We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good accomodation but very unhelpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Francesca

Save Saved
You added Relais Francesca to your Saves list
Relais Francesca
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Francesca
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Bagnulo 129, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“good accomodation but very unhelpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

3 of us stayed here for a week all other guests only for 2-3 days.The hotel was lovely in a beautiful spot among orange and lemon groves.Our room had balcony looking towards mountains with no other house within view.However the man on reception ?owner/manager was so rude the entire time we were there he only spoke when we arrived and on the last day to ask for the local tax.We spent the last day in the reception as we were not collected until 5.30pm and the weather was not too good.He totally ignored us did not ask if we had enjoyed our stay which considering we had been there the longest seemed rude.We did not let this spoil our stay as the place itself is lovely

Room Tip: If you dont mind barking dogs, cockerels and wildlife noisy from 4.00am choose a back room with balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    51
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a superb B&B very clean and reasonably located. There are places in Piano to eat, and the station is 400m away giving easy access to Sorrento, Pompei, Vesuvius and beyond to Naples. Parking is a major bonus in the peninsular area. The breakfast is a classic Italian with sweet pastries, croissants, cold meats, cheese, tomatoes, boiled eggs, fruit, yoghurt, honey, jams and so on. A word of warning; when an item runs out, there is no replenishment. If you want a full choice, don't be too late!

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony give you a pleasant sitting area in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I booked to stay at the Relais Francesca and fully intended to stay. My father took seriously ill and we were forced to cancel our holiday however I (considering the circumstances) completely forgot to cancel/change the booking as we're travelling to the other side of the country, etc.

The terms and conditions of the booking stated that if there was a no-show or cancelled booking within six days Relais Francesca would take full payment for the stay - which I fully accept and accept I should have remembered to cancel the booking.

I received an automated email stating the full payment had been taken from my account, I immediately responded apologising, describing the circumstances and asking whether we could come to an arrangement (i.e. shorter stay in the future for the amount taken or something to that effect.)

I have now emailed Relais Francesca FIVE TIMES and called TWICE with no response at all - not even a 'Sorry Mr X those are the terms and conditions'. Considering the circumstances I think at least a pleasant response would have been appropriate. I understand these small guest houses have business to run, but in my opinion no response at all it terrible customer service.

If this is the level of customer service they deliver when you haven't even stayed with them yet then I dread to think what it's like on arrival!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

If you are looking for a place with a decent price out of Sorrento but close enough even if you don't have a car - this is a great option. This lovely B&B is a 4 minutes walk away from the train station to Sorrento (2 stops and 4 more minutes you are in Sorrento). Piano di Sorrento itself is a nice quiet town, not very fancy yet a good place to relax a bit away from the crowd.

The room was big and comfortable, and except from some noises from the floor above in the morning - it was a great over all experience. They have Wifi that actually works and the standard breakfast.

The staff is extremely nice. I got there very early when only the cleaning lady was there. She didn't speak English but after a short communication attempt we managed to use few words in Spanish and she let me leave my car there. Later on, the guy at the front desk was there and he spoke English and explained everything you need to know about the place and Piano.

I would definitely return to this place if I am around.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Great B&B, close to the train station and the staff were very helpful. We had a wonderful balcony all to ourselves which was very nice. Close to everything. We happened to stay when there was a wonderful little festival going on and it was great to see all the people out and about with their families enjoying all of the entertainment.

Only concern was the dogs in the home next to the B&B they barked a bit when we were trying to get to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

quiet place , compared to sorrento , clean room , nice breakfast , helpfull hotel staff vhich provide us useful informations , maps , discounts to restaurants in piano , the beach in piano is not so good but the beach in Meta ( only 1 km away ) is probably the best on the coast. Piano is cheper than sorrento and amalfi coast but is nothing much you can do in the evening but you can take the train to sorrento ,with the train station very close to the hotel , and the trains runs every 30 minutes and only 4 minutes the travel time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

Great place to stay if you are on a budget and dont mind being a couple of train stops from the Sorrento. Rooms modern and very clean. Breakfast good with homemade pastries etc. The guy on reception most afternoons, Giuseppe was incredibly helpful offering directions, restaurants, beaches etc., he even charged my mobile phone for me. A great base for exploring pompei, herculeam, naples etc. we stayed first week here and toured about exploring just using hotel as base and spent second week chilling on beach in sorrento and for convenience we moved to hotel in sorrento. just to sum up, great clean and modern rooms, good breakfast and very cheap, we paid £65 per night double. just work out if you are capable of jumping on trains as if not its not for you as taxi is £30 to sorrento despite being 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: get directions in advance as not easy to find
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais Francesca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Francesca

Address: Via Bagnulo 129, 80063 Piano di Sorrento, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Piano di Sorrento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Piano di Sorrento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Francesca 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Francesca is a B&B near Sorrento that give you all hotel’s comports and the convenience of a Bed and Breakfast.The b&b is in a strategic position to visit Sorrento, Capri and the Amalfi Coast and to reach the most famous places around the Sorrento Area. Each room has private bathroom with shower and modern air conditioning systems, to make the rooms fresh in summertime and comfortably warm in wintertime. All have hairdryer, satellite TV, frigo, desk and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Relais Francesca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Francesca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.