We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Giardino

Save Saved
You added Albergo Giardino to your Saves list
Albergo Giardino
Albergo Giardino
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Giardino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via repubblica 1, 28041 Arona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arona
UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Friendly Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for two nights while on a business trip to the area. On arrival the gentleman in the reception was most receptive and jovial, appointing my room and confirming my stay. My room was on the first floor looking out over the lake, a great pleasure in the morning as the sun rose and came into the room. The room and hotel is typical of what I have experienced while traveling in Italy and is not like the corporate experience. The room was basically furnished and a little dark, however, it was spotlessly clean and provided a good sleep. The bed was hard, so this may not suit some folk, additionally, you have the traditional sheets, blankets and over-cover and not the quilt that is generally experienced today.

The bathroom was again spotless and adequate with soap and shampoo provided, one point I must highlight was the shower. It was quite tight inside and getting into it was an experience due to the doors which slide open to provide entry. I had to go in sideways and if my "extremities” had been any bigger (front and back) I unfortunately would not have gained entry!! The experience is a little tight for the "larger" person, so be warned.

The breakfast, again is what I have traditionally experienced from this type of hotel and I feel is more than adequate with a choice of cereals, breads, pastries, yogurt, ham and cheese. One negative is the coffee is terrible as it is served from a big urn and becomes stewed. I did notice the Italian residents asked for separate coffee and were provided this, which I do not know if they paid extra for. For the cost, it is something I feel the establishment should consider offering for all and get rid of the urn. Especially as how the Italians are known for their coffee!

For evening meal I went to the pizzeria next door, which has an excellent choice of pizzas that are to die for.

Overall, this is a very comfortable and good value hotel with really friendly and helpful staff, I would definitely stay here again if I was traveling on holiday or on business.

Arona is such a nice place and would be a great place to spend some time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
7
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Good value with clean and spacious rooms in the centre of Arona on the lakeside. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK with the usual cereals, juice, coffee, ham, cheese & eggs and if you asked a cappucino was forthcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel is perfectly pleasent, located nicely on the lake in the middle of town. Like most of the hotels in this town it feels old, almost stuck in a time warp, and it has a bit of an old musty smell that annoyed me on my longer stays there! Breakfast is limited, attached restaurant is pretty decent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great hotel and friendly staff. The price is not expensive and very centrally located hotel. We had a room to the pedestrian street so it was very quiet. The rooms are really fine. The offer also free parking for the car. On my next stay in Arona, I will be for sure back at Giardino Hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions for business. The hotel is in a good location with many good restaurants nearby especially the one adjacent to the hotel. Although the decor and furnishings are quite dated the staff are very pleasant and overall is a good choice in arona.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Giardino

Address: via repubblica 1, 28041 Arona, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Arona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Giardino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giardino is situated in a beautifully panoramic position which overlooks the lakeside and is only few kilometers from Malpensa and from Milan trade fairs. it has a welcoming atmosphere characterized by that kindness which makes the guests feel "at home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Albergo Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.