We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn out, needs renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Concorde

Save Saved
You added Hotel Concorde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Concorde
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Verbano 1, Arona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Arona
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Worn out, needs renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has wonderful views of the lake which would probably be the end of the list of positive features.
Not very convenient to the shops or restaurants as there is only a very skinny sidewalk along a solid rock wall and very busy road. Not fun on a rainy day. We visited the free breakfast once, prefer to pay to get something better. Terrible coffee.
The rooms are very worn, furniture all scratched and in bad shape. The TV is only a small computer monitor and the shower stall is the smallest I've ever used. I'm not a big guy but I couldn't wash without constantly banging my elbows.

The lobby was equally worn out but at least the staff are friendly and helpful.


  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    18
    16
    8
See reviews for
2
16
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barga, Italy
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

we stayed one night in room 446; it is a small room; the furniture is a bit out of fashion; there is a view on the lake, but limited because of cement wall on the balcony; there is the noise of the main road below, even with triple glazing; we heard lots of noises from nearby rooms, including one drunken guy shouting in the middle of the night; breakfast is ok; we paid 140 EUR, and I think we should have negociated the price down to 80 EUR, or continued on the road north along the lake: next day we saw plenty more places (in Meina and further on) that looked like a better choice; the service is somewhat anonymous; the mattress was made of two parts, and the pillow insufficient...

Room Tip: rooms on the back have no view on the lake, but at least they might be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed in room 230 for one night : TO BE AVOIDED. Staff was nice but the hotel is old and ugly. The bathroom was disguting... definitly not worth the price. Te location is convenient but on the main road...

Room Tip: AVOID ROOM 230 ! Request the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here on business for four weeks. Very clean and comfortable hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. The restaurant serves some excellent food in the evening. Breakfast is a typical European buffet that I cant get excited about. The views of the lake and mountains are outstanding. The WiFi isn't the most reliable but free nor the air conditioning but then after travelling to Italy on a few occasions I've come to expect this from tired Italian hotels. The gym is what I can only describe as terrible, the equipment is very outdated what's left of it anyway.
But all said I would be more than happy to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a forward facing room over looking the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I love staying at Hotel Concorde because of the wonderful views of Lake Magggiore. It's a 5-min walk from here to the town.
The beds are not very comfortable and the pillows are hard. But it's a clean place and the shower is good!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for 5 weeks recently, and as a hotel, I have stayed in worse. It is functional, and does the job, but is 'quirky'!

The room I stayed in was comfy, with a double bed, Sky TV, fridge (asked reception to remove all chargeable contents on day one), bath/shower and a room safe. Wifi was available free of charge throughout the hotel. I also had a balcony facing the lake, with views that were superb!

Not too sure on the functionality of the safe, as it wasn't open, and wasn't bolted down, so could be removed with ease from the room.

There were numerous (I am assuming light) switches next to the bed - after much experimentation I could only find one that worked.

The Sky TV is cranky, sometimes refusing to play at all, other times very good.

The WiFi is intermittent, and reception ranged from really good to pathetically poor.

I did use the laundry service whilst staying, and if you tell reception you have laundry as you leave the hotel then normally it will be returned that same evening.

The hotel also advertised a gym/fitness suite - which - if you are that way inclined - is not to be relied upon. It was in a poor state of repair, and the swimming pool was also closed. DO NOT rely on the photos on the website!

The bar/restaurant was very good, the food from the restaurant very good. In fact I recently emailed the hotel for a recipe from the restaurant, the request for which the chef was more than happy to oblige with.

In terms of location, it is a 5 minute walk from Arona town along a busy road, but also offers its own car park, so is extremely handy if you have a vehicle, and don't wish to try your luck finding one of the parking bays in town if you stay elsewhere.

The hotel staff are all friendly, can (mainly) speak good English, and are more than happy to assist /help where required.

Overall the hotel is a conundrum, some things good, other things not so good (but not bad)!

Would I stay here again? Having stayed elsewhere in Arona, I think yes!

Room Tip: Request Lake View - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Business trip, hotel is definately showing its age. Rooms are ok, but dated, Wifi a bit hit and miss, SKY tv in the rooms, forget it, it doesn't work. Lake view rooms are well worth the stay. Easy walk into Arona, great bars and restaurants. Pretty good value for money overall.

Room Tip: Lake view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Concorde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Concorde

Address: Via Verbano 1, Arona, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Arona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 hotels in Arona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Concorde 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Concorde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Concorde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.