We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money, functional, friendly staff, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Costa Alta

Save Saved
You added Villaggio Costa Alta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villaggio Costa Alta
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Via Madonna di Roselle, 20/A, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money, functional, friendly staff, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Myself and my partner visited a couple of years ago, and while looking back at photos remembered that we never wrote a review!
Costa Alta IS NOT A LUXARY RESORT, but it was still an excellent experience! The location was fantastic, only a couple of train stops to Sorrento, and a 5 minute walk to the local beach, which was beautiful and relatively free from tourists. I would not recommend this beach to people who have trouble walking up and down hill though.
The 'Hut' that we where staying in was self catering (which seeing as we where on a budget was perfect due to the lovely local grocery shops near by, letting us experiment with cooking with local ingredients), and air conditioned - which was a life saver! While the hut was a little run down, it worked perfectly, and provided us with a comfy little home for a week. It almost felt like we where glamping! We went off season, and can imagine if you have a stag do next door, it may be a pain, but we where lucky and had a wonderful experience.
We didn't use the restaurant as we enjoyed spending our evenings sat on the porch eating our own home made dinner!
We got a great deal from lastminute.com, and it was EXCELLENT value. Especially how expensive Sorrento can be.
From someone who wants a no frills holiday, I would recommend!

A word of warning! We went to a local restaurant near the beach with views over the sea (called Ristorant Ripetta Hotel I think), and we had a terrible experience! Because we where tourists they ignored us! Bad expensive food too.
Also, if you want to visit Naples, do not walk around the city, get a bus tour or something. We had some lad on a moped chuck coke all over us, and some of the locals where a bit intimidating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppe a, Manager at Villaggio Costa Alta, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi, we really thank you for sharing your experience with us. We really hope to see you again at Costa Alta. Many thanks again.!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    43
    13
    15
    14
See reviews for
46
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

there are a few dodgy write ups on this place but we went ahead and booked it anyway, it looks very big on pictures but it isnt.the chalet set up is a bit confined but we had room 225 which overlooked a fantastic gorge with disused mansion house on the cliff,the rooms are very basic though, take some towells with you as theres are pretty bad, the large swimming pool is great , they make you buy shower caps to wear which isnt a problem though,this is a family run place and they are realey nice people drinks and food were amaingly cheap, cheaper than spain....only downpoint we could put on it was that there wasnt anything realey close by a lovely pizza restaurant and bar theres a small supermarket but it wasnt the best ive seen but that was all, pianno is on the top of a cliff so the walke down to the beach is a bit scary and steep,but onece there its a lovely marina, with bars resturants we liked fratellis at the end the seafood was great, the train station is about halfe an hour walke but is only two stops from the main port of sorrento which is fantastic,you are 9 stops to pompei another good trip, be carefull on this as the train gets full to capacity and the city itself is quite dangerous to walke around, we also notice that the place is a popular booking with schools so when they do arrive the pool is a bit of a no go we went in july and the weather was realey hot, would go back but wouldnt go out of season, we didnt see a maid or have any clean linen or towels in the week we were there,

Room Tip: 221 - 225 are the best located room youre not overloooking anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppe a, Manager at Villaggio Costa Alta, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi

thanks a lot for sharing you experience with us. Every year we're trying ot improve our services and therefore customer satisfaction. We hope to see you again at Costa Alta so you can yourself check all our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I'd read mixed reviews on here before I booked but I also read between the lines & still booked. I wasn't disappointed.

All of the staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help you. I had a chalet with flat screen TV and there was air con available (though I didn't use it). The chalets are basic but have all the necessities for basic meals. My only complaint was the lack of a kettle (which I will take with me for a future stay) but unless you're a tea addict like me, then you won't be bothered.

The beds were comfortable and I slept well with my ear plugs (I take them everywhere) so if the groups of young people were making a noise I didn't hear them. The shower is quite powerful and there was always plenty of hot water.

The pool is great (make sure you have a bathing cap if you want to swim though) and as other reports mention, you have it to yourself during the day. The restaurant is great if you eat anything like me. There wasn't a written menu & the dishes on offer were pizza (huge & I couldn't have done it justice), pasta, fish and a meat dish plus salad/chips as sides. No complaints about the food or the local wine.

