We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A much appreciated hidden gem near the Cinque Terra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Edera Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Moneglia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Edera Hotel
Save
You added Villa Edera Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Venino 12, 16030 Moneglia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Moneglia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A much appreciated hidden gem near the Cinque Terra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here in July 2013 and loved the pool and garden. The rooms were a little on the small side but this was made up for by the food which was reasonably priced and of a very high quality. We enjoyed eating here regularly. The service in the hotel and restaurant was excellent. There is a nearby train which is ideal for travelling to the Cinque Terra, Genoa and La Spezia. Great art, architecture and views all along this coast. Mongolia is not the most stunning of the villages but it has its own attractions with two lovely churches and a lovely long promenade that you can enjoy at any time of day. It is rather underrated (though not by Italian families) and we felt we benefited from that as it was not as crowded and overwhelmed as other parts of the coast we visited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    38
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at Villa Edera for two nights in June after visiting Genoa for work, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very stylish, well kept and clean, and Francesca kindly gave us an upgrade on our room so we had a fabulous little balcony too. We were looked after so well, especially the gluten free catering, with home made pasta and delicious cakes for breakfast. The bar at the hotel is lovely for an evening cocktail to take out onto the terrace, and the barman was very helpful and kind. Spent one day on the lovely beach, which is a short walk away and not overcrowded at all. Very easy to get to via a train running down the coast from Genoa. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for an Italian escape and/or amazing cakes !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spean Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We had a lovely break at the Villa Edera last week. Our room was bright and airy, clean and well-equipped with a generous supply of toiletries and towels. The beds were comfortable and there was ample storage space as well as a small safe in the wardrobe. On hotter days the AC wasn't quite cool enough so we kept our balcony doors open for ventilation. The room was serviced every morning, which was great.

The hotel staff were very efficient and the customer service was impeccable. The manager Francesca and her mum were very much on the ball and full of useful information about the area. They provided us with train timetables and info about the Cinque Terre trails, which helped us organise ourselves on the first night.

We were impressed by the care and attention to detail invested in making guests feel welcome and comfortable. The hotel wasn't grand or flashy but homely and welcoming, which suited us fine. There's nothing that the owners haven't thought of! Their hotel is built into the hillside and easily accessible from the train station by an uphill path or, better yet, an outdoor elevator (a god sent given our heavy luggage!). You need a code to access the elevator though and that's available on check-in.

My sister and her friend were quite keen to use the fitness room. It had basic equipment and the treadmill didn't seem to be working so we swam instead!

One other thing - wifi signal was best in the front reception and by the pool. I didn't have any signal in our room. Not a huge issue but worth pointing out.

For those looking for 'local' charm and character, both Villa Edera and the town of Moneglia have lots to offer. The hotel is surrounded by beautiful and well-kempt Mediterranean gardens (cypresses, lemon trees and grape vines abound!) and a short walk away from the beachfront. We alternated between spending mornings by the poolside, with sweeping views of lush, stepped gardens, and swimming in the green-blue Ligurian sea.

It must be said that the quality of the food in the area - especially the fresh fruit - was excellent and being dedicated foodies, we were very happy indeed. As several people have mentioned already, the breakfast spread at the hotel was perfect - lots of fruit and jams, fresh bread and cakes, cold meats and cheeses - and it set us up for the rest of the day and our very hectic hiking schedule.

We thought that Villa Edera was an ideal base for exploring the Cinque Terre. Moneglia is very picturesque (there are lovely local walking trails - ask hotel for info), it's not too busy and close enough by train to the northernmost town of Monterosso (15-20 minutes). Our schedule was pretty full on and we were happy to leave the beaten track behind at the end of every day and travel back to our charming and cosy little hillside hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a great balcony view, choose a room on a higher floor! Ours was partially blocked by a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a very good week at the Villa Edera in Moneglia. They have the Italian trick of providing all that you need in a friendly and unpretentious way. You could say the same of the town. Very Italian, not particularly grand or stunningly beautiful but definitely the real thing.

We were particularly impressed by the food at the hotel. They cater for people requiring a Gluten Free diet and as I am Coeliac this was a real treat. But my 'normal' husband was also very impressed.

We spent a week - walked the Cinque Terra and relaxed by the pool. It was never too crowded to find a sun bed and an umbrella. What more could you want?

Room Tip: The best rooms overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the beautiful Villa Edera in Moneglia, Italy this summer. What a picturesque hotel on the side of a hill, bordering old fort walls, with small paths taking you down and through the town into the pretty village by the sea - Moneglia - even an elevator to take you down if you have luggage, etc. A very short walk to the train station, the beach. Everything was absolutely fabulous. The service, the food, the location, and the owners of the hotel were wonderful and so helpful regarding every aspect of our stay. We walked and travelled every day out of the hotel, and when we came back, we went to their very nice pool for a swim and to lay in the sun. As we were out touring everyday, we ate lunch at various restaurants, but in the evening after our swim, a cocktail, and a shower, we went to the hotel dining room where most of the other guests went for dinner. The food was great, and we met a few of the other guest as well. We actually stayed an extra day. The owner, Orietta and Francesca were terrific and so helpful when needing directions and suggestions of places to go.

Visit Moneglia and Villa Edera, it is just north of Cinque Terre, and more beautiful.

The Allens

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms were good, and they do have larger rooms for more than 2 people. Families...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our family was looking for a quiet place to relax for a few days on a very busy trip. This place was just perfect! It is so easy to get to from the train station - we felt like we were entering a secret paradise as we walked down the grape vine covered sidewalk. We were warmly greeted by the owners. It is an easy walk to the town which was filled with warm, friendly natives. Everywhere else we went had more Americans than Italians. Moneglia is a special place and the Villa Edera is a hidden gem. The breakfast spread was amazing. Everyone asks me our favorite spot on our month trip in Europe - the answer is easy - Moneglia and Villa Edera. Don't hesitate to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The Villa Edera is a family run hotel in the beautiful seaside town of moneglia, which is a short train ride from Cinque Terra towns and trails. The hotel is walkable to restaurants, the beach, train station, a walking path that runs along the river. The location is perfect for a multiple-day stay. The hotel itself is clean, the staff is helpful and multi- lingual. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a huge balcony overlooking the mountains, terracing and pool. Lots of greenery and blooming plants/trees.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Edera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Edera Hotel

Address: Via Venino 12, 16030 Moneglia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Moneglia
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Moneglia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Edera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Hotel Edera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Edera Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.