We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Domus San Vincenzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Domus San Vincenzo to your Saves list
Domus San Vincenzo
Via Iommella Grande 120, 80065 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Sanremo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Sorrento area being quite noisy, this was a quiet place. Extremely narrow road if you come with a car, a bit hard to navigate it to the closed port. Sisters very friendly, also with the kids. Nice room, a bit tripped breakfast, but good service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
14
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Here in September initially for 2 nights it was so convenient an I should add peaceful we extended for another two. Run by Nuns it is simple, clean, peaceful and the Nuns put in a prayer for on top of that. I had a simple single room on the third floor, it was simple maybe even sparse but it was clean and had a shower,toilet and plenty of room for clothes (not that I had that many with me). Breakfast was again simple but enough to start the day well. On the third floor I also had access to an extensive sun terrace with loungers and tables. My mate also had a similar room tucked away in a quite spot on the ground for. Out side we had a lovely little garden area with a little walk down to the end of the cliff upon which the Domus sits, on our last day, a chill out day, we picked up some bread, cheese, proscuitto, fruit and wine and ate on the terrace overlooking the bay, peaceful bordering on idyllic. If you want a good base at a good price to explore the joys of the Amalfi coast you could do much worse - try the web site and contact the nuns direct. Yes it's a little bit of a walk to the Circumvesuviana station in St Agnello but we enjoyed it and having eaten and drunk well in the evening it wasn't onerous. There is an 11 o'clock closed door policy but you can ring to get in later if you must, we didn't find it an issue we were up early and walking lots so happy to get back to our rooms and a good nights sleep. It was not exactly a pleasure but it was amazing to be woken each morning by a dysfunctional Italian Cockerel that could only manage a Cock a Doo with no doodle, however it did manage to wake up all the local mutts to join its early morning serenade. Off you want the Ritz go there if you want quiet convenient and cheap for a base to trek from you won't find much better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

After a harrowing drive through town to get here we were wonderfully surprised with what awaited us. A peaceful gated location with unhampered views of the ocean. The sisters were so patient with us minimal Italian speakers! The room we were in (there were four of us) was very large and comfortable. We were on the street side but in the evening we didn't notice much noise. The breakfast was just enough to get you out the door in search of something a little more fulfilling, but considering the price we paid, we weren't expecting a lavish spread. We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our family had a wonderful stay with the Sisters. Our rooms were comfortable, with good mattresses and individual furniture (not standard Ikea!!).
Whilst some rooms are away from the roadside of the building, ours were very close so there was some noise from the street. The rooms are not air conditioned but did have effective, freestanding fans.
The terrace was much appreciated also, as a place to sit and relax with stunning view over the bay to Vesuvius. We would most certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Domus San Vincenzo is a low budget no frills option. The rooms offer low spec (minimal luxuries) but are very clean and functional. Towels and bedding is changed every three days. There are many positives; free Wi-Fi (the nuns allow for you to make a donation), beautiful surroundings/garden and terrace, peaceful, access to a superb beach/pier area for swimming/sunbathing (there is a lift to the beach just 2 mins walk away) access to Sorrento/Napoli can be reached via the Circumvisuviana metro (just a few €'s), with just a few negatives; minimal breakfast choice (we just added our own fresh fruit to what was offered), credit card machine never seems to be functioning - cash is king!!! When booking ask for the rooms with a sea view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

It is a 15 minute, fairly level, walk from the train station to the convent and, yes, for the last 200 yards there is no pavement. Don't worry - it is nothing compared to walking around Naples itself or most of the other places where the traffic is chaotic! Just think of it as a good preparation for what is to come. Trains are easy to get to Sorrento (one stop) or Naples (about an hour) and the various tourist sites on the way; Pompeii, Herculaneum and others.

The place is large, the rooms are large, the views are the best (expect to pay many, many times more for similar views in a Hotel on this coast) and the nuns are very helpful (there only seem to be about 6 living there). Yes, only one speaks English so a bit of Italian will help. We don't speak Italian at all but still got by.

Breakfast is very basic - but after a day you get to used to it - and for the price I do not think you can complain. If you are English - take your own tea bags (you will find it hard to get any decent tea anywhere on the Naples coast unless you bring your own bags. If you like "infusions" then you will be fine.).

From Naples.airport it is easy to get the "Cerruti" bus to just outside the train station at Sant Angello - this is definitely better than going via Naples. Cost is 10 euro a head and the trip gives some fantastic views of the coastline. Leaves every 90 minutes throughout the day.

This place is definitely recommended; a little quirky but that only makes it more interesting and something special to talk about when you get home.

Negatives: no hair dryers or tea/coffee making in rooms. So take a hair dryer. And even a portable kettle if you have one. There are vending machines on the premises to get cold drinks and hot drinks though - at a low price. If you buy some food at the local shops and bring it back they will supply plates and cutlery - sit out on the terrace and enjoy the evening sun and the amazing views across the harbour and the bay.

We spoke to other guests and some had been a little hesitant to book because of the "religious" theme. It is nothing to worry about; the hosts are Nuns but they do not expect you to be! It is just a quiet, spacious, relaxing place.

RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Firstly... to get to this hotel, you need to get off at a train station called sant agnelo.. and mind you.. OFTEN there are no taxi.. so with all your luggage, you take a 2 km walk to this hotel.
If there are taxis, they wont take you to such a close location.
Secondly, its not a hotel. its clean-it-your-self kind of a place.
I had requested for a sea view, which is the view that is available in the pictures- i didnt get my room on the first night and had to sleep in a room WITHOUT AC'S that was facing the main highway.. so all night with the window open for cooling, we heard all kinds of sounds of traffic.
No doubt the nuns are adorable and sweet.. but it doesnt help when you hardly know english.
What i am trying to say is that the place is different.. not a hotel.. so be prepared to live in basic rooms with small baby sized bathrooms.
I personally didnt want something like this, and we had to decide to move out.. we left for amalfi coast and booked a hotel there instead!
Breakfast wasnt a breakfast if you are an eater, forget being a good eater..
also, not to miss the 11pm deadline to come back to the hotel!

Room Tip: If you are staying, take the room with the sea view1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domus San Vincenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus San Vincenzo

Address: Via Iommella Grande 120, 80065 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Domus San Vincenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus San Vincenzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.