The location is convenient. A 5 minute walk to the railway station (the owners were kind enough to give me a lift to the station with my luggage and also didn't charge me for staying a few hours longer than the usual checkout time) and 40 minutes to the centre of Sorrento. There is a supermarket, a bar and a restaurant just across the road and a couple of minutes down the road takes you to the harbour & beach... and also a great ice cream shop.

This is one place I will certainly return to but I'll make sure I have my kettle and mosquito repellent / bite cream.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppe a, Manager at Villaggio Costa Alta, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi

thanks a lot for sharing you opinion about your stay with us on TA. I can confirm that from this year all the guest will find a Kettle in the room, thanks to your advice, so that they can enjoy their own coffe/tea

We really hope to see you again in the near future and therefore be able to enjoy a better holiday with us. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have just come to the end of a lovely hol.iday. In an area renowned for high prices Costa alta is fasntastic value.Great food every time especially when you do'nt feel like cooking.Lovely family run site with a large swimming pool.Immaculately clean in all areas.Just 2 stops on the train to Sorrento,there you can catch a bus to Amalfi etc. Train to Pompei from Piano takes about 30 mins.We didn't hire a car and walked to the station in Piano, 10 mins uphill,but not too steep.Good market in Piano on Mon.am.also some very good shops,bars etc.Loved the hospitality of the village basic neccessities all there,look forward to returning another time.Thankyou Pepe ,Marisa ,Roseanna,and the very helpful Amalia.Kisses to Mamaxxx Bob and Carol Evans

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppe a, Direttore at Villaggio Costa Alta, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your words, it was a really really pleasure for us to stay with you.
We hope to see you again next year.
Hello from all the family!!!!

Ciao ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely, week long stay at costa alta. we stayed in the stone bungalow set in quiet gardens overlooking the sea. It was a lovely setting and easy to access the town of piano and ten minute walk from train to sorrento.
We arrived on 6th sept and found the resort to be quiet and the staff to be only too happy to help out, e.g giving us a lift to our bus to the airport and showing us where to wait without accepting any money for this.
The rooms were basic but very clean and all we needed on our holiday as we spent much of our time exploring or when
We were at the resort we sat in the gardens or by the big pool. Overall, excellent service and very good holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppe a, Manager at Villaggio Costa Alta, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi

thanks a lot for you opinion left on TA. We are improving day by day with our guest advice, in order to satisfy all guest's requests. We always try to give lift to our guest anytime we can, cause is partof our way of working. Hope to see you again ...

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Very safe child friendly site. Close to sorrento with lots of amenities and great staff had a great holiday would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed at beginning of July 2012, having read the reviews of others we weren't expecting much in accommodation, it was a cabin with a covered deck. Good news was the air-con, which was desperately needed as they were in the middle of a (32C) heatwave! Clean and functional are the words I would use, main bedroom had TV and bunk beds in the same room as the cooker/sink/fridge. Swimming pool main feature of site,no open areas for games, I didn't get a view of the sea from the site as it is quite close to another camping site and there are some high fences dividing the two, also tall trees. There was a choice of beaches nearby, within walking distance(10 mins), but be aware of the cost of deck chairs and sun lounger rental. We opted for bed/breakfast, the breakfast was plentiful if lacking in choice, the usual continental fare. We had a rented car allowing us to explore, going to Pompeii, Vesuvius, Ravello, Amalfi, all within reasonable travel time, although take care on the roads,The're mad drivers! The train station is about 10 mins walk away with shops a bit further. The owners of the site were extremely helpful and provided timetables for trains and ferry service to Capri. Student groups tend to use this site a lot and can be a bit noisy and hog the pool when returning from their daily trips, so just relax when they are away!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villaggio Costa Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Costa Alta

Address: Via Madonna di Roselle, 20/A, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Specialty lodging in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Costa Alta 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moderns and comfortables bungalows in stone are ready to give hospitality to customers with 2/6 bedden rooms.The structures are equipped with shower, wc, small kitchen (included corckery and cutlery), Refrigerator. In all the bungalows there is air conditioning.The village is far from the city traffic, on a flat platform on the sea.In the centre of the village there is the swimming pool (10x25 mt.) open from the end of May to the begin of october.Piano di Sorrento is a quiet place but offer a simple acces to cultural and fun places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villaggio Costa Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Costa Alta Hotel Piano Di Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Costa Alta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.