We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, lovely long weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Camin Colmegna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Camin Colmegna to your Saves list
Hotel Camin Colmegna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Angelo Palazzi, 1 | Colmegna, 21016 Luino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luino
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, lovely long weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic, and you can really take advantage of it with the beautiful gardens. The staff were delightful and really helpful with our two young children. They also were very helpful dealing with allergy issues in the restaurant. We even managed a short swim in October!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colmeg, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear guest, we thank you so much for your kind words.
We are happy that it was a great stay for you and your family.
We wish to see you again and make your stay more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    43
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
26
78
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

There is a tight turn for the car immediately out of the tunnel into the car park- we had reserved parking. Reception was very efficient. Our room was over looking the side car park but we also had a view of the lake. We had to change our room due to a leak but the management could not have been more helpful and we only had to go next door! The room was fairly average and the bathroom quite small but the hotel and staff excellent. There were numerous little terraces where you could have a drink with views looking out over the lake. The owner was very attentive and very hands on to see if everything was OK. We ate one night in their restaurant where the service was very good and the food really very good. The waiter seemed to know and be able to answer all our questions about the menu.
There was access to the lake for swimming and a grassy terrace where you could sunbathe with towels being provided.
As a group on another night we had a gala dinner in a separate dining area the other side of the grassy terrace. An excellent place to have a private function.
Checkout was efficient and we were presented with a small plant grown by them to bring back as a momento. Location right on the lake was good and you could drive or get the bus to Luino the nearest small town. Worth a visit. We went to eat there in their sister hotel which was hosting a gala dinner night with exhibition dancing. A good night.
Would visit again for the excellent service and good location of this hotel

Room Tip: try and get one of the 2 rooms over looking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colmeg, Direttore at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful description and we really hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is a privately owned hotel offering friendly professional service. The owners are present ensuring that everything runs smoothly. I can not praise this hotel enough. It's location is on the shore line of Lake Maggiore with gardens on various levels from the shore up to the road. There is small dip pool and for the more adventurous a swim in the Lake is a must. There is a play area for children with a kiosk in the garden serving light bites, drinks and ice cream. The is a small fitness area. sauna, Jacuzzi and sun beds. All the bedrooms have Lake views with a back drop of the Swiss mountains. The food was excellent with various eating locations and a private dining area for groups.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colmeg, Proprietario at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Many many thanks for the wonderful words!
We really hope to welcome you again in our hotel!
Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Preferable to the sister hotel actually IN Luino, this Camin hotel in nearby Colmegna sits right on the lake,with grounds including lakefront walk and sitting tables, sun loungers, children's play area, and steps leading into the lake for swimming. Parking can be tight but is free and works.Our Junior Suite was spacious enough, with shower not bath. Good wifi. There is a large and very attractive outdoor terrace restaurant on 2 levels, overlooking the lake, and serving good fresh food. I can happily recommend this hotel to anyone seeking one or several nights in this area of Lake Maggiore. One hour to Lugano, 30 minutes to the Lavena ferry, and the fun Luino market on Wednesdays.

Room Tip: we had a junior suite overlooking the lake.....be advised the car park and some trees block some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colmeg, Proprietario at Hotel Camin Colmegna, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Google Translation
Grazie Grazie Grazie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived at Hotel Camin after a long drive and within 5 minutes knew that we'd struck lucky. From checking in to checking out we were treated like long lost friends. The hotel is right by the side of the lake as are the dining areas and without exception the staff were on hand to help and ensure we enjoyed our unfortunately brief visit. We would certainly try to stay at this hotel on future visits to Italy.

Room Tip: The room is almost incidental - ask for a table looking out over the lake. I think most of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joondalup
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Whenever I go to Italy Hotel Camin Colmegna is my first and most loved destination!
Just look at the photos and one will understand as to why I have this' soft spot'., Lara,the young and dynamic owner and her hard working staff are always ready ,with a smile, to welcome and make each guest feel special! I cannot thank Lara enough for looking ,so efficiently,after this precious and historic property. My last visit was in October 2010, the lake was still warm so we managed to have fun in the unpolluted Lake Maggiore.
Hopefully in the future, I will be able to have more swims and strolls in this magnificent park where I've learned to swim and took my first steps!
I

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel itself is very well located, on the river of the lake. If you get a room on the lake side it's better, otherwise you have the road on the other side which is never pleasant...
The little terrace on the river of the lake is really the perfect spot to enjoy a beer at the sunset.
The room was clean and comfy. The breakfast was abundant and well presented. I'd definitely come back even though a little bit expensive...

Room Tip: Get a room on the lake side (parking side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Camin Colmegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camin Colmegna

Address: Via Angelo Palazzi, 1 | Colmegna, 21016 Luino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Luino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Luino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Camin Colmegna 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Camin Colmegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Camin Colmegna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.