We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for everyone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Domus San Vincenzo

Save Saved
You added Domus San Vincenzo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Domus San Vincenzo
Via Iommella Grande 120, 80065 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not for everyone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Firstly... to get to this hotel, you need to get off at a train station called sant agnelo.. and mind you.. OFTEN there are no taxi.. so with all your luggage, you take a 2 km walk to this hotel.
If there are taxis, they wont take you to such a close location.
Secondly, its not a hotel. its clean-it-your-self kind of a place.
I had requested for a sea view, which is the view that is available in the pictures- i didnt get my room on the first night and had to sleep in a room WITHOUT AC'S that was facing the main highway.. so all night with the window open for cooling, we heard all kinds of sounds of traffic.
No doubt the nuns are adorable and sweet.. but it doesnt help when you hardly know english.
What i am trying to say is that the place is different.. not a hotel.. so be prepared to live in basic rooms with small baby sized bathrooms.
I personally didnt want something like this, and we had to decide to move out.. we left for amalfi coast and booked a hotel there instead!
Breakfast wasnt a breakfast if you are an eater, forget being a good eater..
also, not to miss the 11pm deadline to come back to the hotel!

Room Tip: If you are staying, take the room with the sea view1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The Domus San Vicenzo is a convent perched atop the cliff. A similarly situated conventional hotel would cost you 5 times what the sisters charge. The only drawbacks: curfew is 11:00PM - not a big deal in a resort town. Breakfast is spare, but easy to overlook at the price. The sisters have to buzz you into the building, but that was never a problem. They were all sweet, but only one, from India, spoke good English. She was very helpful recommending a good local restaurant, explaining how to take the public elevator to the beach, and arranging for an early morning cab (and having an earlier than normal breakfast awaiting me on my morning of departure). The location is a bit of a walk from the train station...maybe 15 minutes. From there it is a quick ride to downtown Sorrento (the next stop) on frequent trains. No need to plan ahead. My room was simple but comfortable. The garden along he cliff-top and the roof deck both offered spectacular views. I would definitely stay there again if I wanted to save money and did not want to engage in excessive debauchery.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We travelled to Sorrento to see the Blanca and Nera Easter processions. Making the decision to stay in a convent was part of that experience. To our delight the sisters of the Domus San Vincenzo took us into their watchful care. What a wonderful time we had. And though Suor Shinty is the only sister who spoke English this did not alter the warmth of the welcome we received from everyone. We felt very safe walking around the local area, particularly when people found that we were staying at the convent. Seeing the Blanca Easter procession with the Sisters was an extra treat.

Our family room, although basic was comfortable, clean and with a bathroom. Located on the 2nd floor we had a private balcony with the most spectacular view over the Bay of Naples and overlooking an old Palazzo Garden. All the nuns were lovely to our 14 y.o. twins who delighted in having a lovely garden and balcony to look out from – although they were ‘shushed’ a couple of times.

The filling continental breakfast was served in the dining room with other guests. We ate our dinner out each night in Sorrento and whilst we had our own vehicle, we chose to walk much of the time, although at some points we felt the desire to say a small prayer before we did so as some streets do not have footpaths.

The Sisters were warmly welcomed us and their quiet and calm approach to life gave the Domus a wonderful serenity to this magnificent old building with its treasured atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oradea
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We were at Domus San Vincenzo for only 3 days, and we left that place with regrets. This guest house is very clean, a little too basic, the breakfast too, but the surroundings are spectacular, it worth everything to have a vacation in this place. The way from train station is about 10 minutes, but you must know exactly the streets, and I consider it relaxing with all the lemon trees gardens around. The sisters are very nice, but we felt a little uncomfortable to ring at the door every time when we came home and derange them, but maybe they prefer that way to avoid unpleasant visits. The garden and the terrace are wonderful, the views are like a dream. From our room we could see the Vesuvius, Naples bay, the sunset and the small bay of Piano di Sorrento. Near the Domus San Vincenzo is a beautiful park at Villa Fondi and we can say we never have such a pleasant and relaxing vacation like the days we were at Domus. We recommend this place to everybody because is a very beautiful and unusual place, not like a regular hotel and bring the peace in our souls.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

If saving money is your primary objective then this may be for you but be forewarned this is bareboned minimalism.It is almost as if the nuns feel it would be sinful for you to enjoy yourself.
Let me start with the positive. The views are spectacular,.The nuns are cute and try to be helpful. it is very quiet.
Now the negative. The rooms are sparse, the beds and pillows are horrible. Our room was never cleaned, although they cleaned my Mother's room? The food is terrible, even the coffee is bad. The hot water is sporadic.There is often noone around to help you and only 1 nun speaks English and she is often not there, so be aware. You have to ring a bell to enter both locked driveway gate and locked front door so access is restrictive and inconvenient. There are many rules (noise, out of room by 9am everyday etc).
It is a good 20-30 minute walk to the historic city centre of Sorento. It is located in the historic center of San Angelo which is not the same. 5 Minutes by car to Sorrneto, pay parking in underground lot near city centre or 20 euro by taxi each way! 5 euro per day to park at hotel or in busy season no parking at all a big problem
This is not run like a hotel and service is not a priority but if you want a basic, cheaper home base from which to travel and spend little time in your room it may still be an option for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This is wonderfull place located in the middle of happiness!! Come here if you want to get a peace and lightness - it works, really. I cannot say why, but it does - and also some other magical things will happen, you'll see, for sure)
The only piccolo minus - you have to come back at 11PM. Well, FOR ME it was just impossible! - but if it's alright for you, you'll be on heaven there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

The reviews to date are very accurate - the views are fantastic right across the Bay of Naples; even if not from the room, from the roof terrace and from the garden. The nuns were extremely helpful and pleasant. The coffee and breakfast isn't great but that's minor compared with the overall benefit of staying in a beautiful old building, where it was tranquil and quiet. Walking from the hotel, particularly at night, is a bit hairy because of lack of pavements on narrow roads but local taxis recommended by the nuns were helpful and punctual.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domus San Vincenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus San Vincenzo

Address: Via Iommella Grande 120, 80065 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Domus San Vincenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus San Vincenzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.