We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Domus San Vincenzo

Save Saved
You added Domus San Vincenzo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domus San Vincenzo
Via Iommella Grande 120, 80065 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not a hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

If saving money is your primary objective then this may be for you but be forewarned this is bareboned minimalism.It is almost as if the nuns feel it would be sinful for you to enjoy yourself.
Let me start with the positive. The views are spectacular,.The nuns are cute and try to be helpful. it is very quiet.
Now the negative. The rooms are sparse, the beds and pillows are horrible. Our room was never cleaned, although they cleaned my Mother's room? The food is terrible, even the coffee is bad. The hot water is sporadic.There is often noone around to help you and only 1 nun speaks English and she is often not there, so be aware. You have to ring a bell to enter both locked driveway gate and locked front door so access is restrictive and inconvenient. There are many rules (noise, out of room by 9am everyday etc).
It is a good 20-30 minute walk to the historic city centre of Sorento. It is located in the historic center of San Angelo which is not the same. 5 Minutes by car to Sorrneto, pay parking in underground lot near city centre or 20 euro by taxi each way! 5 euro per day to park at hotel or in busy season no parking at all a big problem
This is not run like a hotel and service is not a priority but if you want a basic, cheaper home base from which to travel and spend little time in your room it may still be an option for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This is wonderfull place located in the middle of happiness!! Come here if you want to get a peace and lightness - it works, really. I cannot say why, but it does - and also some other magical things will happen, you'll see, for sure)
The only piccolo minus - you have to come back at 11PM. Well, FOR ME it was just impossible! - but if it's alright for you, you'll be on heaven there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

The reviews to date are very accurate - the views are fantastic right across the Bay of Naples; even if not from the room, from the roof terrace and from the garden. The nuns were extremely helpful and pleasant. The coffee and breakfast isn't great but that's minor compared with the overall benefit of staying in a beautiful old building, where it was tranquil and quiet. Walking from the hotel, particularly at night, is a bit hairy because of lack of pavements on narrow roads but local taxis recommended by the nuns were helpful and punctual.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

my daughter, 21, and son, 17, and I had a lovely stay here. We found it difficult to pull our bags on the narrow, winding road with a lot of traffic but the grounds were gorgeous, the room clean, breakfast adequate and the nuns delightful. Such a great base for visiting Pompeii, Vesuvius, Positano, and Amalfi. Plenty of good restaurants around.

Stayed July 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Based on the reviews, I was quite looking forward to the experience of staying at a convent. When we finally arrived after walking for about 1 km from the train station in the hot sun with all our luggage, I was ready to be impressed... unfortunately after having specified a quiet room my sister and I had a room that was right on the street - which was VERY noisy. As there was no air conditioning nor even a fan we left the window open, so I was not able to sleep for most of the night (noise of cars and motorcycles or even people talking)... the breakfast is very, very basic and frankly quite uninteresting, and when we came back to the convent at the end of the 2nd day, the room had not even been cleaned (and was none too clean to begin with). Thankfully we had only reserved for two days, and we were able to go to another B&B right in Sorrento which we appreciated much, much more (Casa Correale). I suppose that if you are visiting the region by car, and not in the hot summer months, this might be a nice place, but frankly to visit the surrounding areas (Positano, Capri...) it is more tiring too stay in a place where you have to take a train just to get into Sorrento, where you have to walk for about 10 minutes to get to the train station (taxis will not bring you there as it is too short of a trip for them). So I would say that if you go by car, and if you have a room overlooking the sea, and that it is not too hot, than you might have a better experience!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

My 24 year old daughter, my husband, and I recently spent 3 nights with the sisters at the Domus San Vincenzo. We had such a marvelous time there. The sisters are very sweet and so helpful- only one of them spoke English and our Italian is very limited, but that's part of the adventure. We stayed in a four person room with the most incredible view of the courtyard and gardens and the Bay. The room was quite large and had high ceilings. There is no air conditioning, but the breeze coming off the bay kept us cool. It was so quiet and peaceful. We never heard any of the other guests. The room and bathroom were spotless. When we arrived in San Angello, we were dragging our suitcases from the train station- no taxis about- and walking to the Domus. It's not a long walk from the train station, but be warned: some of the streets are very narrow and there are lots of speeding cars and scooters and precious few sidewalks. Be sure to print out the map for the Domus and realize that not all the streets have signs on them. It could be difficult to find the Domus after dark. When we checked in, the English speaking sister (I wish I could remember her name!) recommended a restaurant not far from the Domus and we ventured out on our first night to find it. The food at the restaurant was absolutely incredible. It was so wonderful that we went back again for our last night in town and would go back in a second! The restaurant is named "Il Chiosco" and is about a 10 minute walk from the Domus. The breakfast at the Domus is a little spare- some kind of breakfast bread, a roll, butter and jam, cornflakes, coffee or tea, juice and milk. It won't last you all day, but it gets you out the door. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Domus San Vincenzo and wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

My wife and I recently spent a week at Domus San Vincenzo. The rooms are large, clean, quiet and airy. Soure Congregazione Pallottine explained the rules of the house clearly and was very helpful with assisting in planning our activities to get the most out of our time in the area. She was ably assisted by the delightfully friendly sisters and they all made it easy to enjoy this unique B&B experience. The B&B is located within 10-15 minutes walk of 2 railway stations, so you can access all the local attractions with a minimum of fuss. Breakfast was basic, but if you want more cereal or whatever, just ask. The views from the terrace are sensational, and enjoying an alfresco meal or two there is a real treat. There are plenty of local cafes, eateries & small supermarkets / deli's outside the tourist hub of Sorrento that offer good food and service, at reasonable prices, if your prepared to pound the pavement, dodge the traffic and take time to engage with the locals. All of which, we enjoyed immensely. If you want to sample a great local pizza, look no further than the pizza restaurant near the Piano Di Sorrento rail station..their pizza's are very good. There are a few minor limitations in staying at a B&B with a resident religious order, but for us, it was part of the unique experience. If we have the opportunity again to visit southern Italy, we'll definitely be spending a few more days with our sisters.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domus San Vincenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus San Vincenzo

Address: Via Iommella Grande 120, 80065 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Domus San Vincenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domus San Vincenzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.