pm to advise that we would be late (check in until 6pm - DON'T MISS THIS!). When we arrived a rude receptionist called Luca said "No. We are full".
"But we have a reservation?" I said.
"Oh, we have let your room to someone else. Check in was by 6pm." he said.
I replied "So what do we do now?! It's 9pm and we have no hotel on our honeymoon".
"Another hotel, maybe?" was the only reply I got.
"You won't charge us for a no show though right?"
"Yes, we will"

I lost my cool at this point. The cheek of this hotel is beyond all belief. I'm sure the rooms are lovely, and that everything is fabulous. However, arriving at your hotel in a foreign country and not being offered any help by the hotel that has put you in that situation is outrageous.

I used booking.com for this reservation and they have been useless as well. No help whatsoever.

Steer clear of this place if there's any possibility you might arrive after 6pm or your room will go. Thanks go to our taxi driver who helped us find, after another 2 hours a brilliant and cheap place down the road. THANKS BRUNO!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ristorante San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ristorante San Carlo

Address: Via Verbano, 4, 28041 Arona, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Arona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Arona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ristorante San Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ristorante San Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ristorante San Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.