We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it .... made to feel so welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Massimino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Massimino to your Saves list
Hotel Massimino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Anguillarese km 4,200 (92/94) | vicino stazione ferroviaria Anguillara Sabazia, 00061 Anguillara Sabazia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it .... made to feel so welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed at this Hotel for 5 nights in May. I had long been a fan of Everybody loves Raymond and thought this would be somewhere my partner Paul and I would love (he is not a fan by the way). Its close proximity to Rome made it the ideal choice.
We made out own way from the airport to Anguillara and it really was so easy, the trains seem to run on time and quite frequent too. When we arrived at Anguillara we made our way down th road from the station not really knowing where we were going even though I had printed a map, as we turned the corner Hotel Massimino was right in front of us. A very welcome sight. Once inside we were quickly shown to our room which was a large and very well decorated. I think we had a suite as we had a large double bed in one room and a seperate room with a single bed too. The bathroom was excellent and hot water plentiful. The only thing was it did seem a little dark as the shutters were halfway down and we did not know how to open them, we probably should have asked but it really wasn't a problem. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, there were never many others in the hotel in mornings but we were always made to feel welcome. We used the hotel as our base to visit Rome which was very cheap and easy to get back into. We purchased our tickets at the small shop outside the station for 6 euros and this entitles you to use trains, metro and buses too i think. Please be aware you prob need to leave Rome by 9pm to make the last train to Anguillara. We got caught out one evening and the train stopped one stop short. there are no taxis anywhere and we thought we were in big trouble as the pass did not come for over an hour and half. luckily a young man who was being picked up by his girlfriend offered us a lift, they were so kind and it was prob out of their way. they would not take any payment and were probably a little offended when we tried to pay.
On arrival back at the hotel that night there was an event taking place, some sort of election party, we were again made to feel so welcome and invited into the bar to join in. We had a drink and were offered a glass of champagne by some people on a nearby table, everyone is so friendly and welcoming.
A trip into anguillara sabizia is a must, its just a short bus trip into the old town and only 1 euro each. a few little restaurants and bars but just a beautiful and tranquil place right on the banks of the lake.
The food at the hotel was very good, we only ate there on 2 evenings but we knew it must be good as it was always full of locals. although they do not speak much english at the hotel other than davide (the nephew i believe) it was never a problem. lastly but most importantly as this hotels generosity is outstanding, we stupidly thought we had lost our camera on our first day in Italy and had to buy a new one on our first day in Rome, a few days after arriving home we had an e mail from the hotel saying had we lost something as they had found a camera in our room. ( the lost one ) what a relief as i had not had time to download the memory card before we left for our trip and it had pics from our holdiay to cyprus on it still. Hotel Massimino posted back our camera to us and it arrived safely within a few days, I wanted to arrange payment for the postage costs but they were very insistent they did not want payment. What a service...... and a fantastic family. Once again Hotel Massimino for making our first trip to Italy so fantastic. Would highly recommend to anyone

Room Tip: e mail the hotel direct for more info about rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottaviofebb13, Direttore at Hotel Massimino, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
Google Translation
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    90
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
76
86
19
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We had a great stay here, it was the best hotel experience we had in all of Italy. Very Friendly staff, nice rooms, close to Rome and very close to the train station. The restaurant had great food, good service and was very reasonably priced. The free breakfast was much better than the standard bread and jam that we got at other hotels, there was cereal, fruit, pastries, etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottaviofebb13, Direttore at Hotel Massimino, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Thank you for your nice comment, I hope that you will be again guest in our hotel in the future. For us has been a pleasure to have you as guests.
Kind Regards

Ottavio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

The 3* Massimino is an established family run hotel and as good as any of the 4* hotels we have stayed in and even better in some cases. It has a happy care-free atmosphere and in all aspects I would class this hotel as outstanding - so much in fact that we are intending to return next year. The service from the staff was never less than excellent - we always felt welcomed and part of the family - nothing was too much trouble. The rooms we had, like the rest of the hotel, are spotlessly clean, well-appointed and relaxing - right down to the complimentary slippers! The double glazing kept our rooms perfectly quiet and it featured air conditioning, flat screen TV and a little fridge for our use. The food was excellent and we were more than happy to eat there every evening (and one lunchtime). If you are offered one of "mother's" desserts do accept, especially if it's the strudel - you won't be disappointed! It's a good sign that locals also eat at the Massimo and although the large flat-screen in dining room may seem strange to some at first, it all adds to the cheerful atmosphere. Breakfast, like the rest of the mealtimes at the Massimino, was also enyoable. Don't be put off by the hotel's (slightly) remote location: it's just a 10 minute, 1Euro bus trip down to picturesque Lake Bracciano and a 5 minute walk to the rail station for a 35 minute train ride into central Rome; so it is ideally situated for visiting Rome and the surrounding area. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottaviofebb13, Direttore at Hotel Massimino, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
thank you for your positive feedback you were really a perfect family tou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederikshavn, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

A family owned and a family run hotel. During our stay we felt like a part of the family. Very kindly and helpful staff.
Good food and reasonable prices. Hotel and rooms very clean. Comfortable rooms. We certainly enjoyed our stay and we would love to come back. Thanks to all from Denmark.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

The hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful.I have left my dress in the room,they heve found it and sent it to me by post without asking for a postage money!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Five very happy days here in very comfortable rooms,excellent service and high quality meals.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

After a warm welcome we were shown to room 107 which was described to us as the WOW room, which it was. A suite with plasma screen tv, fridge and kitchen area, air con, very clean and new it even had power sun blinds!

We wanted a base for visiting central Rome and the hotel is 200m from the new train line that takes 35mins into Rome, this line connects with the Metro and for 6 euro's a day you can buy a travel card that covers all that and buses also.

The old part of the village is 20 mins walk or a 1 euro bus ride away and is very pretty, sitting overlooking the lake it is very historic and quaint and well worth a visit.

We ate in the Hotel most evening and were treated to good food and service always, we would go back and reccomend that you check it out if your looking for somewhere to stay out of the crashing and banging of Central Rome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Massimino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Massimino

Address: Via Anguillarese km 4,200 (92/94) | vicino stazione ferroviaria Anguillara Sabazia, 00061 Anguillara Sabazia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Anguillara Sabazia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Anguillara Sabazia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Massimino 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Massimino has 24 recently restored rooms. Provided with every comforts: bathroom and hairdryer, satellite link up tv color with 6 sky channels, telephone, air-conditioning. All type of accommodation available: single room, double room, triple room or suite for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Massimino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massimino Hotel Anguillara Sabazia
Hotel Massimino Italy/Anguillara Sabazia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Massimino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.