We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first time here. Great location and resort area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Klein Wien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Klein Wien to your Saves list
Hotel Klein Wien
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ripa di Cassano, 55, 80067 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My first time here. Great location and resort area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We enjoyed this site and we able to go to many different destinations from here. Ferries, boats,Trains, buses, taxis, walking all were involved. I would stay here again. This was my first time here. Many restaurants, cooking schools, neighboring towns, historical sites, beaches, places to shop, people to watch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    39
    15
    9
    14
See reviews for
30
37
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
travellertony73
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Came from Canada and stayed there at the end of July. We greatly enjoyed our two night stay. The view from our room was superb and the hotel staff was attentive and courteous. Especially the hotel manager who was kidding and talking in excellent English to our seven year old son. Will definitely stay there again if we visit the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here with a high school group on our tour of Italy and Greece in June, 2013. Be mindful, as noted in some other reviews, of the check-in. Reception is on the 5th floor; you need to speak into an intercom in the foyer; beware the small step that leads into the darkened corridor to the lift: I did not see the step and fell flat on my face (resulting in a broken leg...my fault, sure, but just be careful when you step back from the intercom). Staff are very friendly; food is good enough, but nothing fantastic. The dining room has beautiful views of the sea and many rooms have lovely views over the water as well. It's a steep walk down to the beach below; however, our students were happy to walk down and splash around in the water. The hotel is centrally located; there was a street market nearby whilst we were there and the group wandered off to explore very happily. As some other reviews have suggested, this does seem to have a hostel feel to it; however, perhaps this is only during high season. There seemed to be other school groups there, which might put off some. However, our students were happy, and it was quiet at night - so it's certainly not squalid or unpleasant in any way. Perhaps the location is its best quality; the views are splendid. A good hotel for a budget stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have stayed at the Klein Wien three times in the past year. Every time I have been met with a friendly face and a warm welcome. As a single female traveller they have always placed my room in a quiet safe part of the hotel. The food is traditional italian and always served with a smile. It is never anything but delicious.The waiters will even advise you how to cook each dish when you get back home. The staff speak fantastic English and are helpful in any matter I have ever saught help on. The rooms have always been spacious with wonderful view (unlike some hotels whereby a single room has been no bigger than a broom cupboard and in the worst part of the hotel!) Every room has been clean with air conditioning and en suite. The roof top solarium offers a view to Capri and Vesuvius but with a lovely cooling breeze. The views are spectacular over the bay of Naples with the beach just a few mins walk away. Local people congregate on the pavement outside each night to watch the spectacular sunset over Capri, it is quite breathtaking. The train station to Sorrento and Naples is a ten minute walk away. There is an excellent traditional market every Monday in the next street. If you want to sample an authentic Italian hotel with genuine hospitality which used by many regular Italians again and again then the Hotel Klein Wien is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a room on the 5th Floor as this is flat and accessible using t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is well located with a beautiful view of the sea. Service was good and quick.

Dinner was good and the portions were enough.

The only hiccup is that the lobby is located on the 5th floor leaving the entrance not surveyed. It also seemed that this was more a hostel rather than a hotel.

WiFi was free on the lobby (it was full of teenagers because of this).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathfield, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my family and we were really unhappy with your stay.
Firstly, the shower screen and the shower head were filthy. Plus there was no soap dish in the shower which made washing difficult. Also, the water was cold.

Secondly, the tv did not work although Sky TV was advertised in the front door.

Thirdly, security was an issue as he balcony door did no close properly and the front door had of joys signs of being recently forced open and had not been repaired.

Fourthly, the air conditioning leaked directly onto the bed which made the bed very damp.

Positive points included - average food, entertainment offered (although it was a Saturday night and secure parking. Although you had to pay and it was a 2min walk from the hotel.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was my first time abroad and on a field trip to another country, the service was very good as well as the hospitality. The people who work in the hotel spoke very good English as most of us British students spoke very little Italian.The food was absolutely delicious,The rooms had air conditioning and TV, the maids cleaned the rooms daily.the view from the window and the roof top was amazing the local area (streets) were very clean, there were a few supermarkets and ice cream parer's with-in walking distance,you got the view of the sea from outside the hotel, just around the corner theirs a .beach football/soccer,it was very hot from about 7 am all day long. we went to Pompeii, Capri, and Mt Vesuvius." I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone if they were to go to Naples, and i would definitely go there again :).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Klein Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Klein Wien

Address: Via Ripa di Cassano, 55, 80067 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klein Wien 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the sea from the best panoramic point of the Sorrentine Penninsula. From the terraces of our hotel your eyes can freely roam the numerous beauties of the Gulf. The Klein Wein Hotel offers rooms with large terraces or private balconies which overlook the sea or the famous Sorrentine Orangeries. The cuisine is typically Italian. The Hotel also has a large garage, lift and solarium. Easy access to the only sandy beach in the area. Ideal for adults and children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Klein Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Klein Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.