We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation in years!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Soleluna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Soleluna to your Saves list
Hotel Soleluna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Madonna di Rosella 29, Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Houthalen, Limburg, Belgium
1 review
“Best vacation in years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Low prices, very clean and big rooms, airconditionned and low noice. Great various food for also great low price and the plates are well- filled. Every day you can ask for the menu (Always another) but it's so tastefull, we just ordered... Nice and friendly staff. You get best info to do some trips. Tonino and Antonio bring you from the Hoteldoor to where you disire to go. There is also a trainstation at about 10 min walking distance. There is a lift to the harbour (open from 8.30 till 21.00h). Giovanni and his wife did an excellent job in having Danni, Lydia, Monica and the great coock in their staff! We really became friends! Tip; just ask and you will get the best info! WAY TO GO SOLE LUNA, we surely will return. Pascale and Stefano from Belgium

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
20
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was very different to any holidays I've been on in the past as I did the cooking course with my parents! The lessons were fantastic, with the lovely Chef Palmara who guided and taught techniques to make delicious Italian food which we got to enjoy later at dinner! I have never eaten so well in my life. She is very calming, patient and so easy to be around - and she is happy to teach you what you want to learn. One of the women in the classes with us had several specific meals she wanted to learn and also wanted particular ingredients incorporated which Chef Palmara was only too happy to do (there were five of us in total, so we got on very well and it was a great atmosphere.)
Regarding the hotel, it is a lovely place run by a family who are always incredibly cheery with a great sense of humour, and you can't help but befriend them. A little way from a beach great to swim in, and about a 10-15 minute walk from the station it's a nice area in which you see the locals often, rather than actually in main part of Sorrento where there are almost too many tourists.
Considering that the only time spent in the hotel was during breakfast, cooking classes, dinner and sleeping, the rooms had everything you needed; a bed, cupboard, dressing table, tv, and bathroom. My parents got the room at the front of the hotel which had a lovely little balcony, and it wasn't too noisy as it went quiet at about 10.30.
All in all, I really enjoyed my time there and would definitely go again with my friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is about a mile from the train station (turn left and left out of the station and you will find it around the corner at the end of the street). Probably not a good idea to try and find it at night.

It is a spartan, clean accomodation with friendly staff. What makes it unique is the associated Mama Camilla cooking school that prepares dinner for the guests (18Euros)--great food and fellowship with fellow travelers and a few locals. (We spent some time a few years ago at the original location, and it's not quite as unique as that location--but still a good experience.)

It's also close to the sea, just a few blocks, and easy access to Sorrento (if you don't mind walking the mile to the station).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our stay here was incredible. The staff was so friendly and helpful by telling us about the town and attractions as soon as we got there. They offer a wonderful meal cooked by the students at their cooking school as well, which is deliecious and very reasonable. The hotel itself was out of a magazine and very clean. We loved the all-day excursion around the Isle of Capri that was offered. I could stay here for a long time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had an excellent stay. The people and food here is great. Also the location is perfect... its close to the beach and shops. The workers there make you feel like family. There is also a market every monday close by which has a lot of great stuff.

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We could not have asked for anything more! The staff is so friendly and kind, the food is delicious, the location is beautiful, and the price absolutely cannot be beat! After traveling all day, we took the Circumvesuviana (?) train from Naples to Piano di Sorrento's stop, from which we had about a 10 minute walk to Hotel Soleluna. (Laura kindly gave us simple walking directions). We were greeted with a smile and Laura sat with us, gave us a map, and gave us a through run-down of exactly what we needed to know- where we could watch the sunset, where we could walk to the beach, arrangements for dinner (served by students at the cooling school on premises), arrangements for the most fabulous boat excursion to Capri. We felt like we had arrived at the home of relatives.

We were starved after being on a train all day from Florence, and although it was afternoon "off"time, they happily whipped up a fantastic cheese, meat, and olive plate. We easily tooktravis to the nearby town of Positano and had a wonderful evening, dining at Chez Black, as recommended by Laura. The excursion they recommended and arranged is an absolute MUST - boat ride around the Island of Capri including stops at the three famous grottoes, a stop for lunch and swimming, a 3 hour dropped on the island, and return trip...also including shuttle service from the front of the hotel , all for €75.

We opted to have dinner one evening with the students who had been cooking there all day. It was delicious! David guided them well, and during dinner told us about each of the four courses, and shared some of his personal journey up to studying at this Mami Camilla cooking school.

The room was beautiful, clean, and new, and very spacious. I Cannot speak highly enough of the wonderful experience we had at Hotel Soleluna!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is well-run, clean, quiet and has a delightful coffee bar on the ground floor. I attended the Mami Camilla Cooking School for a week, which is owned by the family, and also on the ground floor. We made dinner every night for guests staying at the hotel. I loved the cooking school, the hotel, the breakfast, and the entire Longo family. It is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Soleluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soleluna

Address: Via Madonna di Rosella 29, Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Soleluna 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Soleluna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Soleluna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.