We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were renting their top-floor flat in a villa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Camin Colmegna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Camin Colmegna to your Saves list
Hotel Camin Colmegna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Angelo Palazzi, 1 | Colmegna, 21016 Luino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luino
Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We were renting their top-floor flat in a villa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

First of all: The terrace is huge and does provide a view to die for. We were there for five days and stayed at the top-floor of the independent Villa Colmegna which is operated by the nearby hotel.

The villa is not an integral part of the hotel so if you are looking for the usual services from a hotel of the standard like Hotel Camin they are not available. There is some 5 minutes walk between the flat and the hotel - on a not so pedestrian friendly road.

The flat itself is nicely refurbished. You will find a decent kitchen with dishwasher and microwave. The bathroom is OK and also provides a landry maschine.

Living room is spacious with nice and simple furniture plus a TV. Bedroom is clean and airy.

Minuses: The access to the flat requires climbing 90 steps on a very steep staircase. If you have heavy luggage and perhaps are not in the greatest shape you will suffer and sweat as well as be out of breath...

The villa is placed right above a fairly busy road so do expect quite a bit of noise 24/7. On the rear of the villa there is a rail track with trains passing occasionally. It is not as bad as it sounds but ow you know.

Would we stay there again? No. Lake Maggiore is beautiful but we did not take into account the very damp environment and will probably be more prone to seek something more explicitly Italian.

Room Tip: The villa holds three flats. Be sure to get the top floor as this is way better than the two others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    43
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
26
78
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I am not complaining about the hotel facilities nor the service quality. The hotel is extremely nice and the staff was very friendly and tried to be helpful. However, I complain about their business behaviour, which is not serious.

I booked a room online on Tuesday night for the next day, because the hotel looked very nice, was located a little bit outside of Luino, had nice lake view and had direct access to the lake for swimming and all for a reasonable price. After placing the order, one hour later we received a call to let us know, the hotel itself is fully booked but they have appartments for us, which we thought is OK. When we arrived the next day at the hotel, they told us, the appartments are not in the same building as the hotel, but very close and we should follow a person to bring us to the appartments. We had to walk more than 500 meters and found the appartment next to the railway and with NO view at all to the lake. Of course, we did not accept these rooms. They did not have other rooms in the hotel, but offered us a room in their partner 4-star-hotel in the centre of Luino, with real lake view, but no access to the beach for the same rate. When we asked, why they cheat and show wrong availability in the online portals, they said, the Expedia database is faulty and they are very sorry.

Again, what we saw from the hotel, looked nice. The staff was very friendly and handled the situation well and organized us a room in another hotel for the same rate. However, how they handled the situation, gave us the impression, they are used to handle this situation and do regularly post availability, knowing there is none and have the plan in mind to send the people to the crappy appartments or the city hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminColmegna, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Signor Robert, la ringraziamo innanzitutto per averci scelti.
Ci dispiace molto per l'inconveniente e speriamo che venga a trovarci di nuovo.
Purtroppo nel nostro sistema di online booking è entrata una prenotazione poco prima che ricevessimo la vostra e di conseguenza non avevamo più camere disponibili in hotel; forse per un incomprensione linguistica avete capito che il database di Expedia è difettoso ma mai ci permetteremmo di sostenere tale ipotesi.
Noi cerchiamo sempre di trovare la soluzione migliore per i nostri clienti pertanto abbiamo subito chiesto agli hotel nelle vicinnza se avessero camere disponibili per potervi ospitare, dopodichè vi abbiamo contattati telefonicamente facendovi scegliere l'opzione migliore per voi, se alloggiare presso i nostri appartamenti oppure soggiornare allo stesso prezzo presso un hotel 4 stelle.
Qualora aveste scelto da subito il nostro partner hotel, avreste potuto comunque usufruire di tutti i nostri servizi a disposizione dei clienti.
Questa non è affatto una nostra strategia ma ci siamo organizzati al meglio per poter gestire la situazione di un over senza gravare sui clienti.
Ci auguriamo di essere stati esaustivi nelle nostre spiegazioni e ci speriamo di potervi ospitare nuovamente presso la nostra struttura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 4 nights in June and it is superb. We had a lovely light clean comfortable room with lake views. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. The breakfasts had a great choice and the dinners were quite special. We also particularly enjoyed the complimentary cake to go with tea or coffee in the afternoon. A particularly nice touch. The garden is large and well maintained with plenty of sun loungers and different areas to find your own space. It is also a very family friendly hotel with some fun things for children. We noticed that the staff were very welcoming to the children staying in the hotel. It is easy to get into the lake and have a nice refreshing swim.
I think perhaps one of the things that makes it such a lovely hotel is that it is family run and it shows. The lady who runs it is there paying quite a lot of attention to detail. The atmosphere is relaxed, friendly and informal. I hope we'll be back at sometime in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The location of the hotel overlooking the lake with a very long waterfront and lovely gardens is fantastic. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful.
The room however was rather cramped and not what I expected.
We dined in twice ; the food was very good and the view breathtaking. We were lucky to take part in the event held once a month with a reasonably priced dinner including drinks and in this case Italian folk music.Very enjoyable.

The two day stay was expensive but we would visit again without a doubt if in the region.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminColmegna, Responsabile reception at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Paul, you are right: our location is breathtaking and we are lucky to work in a such beautiful place.
By the way we try to do our best in oder to make our guests happy and satisfied.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is a hotel that was a nice 3 star, good location although far from town, nice 'beach' etc. Very poor service and food in the restaurant and continual wedding parties detract from the ambience.
the room was quite nice, bathroom adequate and the location is stunning.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

their restaurant is awesome. it is located directly at the lake lago maggiore and is surrounded by a marvellous parc. their speciality is fish (not only local fresh water fish). the service is great. from the very beginning you feel home due to their unbelieveable hospitality. there is only one small downside, the price, however the food and the service and the location it is definetly worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaminColmegna, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Gtere, thanks for your positive words and most of all for bringing in your country a piece of our landscapes. Our prices are compared to a constant and equlibrated ratio quality/price.
The most important thing is that you enjoyed your stay, that's no doubt our moral gain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Myself and my 2 adult sons stayed here for my sister's wedding in Sept 2012. As a complete technophobe - I aplogise for the late posting. If you had not booked accommodation and were travelling along the shores of Lake Maggiore you may pass this gem. The hotel can be quite easily overlooked but the hotel grounds are absolutely fabulous as is the service and breakfast. Would I stay again - I would in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Swimming in the lake but the outdoor jacuzzi overlooking Lake Maggiore was fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colmeg, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Caroline, it is so nice for us to know that you still have such a good memory , after 2 years... we really hope that you will be able to return in this precious corner of the Lake Maggiore. We are waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Camin Colmegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camin Colmegna

Address: Via Angelo Palazzi, 1 | Colmegna, 21016 Luino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Luino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Camin Colmegna 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Camin Colmegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Camin Colmegna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.