We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca d'Ancioa bed and breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moneglia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ca d'Ancioa bed and breakfast
Save
You added Ca d'Ancioa bed and breakfast to your Saves list
Via Cesare Bordone 6, 16030 Moneglia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Moneglia B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I stayed with Valeria for four nights in June. We travelled with our one year old daughter and everything was perfect - our room was ready and set up with a pack 'n play. Valeria and her mom made us feel right at home the moment we arrived. We loved getting to know them and our sweet room. The B&B is just a short walk through town to the train station which will take you to all of the Cinque Terra towns. I loved walking through the small town each morning and evening - it was truly a wonderful little town. The people were so friendly and we found the best gelato place in our entire stay in italy! Valeria was wonderful with suggestions. Every morning her and her mother prepared delicious home made cakes, breads, and jams. The breakfast was delicious! She is also happy to make you eggs if you request them. During breakfast, Valeria reads the weather and translates between guests if you do not all speak the same language. It was quite fun to share this experience with others. My husband wanted to dive one morning and she helped us choose a location, calling different sites to find the one with the best price and that would be open on a Sunday. She let me know about the open air market that was happening so my daughter and I could shop while my husband was diving. Staying at a bed and breakfast was wonderful for us, because we could put our daughter to bed early and then spend the rest of the evening enjoying a glass of wine or tea (the tea is provided by Valeria) and looking through the day's pictures or planning the following day's activities without disturbing our baby). By the end of our stay Valeria and her mom (her sister and little boy were there visiting as well) felt like family! We hope to return as soon as possible!

Room Tip: Keep in mind the train passes by the b&b frequently. It didn't bother us and I think it must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
31
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Ca d'Ancioa for 8 days earlier this month and have to say that it was the most enjoyable accommodation we've had, having travelled in Europe over many years.Valeria is a fantastic host and the comments from other reviewers that one feels as though part of the family, are totally accurate. Together with her mother Anna nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were excellent, the breakfasts were wonderful and we look forward to returning on our next trip to Europe. Moneglia provided a great base for expeditions between Santa Margherita/ Portofino and the Cinque Terra and the little town itself has wonderful restaurants and shops

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Delightful accommodation, decorated with Italian flair. Valeria is just the perfect hostess with the most beautiful breakfasts. Nothing was too much trouble, we were taken care of as though we were relatives. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

After an extensive search for B&B's in the region, we opted for the Ca d'Ancioa. Main reasons: location (close to the sea, seaview), pictures of classy rooms and good feedback on Trip Advisor. We tried to keep our expectations low as others' realities not always accord with your own. What can we say? It was perfect (for us)! Wonderful room with direct view onto a stormy and wild mediterrean sea (we were warned about the trains in close distance and didn't mind them). A very likeable and courteous host (Valeria) preparing an 'untypical', rich Italian breakfast and providing maps and local information about what to do and where to go. And finally Moneglia as a great location for discovering the coast. Fantastic! We definitely come back.
Tante grazie, Valeria!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We chose Moneglia as an overnight stop on our way elsewhere, and I wish we'd stayed longer. Partly because it is a lovely town but mostly because Valeria is such an amazing host and her little B&B is just perfect. From the moment we entered we were treated like royalty, the room was very nice with a good view and little outside sitting area, and the breakfast was quite good too

Valeria really makes this place though, probably the warmest and friendliest Italian we came across in our time there, her English is very good, the price very reasonable, and her sense of decor and interior design is also great!

I only wish we'd spent more time there...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you want to experience hospitality in the middle of a genuine Italian family, this is definitely the right place to go. Valeria and her family are just the perfect hosts. We spent 1 week at the Cà d’Anchioa and it felt like home, it felt like family, we were quite sad to get back to Germany.

Once we were greeted with the delicious anchovies prepared by papa Dario and a glass of refreshing white wine, which we enjoyed on our balcony with a sea view, we knew this was going to be the perfect vacation. And once we met Valeria and had our first breakfast, we knew that this was going to be a very special time. And so it was.

The breakfast prepared by Valeria and papa Dario was just incredible: homemade cakes, delicious cookies, fruit salad, freshly squeezed orange juice, a coffee to die for, homemade marmalade, foccachia, pizza bread, ham, Italian cheese, joghurt, freshly boiled eggs, cherry tomatoes and pepper and the list is still not complete. But for us the most impressive was that Valeria was so attentive, noticed every single detail and adjusted the breakfast to meet our taste even more.

The best part of the breakfast though were the long chats with Valeria who gladly took her time to give us suggestions for the day (she has for you maps and timetables to clarify all your possible questions), recommend the best places to go and eat (follow her recommendations and you’ll experience genuine Italian cuisine – uncomplicated and incredibly delicious), share with us family stories and the refreshing short visits of the elegant and distinguished mama Anna, who came down to great us every morning, teaching us some Italian and making us feel even more integrated into the family.

The rooms are very comfortable, impeccably clean, very nicely furnished, with a special attention to every single detail. The whole apartment is just so welcoming, so warm and nicely furnished, with a large library and many paintings, a place of tranquility and relaxation you long to come back to, especially after a long hike. Once you get back home, you can enjoy the tea and cookies that are just there, waiting for you.

Moneglia is a perfect place for hiking, quiet and so relaxing compared to the overcrowded Cinque Terre villages. Nevertheless, Cinque Terre is very easy to reach by train, the train station is max 15 min walk away from the home and the train ride lasts 10 – 15 min. Apart from that, there are beautiful tracks starting in Moneglia, a few meters away from the house (to Deiva Marina and Framura) that you could equally enjoy. The beach is only minutes away from the house, what would you need more?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great location in a wonderful town. Killer views, big wraparound balcony. Super clean, very comfortable, Valeria is an amazing host. Breakfast was superb. Not much I can say except "Go!" you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca d'Ancioa bed and breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca d'Ancioa bed and breakfast

Address: Via Cesare Bordone 6, 16030 Moneglia, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Moneglia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Moneglia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B & B Cà d'Ancioa offers two double bedrooms and one single, each of which is chromatically inspired our greatest resource: the sea. Cà d'Ancioa is a few steps from the sea near the center of Moneglia, excellent starting point to achieve the beautiful scenery of the Cinque Terre. The master bedroom "Acciuga" is ensuite and the bathroom was renovated in January 2011. The master bedroom "Sarago" has the bathroom dedicated to her outside the room itself and the "Triglia" has the same outside the bathroom and recently renovated. Our main goal is to create a comfortable and familiar environment, with particular attention to detail, in which to share the passion for the land and culture that characterize this stretch of land overlooking the sea. The breakfast will include jams and the famous "focaccia" in Liguria, we will be happy to serve outside during the summer or if the weather does not allow it in the bright dining room. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca d'Ancioa bed and breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.