We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the rooms were nicer they'd be charging a fortune!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Giardino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Giardino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giardino
Corso Repubblica 1, Novara, 28041 Arona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Arona
Somerset, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If the rooms were nicer they'd be charging a fortune!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Been coming here on and off since before the web! Been here for a month now and feeling nicely at home! It hasn't changed much over the years. The rooms are dated but clean, you are in the middle of town so the restaurants and shops of Arona are a short walk away... but the outside noise can be loud. Internet access is ok, can get limited if someone moving large amount of data, I'd guess. Breakfast is good enough and European ... nothing cooked, but a wide selection, sorry, you can have fun cooking your own boiled eggs! How long you leave them in for depends on how long the water heater has been on for. Not had a problem getting a bespoke coffee on the morning... I just asked the staff who are all very friendly.

In summary, a relatively cheap hotel in the middle of town next to Lago Maggiore... bit worn and some interesting bathroom furniture, but very clean and all the staff have been lovely. If you want a bland or very modern hotel, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
15
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here for 1 month whilst my husband was on a course. Although the staff were extremely friendly & attentive, along with cleanliness being high, the walls in this hotel are paper thin!

In the 29 nights we stayed, we had only 2 nights of un disturbed sleep. Almost every night between midnight & 4/5am we were awoken by doors slamming, people snoring, people putting their TV's on maximum volume & falling asleep, shouting out in there sleep, couples or friends arguing & fighting, people having sex all night & babies crying.

It was horrendous. I cannot explain how noisy this place is in words. All long-term booked people on similar courses to my husband experienced the same but after numerous complaints, the hotel said they cannot really do anything. Those people have paid for a room.

We changed rooms 3 times whilst here but it made no difference.

Additionally, the shower cubicles are no bigger than a telephone box (no exaggeration). My husband being 6ft + had to lather-up outside of the shower.

Internet is also non-existent. It kind of works but is slower than dial-up most of the time. (5-15 minutes to load a page........ Forget emailing attachments).

If my husbands company hadn't pre- paid for the month, we would have moved to the Atlantic after 3 or 4 days.

Horrendous.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights, my room was 101 in the 1st floor lake view, I think it's the worst room in the hotel regardless its view cause in the night after about 6:00 PM till 1:00 AM they light up a high intensity light facing my balcony so I couldn't enjoy the view anymore and still closing the black out curtain all the night and it's hardly to sleep if a small light get into your room VERY INTENSIVE like the sun and the wireless internet was very poooor signal when u found it, after hours and hours of trying to connect and always disconnect by itself. The breakfast was average breakfast!!

Room Tip: Be far away from the corner side at the 1st floor because of the night light
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I arrived late in the hotel and early morning left it so I can't evaluate bar of the restaurant. In any case room was clean and hotel staff was friendly. Minibar menu wasn't equal to the content of it. So I could not appreciate right price of drinks there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I went to the Giardino Hotel for only 1 night stay on a business trip. I choose Giardino over other 4stars hotel in Arona because it had better review than other 4stars. I also asked for a lake view room. I arrived very late 1in the morning and left at 9, so it was really a very quick stay. The service even at very late hour, was availability and quick, the room though needed a very important ristrutturino, especially the bathroom. There may be renovated rooms, so try asking for it. Breakfast was also pretty poor, not even a cappuccino served but only coffee from big pots. They were very kind since i had a breakfast with a local friend and they did not charged me anything for it. So, i would not suggest it for a long stay on the lake, but it is fine for a quick stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

How this place got 3 stars is a mystery. Seek an alternative. Gross.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Whilst the hotel is in a good location, the hotel is in need of a really good clean. The whole floor smelt of smoke, the non smoking room smelt of smoke and the bathroom was even worse.
The shower was covered in mould and the fittings worn.

The staff were OK but fairly harsh and not very receptive to customer needs. Breakfast again very average with the worst looking coffee I have ever seen or tasted.

Generally a hotel which needs an overhaul.

James. England. UK

Room Tip: don't unless every other hotel is full. Take a front room as the side ones are very dark and din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giardino

Address: Corso Repubblica 1, Novara, 28041 Arona, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Arona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Arona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giardino is situated in a beautifully panoramic position which overlooks the lakeside and is only few kilometers from Malpensa and from Milan trade fairs. it has a welcoming atmosphere characterized by that kindness which makes the guests feel "at home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Giardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Giardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.