We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4*, are you serious?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Antares

Save Saved
You added Hotel Antares to your Saves list
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Antares
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gramsci 9, Arona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Arona
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“4*, are you serious?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with good location and don't care much of high comfort this hotel is for you. Excelent location (very close to the lake and Arona station) and friendly staff is advantage of the hotel. If you need parking while travelling by car this hotel can provide it. All other things are far from 4* level: furniture is old as well as bath equipment, very noisy, no safe in the room. I was not much disappointed with the hotel, but i would not advise it to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    4
    1
    6
See reviews for
1
2
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent place. Rooms much better then famous Giardino and Atlantic hotels. Not noisy but very close to the Main Street. Best service in Arona. All stuff are very polite and trying to help, what i cant say about other hotels (usual "Italian" service ) and of course special thank to Omar !!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in Antares for two nights on our way to Switzerland. Location is good, quite close to the lake. Hotel has own parking lot for visitors, which is definitely a plus. Hotel itself is a bit out dated and the decorations are quite...ugly. Hotel seemed to be almost empty, at least we hardly saw anyone else during our stay. Breakfast room was deserted, we were the only ones. And for the four star rating the quality was not good enough either. And the price was quite high also, I didn't expect this at least...but the staff was friendly and everything went well for us, so we are pleased.

As a conclusion: it's an old hotel nearby the lake without any lake view. I would rate this to two or three stars. If you get a cheap offer, take it, but don't expect a high quality hotel for your money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

On a recent trip to France Switzerland and Italy my wife and I used several hotels all booked via Expedia. I was asked to review all except one - this one!!! It was dreadful: we booked a room with a bath-tub and a balcony but on arrival were given a room with a shower only and no balcony. The management readily gave us another room with a bath-tub with a shower over. The bath was not at all inviting and was not used. The balcony looked out onto residential building opposite (about 30 feet away) and the view was dreadful and the balcony was not used.
We had booked for two nights but I immediately changed the booking to the one night and the next day we moved on to a different hotel in Switzerland.
The public areas of the Antares were very rough and dingy (more like how one might expect a hostel to look)
we were offered a 20% discount on food in the restaurant but we cannot comment on the food or the service as faced with the dreadful appearance of the hotel we were not brave enough to face the experience. For similar reasons we could not face the breakfast that we had paid for so we stopped at a roadside cafe during our "escape".
All in all a very bad experience - this hotel is billed as a four star hotel - I know there are variations in people's opinions but in my view this hotel should be a TWO star at best. The last words are really hardly necessary but I will say them anyway - NEVER AGAIN FOR US AND BE WARNED!!!

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Antares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antares

Address: Via Gramsci 9, Arona, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Arona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Arona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antares 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Antares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Antares, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.