We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great base for this area of Italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villaggio Costa Alta

Save Saved
You added Villaggio Costa Alta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villaggio Costa Alta
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Via Madonna di Roselle, 20/A, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
“great base for this area of Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have just come to the end of a lovely hol.iday. In an area renowned for high prices Costa alta is fasntastic value.Great food every time especially when you do'nt feel like cooking.Lovely family run site with a large swimming pool.Immaculately clean in all areas.Just 2 stops on the train to Sorrento,there you can catch a bus to Amalfi etc. Train to Pompei from Piano takes about 30 mins.We didn't hire a car and walked to the station in Piano, 10 mins uphill,but not too steep.Good market in Piano on Mon.am.also some very good shops,bars etc.Loved the hospitality of the village basic neccessities all there,look forward to returning another time.Thankyou Pepe ,Marisa ,Roseanna,and the very helpful Amalia.Kisses to Mamaxxx Bob and Carol Evans

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppe a, Direttore at Villaggio Costa Alta, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your words, it was a really really pleasure for us to stay with you.
We hope to see you again next year.
Hello from all the family!!!!

Ciao ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    48
    14
    12
    13
See reviews for
43
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely, week long stay at costa alta. we stayed in the stone bungalow set in quiet gardens overlooking the sea. It was a lovely setting and easy to access the town of piano and ten minute walk from train to sorrento.
We arrived on 6th sept and found the resort to be quiet and the staff to be only too happy to help out, e.g giving us a lift to our bus to the airport and showing us where to wait without accepting any money for this.
The rooms were basic but very clean and all we needed on our holiday as we spent much of our time exploring or when
We were at the resort we sat in the gardens or by the big pool. Overall, excellent service and very good holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppe a, Manager at Villaggio Costa Alta, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi

thanks a lot for you opinion left on TA. We are improving day by day with our guest advice, in order to satisfy all guest's requests. We always try to give lift to our guest anytime we can, cause is partof our way of working. Hope to see you again ...

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Very safe child friendly site. Close to sorrento with lots of amenities and great staff had a great holiday would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed at beginning of July 2012, having read the reviews of others we weren't expecting much in accommodation, it was a cabin with a covered deck. Good news was the air-con, which was desperately needed as they were in the middle of a (32C) heatwave! Clean and functional are the words I would use, main bedroom had TV and bunk beds in the same room as the cooker/sink/fridge. Swimming pool main feature of site,no open areas for games, I didn't get a view of the sea from the site as it is quite close to another camping site and there are some high fences dividing the two, also tall trees. There was a choice of beaches nearby, within walking distance(10 mins), but be aware of the cost of deck chairs and sun lounger rental. We opted for bed/breakfast, the breakfast was plentiful if lacking in choice, the usual continental fare. We had a rented car allowing us to explore, going to Pompeii, Vesuvius, Ravello, Amalfi, all within reasonable travel time, although take care on the roads,The're mad drivers! The train station is about 10 mins walk away with shops a bit further. The owners of the site were extremely helpful and provided timetables for trains and ferry service to Capri. Student groups tend to use this site a lot and can be a bit noisy and hog the pool when returning from their daily trips, so just relax when they are away!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Location is good for visiting sorrento, Capri and the amalfi coast plenty of place to eat near buy nice pool area and great views if you get the villas around the back and the staff are nice . Thats the good points but the accommodation was very poor kitchen really poor dishes dirty was told it was a hotel when i booked it and i was booking an appartment its definetly not a 4 star Its a lot smaller than it looks online and the spa that it says it has is not even close by nor are there any sports fields that it also says it has but the beach is in walking distance and is nice

Room Tip: if you are a couple ask for rooms around the back they have great views out to sea and a lovely gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This was the second Hotel booked on-line before leaving the UK. There was a choice of accommodaton, a bungalow or a chalet. As the price of the chalet was higher than the bungalow I assumed it would be slightly superior accommodation especially as it was a 4* Hotel?
On a positive note, the directions and signposting to reach the place were very good, although the description of just outside Sorrento was more than a little exaggerated. The overall appearance of the resort was good, but as soon as we were shown to our Chalet we realised that this was not what we expected for 4*. Our chalet was at the end of a row, in a dark little corner. The brochure really does exaggerate the facilities, as the accommodation was extremely basic. We had to ask for towels as none were provided, the swimming pool was good, although there was no information at all in the chalet relating to meal times, pool times etc, or the fact that swimming caps had to be worn in the pool, which could of course be purchased in reception. The breakfast was very basic, and another couple we spoke to told us to make sure we were there before 9am as otherwise you would be severely frowned upon.
We compensated for this accommodation by spending a great evening in Sorrento town re-visiting places seen on other trips there,and sitting in the main Piazza, watching the world go by while enjoying great Italian food.
We had planned to perhaps stay at this resort for another night but decided that one night was more than enough so onward to our next destination.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sverige
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

A small cabin with two bedrooms and bath. Nice pool on the property. A good breakfast in the morning. What really made it special was the staff. Very nice and helpful people.
I would go back any time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villaggio Costa Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villaggio Costa Alta

Address: Via Madonna di Roselle, 20/A, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty lodging in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villaggio Costa Alta 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moderns and comfortables bungalows in stone are ready to give hospitality to customers with 2/6 bedden rooms.The structures are equipped with shower, wc, small kitchen (included corckery and cutlery), Refrigerator. In all the bungalows there is air conditioning.The village is far from the city traffic, on a flat platform on the sea.In the centre of the village there is the swimming pool (10x25 mt.) open from the end of May to the begin of october.Piano di Sorrento is a quiet place but offer a simple acces to cultural and fun places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Villaggio Costa Alta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villaggio Costa Alta Hotel Piano Di Sorrento

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villaggio Costa Alta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.