We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Dreams by the Lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Camin Colmegna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Camin Colmegna to your Saves list
Hotel Camin Colmegna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Angelo Palazzi, 1 | Colmegna, 21016 Luino, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luino
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
“Summer Dreams by the Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

The Camin Hotel is really a dream out of another time, before chains and mass tourism turned everything on Lake Maggiore into nothing but money, money, money. Still family run by the lovely Lara and her incomparable staff--always warm, friendly, helpful, and running several kms a day to attend to your needs at some remote spot in the garden--and speaking whatever language you please. We've lived in the area for 15 years, only 15 km away, and we not only recommend this hotel to all our friends, we also stay there from time to time ourselves! Something we'd never done anywhere else. Our recommendation is based not on one stay, not on two or three, but on many--ours and friends combined, both as a couple and as a family. We also go regularly in summer just to enjoy the beautiful gardens for an aperitif and the terrace for dinner. This is really one of the most extraordinary settings on the entire lake: the shore makes a rare bend here to strech east to west, so that you have a full view directly to the south rather than simply across to the other side. And the entire stretch is taken up by the botanical garden that once was the private preserve of this ancient villa. Along that stretch you'll find a relaxing lakefront lawn, a unique old glass-and-iron-filigree green house, a playground for kids, even a jacuzzi way out on the most extreme point, as if you're taking a warm bath in the lake itself. In other words, it is a small miracle that the Camin Hotel remains reasonably priced with such personal flair and inimitable charm. Come and enjoy it while it lasts--but don't look for the plastic luxury of so-called 4 or 5 star chain hotels; enjoy the odd turns and creaky floor here and there, leave your work and worries behind, smell the beautiful roses and just relax!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that face the lake, or the new suite up above the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    45
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
83
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Amazing location with fantastic views across the lake, with a beautiful outside area to spend the evening. The restaurant has glass frontage allowing views across the lake the food was very good. Rooms were adequate but very clean and usable. Ideal location would love the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We loved this hotel. We stayed in Casa Lago Maggiorre located right above the lake- we could see the lake and mountains right from our bed, and have an easy swim at any time!! Hotel itself is surrounded by beautiful garden right on the beach, with lots of private romantic hiding places to spent with your spouse or just relax and meditate. Hotel owner Lara (gracious and in charge) and her international staff are very hospitable and helpful, e.g. Lisa (from Kyrgyzstan) at the front desk who speaks many languages was always available when in we were in a bind (e.g. once on a Wednesday Market day in Luino, she gave us a ride back), Angie (from Sri Lanka) was always patient and made us feel attended too.
Food at the hotel restaurant was the best we had during our 2 week trip in Italy.
Points of consideration: a) Casa is located on a busy highway; going to/ fro and crossing requires caution for some 100-200m; b) there is a 70 step walk up; c) TV receives no English-speaking channels.

Room Tip: we stayed not in a main building but in 1-bedroom suite located about 300m from hotel. It is very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Like being in a romantic movie with the lake sunset and nice weather. People were very professional and friendly, especially the Asian girl (Lisa?) at the reception and the owner Lara. A place worth spending more time enjoing the peace and the amazing surroundings. Advisable for couples searching a romantic week-end or just to relax in the terrasse watching the lake.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This hotel delivers quality beyond the prices it charges. A dreamlike location on the eastern shore of Lake Maggiore; probably the best view from any hotel window in Europe. The grounds/gardens are wonderful, with an unending choice of the perfect place to sit at any time of day. Fantastic welcome and continued great service from a staff team that reflects the passion and attention to detail of the owner.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We found this place last year, almost by accident, and so loved it that we returned, en route from further south to Switzerland. It's on the quiet but sunnier east side of Maggiore, and has quite stunning views over the lake, and gorgeous terraces and gardens. We loved the lawned swimming area - straight into the crystal clear waters of the lake - and the open air jacuzzi. Several staff warmly remembered us from last year, which was touching, and the food was generous and tasty. Staff all seem to speak English, so our limited Italian was never tested. It's very child-friendly too, but you come to expect that in Italy. Many guests bring their dogs, too. It's not cheap, and the road might be intrusive for some rooms (it's not that bad, a B-road by UK standards), but we have always felt it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

We stayed in July 2009, the hotel was wonderful, staff were friendly, views were amazing, rooms comfortable, the perfect getaway for a relaxing break! and that was it is for, it is not a nighlife place!! It is in on the quiet side and a do stock up on the essentials - books, magazines, etc. etc. as Luino is the nearest town but you cannot really walk it as there's a tunnel!! Having a car would be advisable, but taxi's are widely availble. All in all, its a wonderful place! ten out of ten!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Camin Colmegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Camin Colmegna

Address: Via Angelo Palazzi, 1 | Colmegna, 21016 Luino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Maggiore > Luino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Luino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Camin Colmegna 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Camin Colmegna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Camin Colmegna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.